We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect jungle experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect jungle experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

this hotel is in a perfect location for a jungle like stay with all modern amenities... aesthetically designed.. the rooms were far far better and modern and well maintained inspite of being almost in the jungle.. a must stay if you are a sterling member.. do not miss

Room Tip: stay in the extreme corner rooms on 1st and 2nd floor.. they are bigger very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shailesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    149
    73
    28
    21
See reviews for
210
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a two day stay at the resort as a sterling member. Stayed in Oridinary Guest room .Adequate for a family with two kids except that lighting was little dark. Ambience very good,Good pool. Staff was very helpful . Breakfast was excellent, lunch and dinner okay. Holiday activities was good. On the whole a nice experiance.

Room Tip: If you are only two take cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujithvssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The resort is good and has reasonable facilities. the location is slightly inside from the main road. however the resort is peaceful and beautiful from inside.

the rooms are just a bit small. even through the rooms were clean the mattresses were old and to saggy to sleep. The rooms are all wooden interiors including the roof and the walls which give it a very pleasant and classy look. bathrooms a too small.

we had trouble with the fan in our room. the fan would by itself go fast and then slow down making it sometimes too cold or too warm. We stayed here 2 nights and reported this problem the very first morning, even though there was a guy who turned up to inspect it and advised that it would have to be replaced, i was hoping they would change our room or fix it immediately. but neither happened.

the complimentary breakfast buffet was outstanding in terms or variety and good in taste. we found the spa a bit pricey so ended up going at a different spa. the hotel has a game room which has good engagement for kids (we had 2 three olds), the hotel had organised a born fire and a dance party, although the fire last for 15-30 mins only.

we were most impressed with the activity organiser guy who helped us get ticket at good discounts for elephant ride, spice plantation tour and kerala martial arts show.

all in all a good resort but at a premium price.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the resort courtyard and not the end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was my 3rd trip to Kerala and first to Thekkady. Selected the Resort Woods and Spice on friends reference and it was worth it. The name suits with the ambiance of the resort. You are actually living in Log cottage in the resort.

About Resort: well maintained and clean, good and helpful staff, good food and they have varieties daily. Nicely maintained pool. Totally surrounded by Long Lush Green trees. Good travel desk to help you out with you tour and local visits. Truly loved it.

About Thekkady: I would say must visit. We had very good fun during our visit. There are so many places to see and visit within the town or near by and so many activities to do.

Few things to do are take a open Jeep trip to Gavi forest which include visit to boating and then awesome view of water fall which cant be reached by road. Trekking in forest. There are lots of high rise place in hills with awesome view.

Few memorable things of the trip is Seeing the show of Kalaripettu and kahtakalli and the best of all was the Elephant ride and the shower with Elephant.

Truly unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Chose for the Cottage or Room in front of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psingh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Even though situated close to Periyar Tiger reserve entrance, the location of Woods n Spice is quite ordinary. Rooms though have wooden finish. But since surrounded by trees from most of the side the rooms are dark and appear compact. I short, there was no view as such outside our room.

Food: Breakfast was pretty good with lots of variety. Dinner is expensive but ordinary. The cook who prepare desserts need to have reality checks - sweets were not all good. We gave our feedback also on Rabri-Malpua that was prepared on night of 4-Feb-2014. Less Non-veg dishes. In short, dinner is not at all value for money.

Other facilities: they are good as they should be in any hotel of the standard of Sterling. Holiday Activity room is pretty good with chess, TT, carrom, kids toys, fun activities, etc.

Staff: Proactive. The number lock of our soft luggage was not working and so suitcase was not opening. After several trial we thought of giving a call reception for help. they immediately sent two staff members with screwdriver who helped us in opening our suitcase. Also our keys got locked for that also they sent the staff pretty fast. So overall I found Sterling Staff as helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathur_M19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Woods n Spice is a lovely little hotel in Thekkady. The staff is very helpful and the amenities like the swimming pool, TT table,board games are well maintained. The food, while expensive, is good and the variety is good. The rooms are clean and since they are wooden, give one a nice change from the usual hotel rooms. I would definitely travel to Sterling Resorts again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went to Thekkady during October 2013. Stay was really good. We were given an all wood finish room. Was very comfortable. My baby girl had lots of play area, with occasional visit from monkeys. Also they have a activity center with activities and games for family. Staff were cooperative. Restaurant served decent food and nothing to be complained. Overall we were comfortable and fine. The lobby staff helped us in getting elephant rides. ticket for which, you can book from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing