We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel.. but not so good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel.. but not so good location.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel has a nice ambiance. We received a warm welcome. The check-in was quick. The hotel has a nice infra structure with European style interiors. They upgraded our room to a luxury suite with two balconies, in no extra cost.
The room was lovely and spacious with two balconies. One overlooking the Swimming pool and other had the view of lush green forest.

We opted for the buffet meals in dinner. The food was to die for.. just amazing.

The staff is very courteous and friendly.

The only disappointment was the location of the hotel. It is located in Kumily which is a bit far from Thekkedy. Much of our time was lost in the travel. We didn’t got the afternoon entry for Periyar lake so we decided to indulge into cultural activities, which happens in the evenings. We thought of resting in the hotel, but to our surprise the Cab driver refused to go back and come again seeing the distance. Further, we were aiming for the morning entry in Periyar lake. But we had to start from hotel at 5:00 in the morning just to be in time and not miss again.

It’s a nice hotel with amazing service and food, with a not so good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaaram from SPICEGROVE BY MANDHARAA, THEKKADY!!!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us for your prestigious stay and it was really nice to know that you liked our hotel and our services.

It is very rewarding for the team to realize that their warm, professional and anticipatory service very much contributed towards your stay experience. Indeed, it is the SPICEGROVE way to ensure that all our guests receive the genuine warmth and hospitality that they deserve and we take pride in doing that.

As far as the location of the hotel is concerned I would say that its the USP of our hotel as we are away from all the hustle & bustle of the city.

We thank you once again for the compliments and the same has been shared with all the team members.

We look forward to welcome you once again at SPICEGROVE BY MANDHARAA.

Warm regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    143
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
206
164
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We got a VIP welcome from the receptionists as soon as we entered the Hotel.The stay was very comfortable. The hotel was highly service orientated. All the staffs were very friendly and helpful. Their facilities were very good. There were many in-room activities for the kids so they too enjoyed a lot. The swimming pool was clean.The rooms were excellent and very comfortable with each room having a balcony with a special view. Even though it was hot summer outside during the daytime but inside the room it was very cool and pleasant. Nights were a bit chill.The sound of cricket will put u to sleep in the night and you will wake up to the chirping of the birds in the morning. The food was very good too. A special mention of the restaurant staffs is required who with their patient smile took the pain of providing any food that we demanded and cater to each of our needs. The only thing missing was a Spa which the manager promised will be available from next year. So we will definitely visit it again once when the spa is open.

Room Tip: We stayed in Family room and Honeymoon suite. Both were very good with all facilities including WiFi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushaguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaaram & Greetings from Spicegrove by Mandharaa, Thekkady!!!

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback . It's a pleasure to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We at SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA emphasize in rendering the best of the services to all our esteemed guests and hence take pride in doing the same. The team feels really great when someone appreciates their hard efforts. Your appreciation towards the entire team has been passed on.

We are looking to add some more of activities in our hotel, SPA being one of them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to have you again at SPICEGROVE by MANDHARAA.

Regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spice Groove is a hotel where one should at least stay 2 days. The Hotel staff are quite educated & trained and provide you with complete hospitality and joy.
It was really a nice staying place in Thekkedy may it be far.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Subhash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaaram & Greetings from Spicegrove by Mandharaa, Thekkady!!!

Thank you so much for considering us for your valuable stay with us. It was our pleasure to host you. We thank you once again and sincerely look forward to welcome you back at SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA.

Regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

If I could describe in one sentence " This was the BEST hotel in all our trip to kerala".

This Hotel was amazing right from the word go. On Entrance the staff just stopped at door, we were confused why. But what followed was one of the sweetest gesture. The Hotel staff performed pooja for all of us and put Tikka on our Foreheads. My Daughter was so happy with this that she couldn't stop smiling. Now that's what a Warm welcome is.

The Property is a newly constructed one, situated right in the middle of market which itself is not very crowded. THE Rooms were pretty large and clean. I loved the Greenery around the Hotel. Food was very tasty and staff is as good as it gets.

The Pool on the Backside of Hotel is just awesome. You get a nice view from it at sunset.

Truly rejuvenating experience

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Prabhjeet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Namaskaaram from Spicegrove by Mandharaa, Thekkady!!!

We thank you for taking your valuable time out in posting your reviews in Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you had a great experience staying with us. We at SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA firmly believe in the saying "ATITHI DEVO BHAVA" and do provide a traditional welcome to all our guests. It was nice to know that you enjoyed our way of welcoming.

We always emphasize in providing the best of the services to all our esteemed guests and take pride in doing the same.

It is indeed our pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay with us. We thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you at SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA.

Regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It is very good hotel to stay in thekkady. And its a new built. Clean rooms. Very near to Anakkara spice garden. Staff is very helpful. Thanks for Manoj for helping me in getting printout. Food is also good.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms don't have AC. Confirm once before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BChitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Namaskaaram from Spicegrove Mandharaa, Thekkady!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time out and posting your valuable comments in Tripadvisor. It was really nice to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation towards the concerned team member has been passed on.

We thank you once again and do look forward to welcome you again.

Regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had taken the family suites and enjoyed the stay very much.
The staff and everyone was polite and friendly. The only displeasure was the Manager who needs to understand that he his in hospitality business and needs to understand the guests.
Else, the place was great value for money though a little away from thekkady,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Namaskaaram & Greetings from Spicegrove Mandharaa!!!

At the very outset let me thank you for taking your valued time out and reviewing us in Tripadvisor. It was indeed our pleasure to have you stay with us. We at SPICEGROVE are committed in providing the best hospitality to all our guests. It feels nice when someone appreciates our sincere efforts. We felt really good to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the attitude of our manager I on behalf of the management sincerely apologies for it. We did speak about it and he too felt sorry for the same.

We do assure, you'll have a great stay with us on your next visit. We thank you once again and looking forward to welcome you at SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA, Thekkady.

Warm regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I’m glad that,had a very pleasant experience with spicegrove.
The staffs and everyone are very polite and friendly. I am very happy with the services.The rooms were well appointed and clean.Very very nice interior and superb location for honeymoon

Room Tip: all rooms are good i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midhun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiceGrove, Business Development Manager at Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaaram from Team SPICEGROVE MANDHARAA!!!

We thank you for putting your valued reviews in Tripadvisor. It is indeed an honor to have you stay at SPICEGROVE MANDHHARAA.

We at SPICEGROVE always emphasize in rendering best of services to all our esteemed guests and hence take pride in doing the same. It is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Looking forwards to welcome you back in SPICEGROVE soon.

Warm regards,

Umesh Kumar
BDM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.1 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
680 reviews
3.9 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
6.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts

Property: Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
Address: Thekkady Munnar road | Anakkara P O, Idukki Dist., Thekkady 685512, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to a misty valley view, as the aroma of nature spills into your room and across your bed. Spend the day basking in lush greenery or exploring marvelous hill stations nearby. At Spice Grove Hotel, the tranquil surrounding offers an ideal break out from the demanding city life. With its elegant design, stately location and excellent service, Spice Grove Hotel offers outstanding comfort and style replete with deluxe finishes and a great sagacity of splendor. Located beside Thekkady – Munnar highway, the 4 star hotel is comfortably accessible from Periyar Tiger Reserve. To be found on the foggiest area in the region, Anakkara – a serene hamlet in Idukki dist, also known as a spice hub. The high altitude hotel lies at an elevation of 1200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing