We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was so lovely. We had refused to stay at the so called ambient hotel we were booked into and this hotel offered us a choice of 3 rooms at very short notice. The staff were all so friendly and just couldn't do any more to make our unexpected stay a joy. A lovely welcome and drink drink when we arrived was gratefully received. The food was outstanding, the pool well kept, in fact everything was tidy and clean. A brilliant place to stay and relatively near to attractions. A must!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the far end which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Shalimar Spice Garden was the 3rd hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon tour of Kerala, wow! Location, serenity, staff, spices, spa just wow! Shirley who was front of house was an absolutely charming lady who really looked after us, make the most of the spa too if you visit the hot oil head massage was pure heaven! Thanks for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa is divine!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

One of the finest resort/hotel I have ever stayed. Lovely atmosphere with the friendly supporting staffs. Food was delicious and the ambiance of the room was toO good to appreciate.

Shirley gave us a smiling welcome and was so kind and friendly and made our stay very comfort and ease. She was ready for any service support and arranged our visit to wildlife sanctuary in no mean of time at our preference.

Wish I could visit one more time and enjoy myself in this nature gifted location.

Maheswaran
Delhi
E: smw.nair@gmail.com

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maheswaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay in the hills of the Western Ghats, with accommodation in thatched cottages and rooms, scattered around in beautiful tropical gardens. Shirley made us very welcome during our two day stay in the hotel, which we used as a base to explore the local wildlife reserve and the spice and tea plantations. The dining room in the main reception building provided us with excellent food. Altogether a lovely break in a really scenic location. The swimming pool is pretty good too!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

BEVAN-JONES PARTY. WALES. This wonderful hotel s located amidst a small spice plantation with the cottages nestled amongst trees and flowers. Cottages are clean, spacious and comfy, but without a T.V. However we did not miss the T.V in fact it was nice just to get away from the outside world and relax. The restaurant served very good traditional Kerala dishes that are acceptable to those that like they're curries mild, but could be more spicy to those who love they're curries spicy. The chef did came to our table and then agreed to spicy the dishes as per locals recipes. Try the masala dosa its delightful. The staff where very helpful throughout the hotel, Gireesh has them well trained, and Shirley seems to pop up everywhere you go with her wonderful smile. I recommend this beautiful hotel complex very highly and will most certainly come back and stay longer next time. The crickets where in song during our two night stay, but you get use to the noise, bless them.

Room Tip: Cottages where great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevan-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A beautiful, calm hotel with great food and excellent service from the staff. My favourite accommodation during my trip to Kerala. The design of the hotel is lovely, the small shop has some good quality local items and there is are two self guided village and plantation walks to enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have just returned from a visit to India and this hotel was a real haven of peace and tranquility. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Shirley. She made sure all was as we expected throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble.
We loved the thatched separate bungalow, though the lighting could have been improved, and thought the food delicious. The whole hotel was clean and well maintained. The pool was warm and had plenty of sun beds, but it wasn't always easy to find a waiter to bring us drinks by the pool. Be aware there are quite a few steps as the hotel is on a slope. The massages we had were lovely....and not overpriced as they can be in some hotels.
Altogether a great experience.

Room Tip: We paid a little more to have a separate cottage nearer the main building so fewer steps. There are...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.3 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
917 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
859 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £77 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing