We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL THIS AND HEAVEN TOO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ALL THIS AND HEAVEN TOO”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The title says it all .. we were there in what's supposed to be an " off season". however, we had a great chilled timed. the staff were super friendly. both breakfast and dinner was good. the mixture of the rains and tropical forest sounds and the best i combination i could ask for. this place is piece of heaven

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maytham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    133
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
231
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kollam, Kerala, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just came back from our visit to Shalimar, and it was just an awesome experience, very very close to nature and the property is designed in such a way that you feel like you are in a forest, great thought has been put into every small details in the resort. Its always cool and we where in the off season, there is absolutely no need of an A/C as some people have complained, The rooms dont have TV which for us was a big plus as we went for a relaxing experience and didnt want to spoil it by watching TV :) . The service is good always prompt never had an issue, the staffs are very co-operative and did a wonderful job, kudos to sherly, liju and unni, you guys know what hospitality means :) .Food was good , rooms where clean , pool was clean infact never had any issues in the resort. Some things which they can add is the availability of drinks, right now its pretty limited menu .I would highly recommend this resort for a very peaceful stay .

Room Tip: The honeymoon cottage has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first thought's were WOW, located approx 5 Kms from the Periyar national reserve this is an extremely exclusive property. As soon as you cross the bridge, you notice the duck pond which is so full of life. We were upgraded to their elegant cottages. Extremely well done cottages and the whole resort is done with refined taste. They even have a wonderful corner with a huge fireplace that is charming. They have a lovely open library and indoor games room that one can indulge in. The swimming pool was very clean and even though it was cold we took a quick swim that refreshed us.We were looking fwd to a jeep safari to be one with nature however,the national reserve doesn't facilitate jeep safari's as a stand alone option but a whole day program, of a jeep safari, Trek and lunch that is around Rs.5000. Surprisingly, people there don't have much information on how things work and timings, so we missed the bamboo rafting which starts at 7.30 and 9.30( only 2 slots, so you need to book in advance) We did do the boating, which was good. Our stay over here was nothing short of Bliss. I highly recommend this property for Their sense of style, ambiance and exclusivity, we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else !!!!

Room Tip: The Elegant cottages are beautiful !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadiaSnehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madurai, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Nice location. it was very pleasant stay in above hotel. the entire staff was very co-operative and helpful. the service was excellent at the restaurant. the ambiance in the hotel was also very nice. the location of hotel is just in front of spices

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Mathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very beautiful resort and done up very well. The staff was very friendly. The food was also very tasty especially the breakfast. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Though no TV in the room but a separate common TV room is there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridhimaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited as part of a tour of South India. We were upgraded to the Honeymoon cottage which was amazing! very private, quiet, good wet room, bedroom, sitting room, private terrace. It was our Silver Wedding Anniversary, so very special. No TV in the room, but there was a communal tv room no distance away. A quiet oasis, which was good after some of the busier places that we stayed. The welcome from Shirley and staff was wonderful, with cool towels and drinks. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner after returning from local martial arts show. The Malabar fish curry is a must! The staff can not do enough for you. I only wish we had been able to stay a couple of days.

Room Tip: The bungalows are on a sloping site, so if you have mobility issues please state when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KADNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good stay!! The initial drive from kumargom to thekkady is so scenic through curvy roads and rubber estates...!!! Once you get to the hotel....you can hardly say there is a hotel inside when you look at the entrance. The bungalows look as if they have popped up within the jungle bushes!! Rooms were good and spacious...was cleaned everyday. We had elephants made from our towels which was cute!! Toilet also very good! Dinner and breakfast was decent!

I loved the gardens...really well maintained!! There was no entertainment in the hotel as it was low season and at times felt really bored...!! Pool was not heated so couldn't jump in too. No tv in the room....so nothing to do after dark! I saw the staff playing volleyball and I stood there watching...but no one invited me to join...so felt ignored!

I had 2 massages and Unni was good and was really friendly! The menu was quite limited and they only had sheer fish on both days... Wanted to try other fish or prawns, but none was available.

Staff at reception and restaurant were amazing!! And the lady at reception allowed me to use her pc to check in for my flights...top stuff!!

For some one not so tall, the fan controlling switches were too high....I had to use a chair to reach the controls half asleep around 3am when my dad complained it was too cold....kind of dim idea! Was eager to meet Mr Gireesh...but he was on holiday I guess.

One more thing I would like to point out...is that our driver was not given a staff room to sleep or meals by the hotel for the 2 nights we stayed...felt really sorry for him when he said he slept in the vehicle; to be fair to the hotel this is something I witnessed in all hotels in Kerala on my 2 week stay and not just shalimar...this is the exact opposite of how Sri Lankan hotels treat the drivers which bring in tourist....may be the Indian hotel chains have something to learn from their Sri Lankan neighbors?? Would go again...but during season time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
799 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
832 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing