We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with Lazy Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambadi

Ambadi
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Thekkady
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hotel with Lazy Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We reached the hotel at about 3 PM after our visit from surili falls and was very tired indeed.When we asked for meals they said no meals are available.What we got is Chicken Biriyani we waitied for hours for the food and when it arrived we found that the quantity is large and the quality is poor.
Again the long waiti for each item we ordered simply made us very impatient.Last but not the least these people never care about the bill also simply you have to sit and look and enjoy the "beauty"of the hotel the bill will come when it has to.
If your program schedule is such that very tight do not take the risk of visiting this hotel and waste your precious time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrSubramonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Ambadi, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are really thankful for writing your words about our restaurant.
Your feedback enables us to continue to strive towards improving our services. We assure you that all steps will be taken to maintain the quality of service and quality of food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    124
    69
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malappuram, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The restaurant that you can try safely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I had visited thekkady with my family for 3 day trip ....searched for a good hotel though it's rating low we decided to go there because it's between kumily and thekkady .... ambience good .. it took 20-25 min to get ordered food .reasonably good ...tried dinner and breakfast .The highly rated restaurants were difficult to find out and some of them not functioning .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drbaiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Easy to get to good atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Would recommend this restaurant for a good choice of Indian and non Indian options ( including fish and chips) if one needs a change from curries 3 times a day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bhfgjrfjrdjrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Ambadi, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience in our restaurant, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our service. Once again we are thankful to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable option to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Ambadi Restaurant is an affordable and clean place in Thekkady for dining. The taste and quality of food are very good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chithira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Ambadi, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for spending your valuable time in sharing youe experience in our restaurant, We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Food and service . Once again we are thankful to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just an average place!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Friends were outspoken about Ambadi....but we found it very disappointing. The food was average, service just up to the mark. Could improve on both!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayaprakash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Ambadi, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We assure you that will look into the matter and take corrective action. Wherever necessary to avoid such complaints from our valued customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambadi also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing