We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Erode, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely stay......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It has been an wonderful stay at this location.The resort has very good ambiance. The room was comfortable. Situated at the end of the forest I had a nice experience of viewing beautiful birds just in and around the resort. The staffs were very courteous, very much concerned about our comfort. The food was excellent. Travel arrangements were good. Small parking lot but considering the other facilities it is negligible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErodeRadhakrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    146
    72
    28
    20
See reviews for
201
105
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dharapuram, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food in the hotel was terrible. The worst buffet ! Had to request everytime to get the bowls filled! Worsttttt taste! No bathroom mats! My intercom was not working! Cleanliness and luggage pickup was good! The shuttle court is another worst thing it is been put on a slope even yu slip a little you ll end up in heavy injuries!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Praveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are concerned with your experience during your stay at Thekkady – Woods n Spice.
Your compliant regarding food and facilities in the room has been noted and the same has been forwarded to Sterling’s Resort Management Team at our corporate office.

At Sterling Holidays we single-mindedly work towards creating happy holidays for each of our members and guests. We hope you will give us another chance to serve you better by holidaying with us at one of our resorts soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

It was that time of the year again , when the itch to travel was getting a little too much. We deicided on the Sterling Resort at Thekkady. The road from Bangalore is good and and we took the Krishnagiri-Salem-Namakkal-Dindigul-Theni route. The Woods n Spice resort was wonderful and a cool breeze welcomed us to the resort. The check in process was fast and we were allotted a room in the main building. All the rooms are wood paneled and give have a warm feeling. Once checked in,quickly prepared a coffee (courtesy the resort) and sat out in the balcony to enjoy the nature. The resort is the last property next to the Periyar Tiger Reserve. This gave us an ample opportunity to discover the flora and fauna of the area. An evening of Kathakali dance and Kalaripayattu ( traditional self defense art form) was followed by a good dinner at the resort. The next day we undertook a half day sightseeing trip to the Gavi ecozone. This is a drive through the Tiger national reserve and we could not spot even a monkey. ( The secret was that a State Transport bus ( real vintage) passes through the park @ 06.30 hrs which drives all the animals into deeper terrain). The Spa at the resort is good to relax the body and mind after the long drive from Bangalore. Staff were courteous and friendly. Service was good. (The auto lock did not work in our room and we were shifted into the next room fairly fast).
Check out was a quick and nice experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the main block as they overlook the resort garden and also the Reserve Forest area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramamurthy_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We planned for 3 day vacation from 29 Mar 14 to 31 Mar 2014 at Thekkady. Started around 9.30 PM and reached 8.30 AM to Thekkady. Temperature was around 30-32 degree Celsius. Bus dropped us near to Bus Stand. From there you have to take Auto to reach Sterling which would cost you Rs 20. On reaching Sterling - Woods & Spice we did a quick check-in. Entire hotel is basically made and decorated of woods, gives a very different look. Happy Meal which includes BF & Lunch/Dinner will cost you around Rs 530 per person. There is small swimming pool inside but it was not very well maintained. Holiday Activity Room was also good. Entire hotel gives you a very different look because of design, decoration and environment.Staffs were friendly and travel desk people takes care of all your activity and travel via auto. Road outside the hotel is narrow and not at all maintained. Very less street lights, so was a bit dark in the night.

After resting for a while we went to Travel Desk to plan our Outdoor activities. In Thekkady most activities revolves around the Periyar Tiger Reserve. There is a full day Jeep Safari for Gavi Forest which you have to plan in advance. It costs us Rs 1900 per person. We booked the same for very next day i.e. 30 Mar. For 29 Mar we planned for Elephant Junction (Rs 350 per person), Green Park Spice Plantation (Rs 250 per person) and evening 2 shows (costing RS 200 per person) of Kalaripayattu (6 PM to 7 PM) and Kathakali (7 PM to 8 PM). The entire day activity was good.

Next Day we started at 5.30 AM for Gavi Forest Jeep Safari. On entrance you have to pay RS 50 per person and Rs 25 for Camera. After that its almost 2 hours travel. If you are lucky you can see animals roaming around at early hours. We happen to see Sambhar Deer, Wild Buffalo, Nilgiris Alpine and Wild squirrel on our way. On reaching the Gavi Forest Office we filled the formalities. After that at 8.30 AM breakfast was served with all North & South Indian dishes. A guide was assigned to us for 3 hours trekking. We started the trekking after crossing the small lake on boat. Preferred to cut short our trip to 2 hours because of heat. Last point will be on a hill where you can see Sabrimala Temple. After reaching the office back we did half an hour boating in the same lake and your guide will do the rowing. At around 12:30 PM lunch was served. After about 1 hour we started again from there and reached back hotel by 3.30 PM. In the night we went for a city walk. City is not that big and you can cover the entire nearby area in 1 hour time.
Next Day we planned for another boating but this time in Periyar Lake. At entry we paid Rs 25 per person. Ferry Boating starts from 7.30 AM to 3.30 PM. So better to plan early because its usually overcrowded on weekends. Boating charges was Rs 150 per person and Rs 25 for Still Camera. Ferry is usually a double decker and we got the upper seats. Its a 1 1/2 hour. We saw Elephants, Sambhar Deer, Wild Pigs and Wild Buffalo near shores of the lake during our ride. This is one good ride as ferry takes you again in deep forest via lake. So don't miss this ride. We reached our hotel back by 4 PM. We had a bus reservation again back to bangalore. Started at 7.15 PM and reached by 6.30 AM.

Room Tip: Rooms near swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vineet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Yeah, it was more like a Pitstop experience. I had planned the location for the anniversary celebration, as Kerala, only in the final moments. However, I didn't fail to take some time in 'Make My Trip' ( my buddy in deciding travels and planning them thoroughly ) and identify the hotels / lodges / resorts, that give unique experience, which my wife loves ( loves both the unique experiences and the surprises I give her by choosing such locations ).

Woods n Spice was certainly better than what the pictures portrayed on the web. The welcome drink was truly great ( Kerala special herbal drink ) and the front desk staff were certainly courteous. The room was just marvelous, as the floor, walls and ceiling were completely covered in wood. The Massage center / Spa were well maintained and the prices were reasonable ( when compared to other parts of Kerala ) and the Swimming pool is certainly a place I love.

The front desk are always ready to help you out and they helped us by arranging a local vehicle for our travel to Thekkady wild life and then booked tickets for Kerala Martial arts show. One must not miss the restaurant and it's menu items. They are tasty and affordable as well. The buffet breakfast is one thing to watch out for, as the lavishly spread out buffet will trigger all your taste buds !!

Woods n Spice, is guaranteed to give you an experience you'd await to surprise you every moment.

Room Tip: Don't miss the Spa and Ayurvedic Massages Don't miss the Buffet Breakfast, it's too goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacchhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

an excellent place for family and couples both. the place is well maintained with great amenities, and good food. conveniently located and helpful staff, helped and guided us really nicely in exploring the various tourist destinations in our short and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: guests with old companions may request for rooms on ground floor as they don't have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nazmsood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

This sterling property like all others a bit inside which makes it close to nature n greenery .... Nice lush green property stayed in the cottages provided by them ..rooms are bit small unlike other typical hotels but that's the difference the complete property is made in wood which justifies the name accompanied by the spices planted around pool/ passage etc .. Rooms are bit dark that would b the only -ve side else gives u warm n cosy stay with great food !

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#17 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509 , India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing