We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elephant ride”

Elephant Junction - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“elephant ride”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

this was the best time in my life. Be prepared for a rock and roll experience on the elephant. Trust me its not a smooth ride at all. People with back pain and problems ,,,,enjoy seeing the elephant... dont ride on them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank apte a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    324
    100
    40
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Depressing - please avoid”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Elephant Junction offers a very standard elephant ride/wash/feeding experience, but I can't imagine anyone with an ounce of empathy enjoying this. The Elephant Junction is listed in several tourist materials as an "elephant sanctuary," and thus we chose it over a few other places. However, we realized our mistake after booking our 1 hour package with the ticketing office.

As soon as my boyfriend and I got on our elephant, we noticed it had a thick rope around its neck and chains around its feet.The elephant we rode seemed exhausted and was constantly hit and berated by the mahouts. Every 10 minutes, the mahout barked a command and our elephant would sadly lifted his trunk to pose. The mahout would snap a picture with my camera and scold us for not smiling. After an hour of this, the elephant was led back to the loading station to give another ride.

Included in our package was an elephant wash and feeding. The poor elephant lies on its side and the whole experience seems more like water boarding for the animal than a relaxing bath. The mahout than asks that you sit astride the elephant while it methodically responds to each command by spraying water at you. Only after this demonstration is the elephant allowed to stand and spend a couple minutes washing itself. It's heartbreaking.

The sight of so many of elephants chained, roped, and forced to go through these staged performances (timber dragging, unnecessary baths several times a day, and long rides through the forest with 2-4 people on its back), was deeply troubling. I urge anyone who wants to see elephants to not support the kidnapping of wild elephants for tourist ventures such as Elephant Junction. A better option is to visit Periyar Reserve or Mudhumalai Tiger Reserve where we saw many wild elephants.

The Elephant Junction "experience" is a thoroughly degrading one - for elephant and human alike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
22 Thank NinaKana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love being with the elephants”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My second visit to Elephant Junction. I was particularly impressed how they look after their animals. The first elephant I rode it was deemed she was getting too tired so we were walked back and I was given another, I think younger, elephant to ride. Afterwards I spent time feeding bananas to her. Amazing privilege to be close to these creatures. If you have the time, it is possible to get in the pool and wash the elephants! There is a small cafe area to relax with a tea or coffee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent moment”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we have excellent moment and elephant ride on an elephant named latha.... it was amazing. however it was an half an hour ride. it only took about 15 mins ride.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank devilwhitebeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Commercial experience!!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very nice experience for once.Even though done artifically it is the only easy way to do it.It is actually a ride in the elephant in a big orchard.However Kids love it.The elephat ride with shower is worthwhile you get to bath the elephant and take shower by it.The ring for the bath stinks like a unwashed fishtank.Need more maintanence. The garden could be more well maintained elephant dung every where.More now a commercial venture than an attraction

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrRoyTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Junction - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Junction - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing