We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not go there, they do not like tourists”

Annapoorna Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 40 Restaurants in Thekkady
Price range: US$1 - US$4
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Was our worst experience in whole Kumily.
Food was ok, not the best and not worth the 125 Rupees for a meal, but ok.
On request for some more rice (was less anyway) we got the very unfriendly answer - limited.

First - Rice limited in India, specially in Kerala!
Second - why so unfriendly? We asked politely.
Instead the rice the bill was arriving. It turned out the waiter has a real problem with foreigners.

Our suggest: go for another Restaurant, there are plenty around. We also did so and most of the people in Kumily are very, very friendly and helpful. Not the stuff in Annapoorna Restaurant, so better avoid them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank suppenkaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012

This place is your typical Indian eatery, you'll see lots of locals in here, which we always take as a good sign. We weren't wrong. The food was lovely, service with a smile and reasonably priced. Keep your eyes peeled for it though as it's easy to miss in the chaos of the town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This place was great four of us went for a meal.we each ordered a different thali and asked for the food to be made a little spicier.the waiter spoke to the chef and within twenty minutes it was out, it was tasty, it was plentiful and it was spicy as requested.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jkadwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnapoornaKumily, Owner at Annapoorna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Sir/Madam,

Thanks for your great Comments. This will be encouraging us to improve our food quality and service to the future.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Annapoorna is a must-visit in Kumily, or if you're heading to the Periyar Wildlife Reserve. Right in the centre of town, a few minutes' walk from the bus station, it's extremely well-located.

The restaurant is sparsely furnished and well patronised by locals and passing pilgrims - not surprising, because the vegetarian menu is broad and the food exceptionally good. Somehow, the polite, friendly service is combined with unexpectedly speedy delivery, but you're not in any way rushed.

It also happens to be very reasonably priced and if you really can't stop to soak up the local atmosphere, they'll even wrap up your order as a takeaway.

Visited twice in January 2012.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KJ_and_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnapoornaKumily, Owner at Annapoorna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thanks for your wonderful comments. It was a encouraging spark to improve our food quality & service to the Guests who are both local & foreigners.

Regards,

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014
Google Translation

Thank Elioenay02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annapoorna Restaurant also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Annapoorna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing