We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Bamboo Cafe

Bamboo Cafe
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Thekkady
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We read mixed reviews of this restaurant and tried it. Food was Good. Service was swift and staff was polite. We ordered some soups, Chinese type fish and rice. all were tasty. We will surely recommend it. Property maintenance is lacking.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JITENDERhotelclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    105
    36
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“High price for a shack like restaurant”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Even after reading mixed reviews about this restaurant I decided to try it out. We went to the restaurant for dinner during our stay at Thekkady. As the name suggests the restaurant is made out of bamboos. The ambiance of the restaurant is similar to a beach shack just a bit sophisticated.

The menu variety was good and we ordered some soup, fried rice and prawns. The taste was very average and certainly not worth the price they charge. The portion too is less as compare to the price.

I would suggest to try other restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Food was ok not great”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Dont get tricked into this place. Our driver got us here and it was a dissapoinment. Food was just ok. We had lunch at elephant court it was a 1000 rs more on a billbfoe 4 but the food was awesome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomasbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the "special tea"”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our driver suggested this place, which as other reviewers have mentioned, didn't look very impressive, down a lane. However, we found it better than it looked, with prompt service and a good range of food. What we really enjoyed however, was the "tea" - in nice teapots and china cups. (The restaurant doesn't have an alcohol licence).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magpie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok food”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Service was good. Very nice guys. Food was ok as well, nothing to complain about as such. I just thought it wasn't the best value. Down the same road you can get at least as good food with bigger portions and lower price at several places (the kind of places frequented by local families and Indian tourists).

Notice though, that you can get beer here, which is not always easy in Thekkady. But be prepared to wait for ten minutes or so. Unneccessarily bright lights took away from the otherwise nice and seedy dark alleyway atmosphere at night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bamboo Cafe also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Bamboo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing