We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Thekkady
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Beautiful, well-maintained property. We arrived very early in the morning and there was no room available but the staff ensured we were comfortable in the waiting area till one was vacated. The wood-panelled room we stayed in was very quaint and cosy. The food was good but a bit overpriced. If you're intending to have all meals at the resort it makes sense to go for the combos they have on offer. Well located, as it is not very far from the shopping and trekking areas, and there's a rickshaw stand at the bottom of the lane on which the property is situated. The pool was very clean and well maintained. We didn't get in because the water was very cold, but it was a nice place to relax around.

Room Tip: We wanted a cottage as they overlook the forest reserve but they were all full. The guest rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchalaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    147
    72
    28
    20
See reviews for
202
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Salem,Tamilnadu
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Woods N Spice resort is on a hill top, quite and peaceful. Well maintained and clean, offering quality food.

The rooms were kept very clean and the bathroom linen were changed every day.

The swimming pool looked inviting though we didn't use it. The spa was a wonderful experience, staffed with experienced and courteous people.

The long distance and steep road necessitates the use of a vehicle, easily arranged by the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eskayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This resort is a good place to stay, has a swimming pool and they do arrange for certain activities within the resort. The staff are kind and courteous.

In terms of the room, they are compact and good. Well maintained.

Saved the best for the last, the food is simply delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeyyappanRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We family of 5 stayed last week for 3 nights in small cottages well maintained with all facilites, clean bathrooms, it was wonderful and we loved it, just opposite to beautiful Pool, with so many birds and lungurs around the resort, The staff were very courteous especially Mr. Joseph too concerned about our comforts. Food prepared by Chef Subin was excellent and very tasty, Mr Iyyappan service was good. Mr. Kolendu yesu arranged all sightseeing and Cultural shows ticket without any hastle and Best place to spend with the family. Very nice and memorable Holiday experience for our family.

Room Tip: Opposite Pool is good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harihar G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

this resort is the closest to the nature , on the boundary of periyaar tiger reserve, the resort gives the feeling of living in the woods. we were a couple and were given the luxury cottage which gives a feel of a log house and surrounded by greenary and view of the pool. the staff of the resort are the best i have experienced till now, well informed, polite , helpfull. the spa at the resort was amazing truly refreshed us. the restaurant also serves amazing food , but have a limited options.
the stay was refreshing and cool. the travel desk arranges some exciting and adventurous tours.
looking forward to stay here again soon!

Room Tip: there are limited cottages if u can get one, or the hotel rooms which are pool facing for a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep_khanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location of the resort is at the fag end of the township. Finding it without help is an issue. Once inside, its better environ in comparison to the immediate surroundings outside. The entire property is made of wood. The reception area is very congenial and spacious. The rooms are good and furniture is basic. Toilets / Bathrooms are in dire need of improvement and some interiors. The property essentially requires better maintenance.
Quality of breakfast is poor, so is the presentation. Staff is courteous & polite, though the service quality is mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvinashDixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Sir/ Ma'am,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking out the time to share your review of Thekkady - Woods n Spice.

We appreciate your words of kindness about the resort and staff. However, it is of deep concern to us that you could not enjoy our usual service quality during this stay. On this front, we have taken note of your valuable suggestions regarding maintenance and food quality and shared the same with our Resort Management team.

At Sterling, we work hard towards creating happy moments for our members and guests. We request you to overlook this experience as an unfortunate exception and give us another chance to demonstrate our true service standards by choosing to holiday at any one of our resorts again soon.

Regards,
The Sterling Holidays Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The stay in the resort was very pleasant though we get hot water only for around 4 hours in the morn and evening.
The rooms are very cosy and give a really nice cottage feel
The travel desk is average and so are the activities zone
The staff are friendly but the biggest minus is that the time taken to serve food both in the restaurant and in house is pathetic
The food quality was good but the waiting time made it unbearable .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SShaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about your stay at Thekkady - Woods n Spice.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and appreciate your kind words about the rooms, ambience, food quality and staff.

We have noted down your concerns with respect to time taken for food service and the same has been forwarded to the Resort Management Team. Our executive has also got in touch with you to understand issues faced by you better. Post that contact, we are happy to learn that you will be holidaying with us again soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#20 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#15 of 42 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509 , India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing