We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even a 2 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Holiday Vista
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not even a 2 star hotel”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Service is pathetic– Holiday Vista, Thekkady

The so called 5-start hotel is right in main road with lots of construction activity , dust and without even a proper entrance. Not sure on what basis makemytrip calls this a 5-star hotel(probably at max a 2-star property).

The service in this hotel is pathetic. Room service is so bad that even an extra soap/shampoo is not provided. Food arrives late and traveler’s time is wasted. Juice is full of water and even upon repeated complaints nothing is done to improve the quality. The waiters are not courteous enough to listen to what is being requested. Really a property that does not match the expectations.

Dinning area is very small. So called gym is never opened. No swimming pool as should be 5 star hotel.

This property does not even have an appropriate parking facility. Traveler’s cars are parked hap-hazard and it’s so difficult to take the car out in the morning. Such a waste of time. In short, it lacks all the qualities of even a 1-star hotel. Worthless stay comes to an end.

Room Tip: Don't trust make my trip...what is shown is not what you get...be careful MAKEMYTRIP is a big ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Namita365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    56
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
70
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

If you're in this town this is the only place I'd recommend to stay. It's brand new, clean sheets and towels, wifi through out the hotel unlike some of the other properties, friendly staff and excellent service. This place is very professional and I would return here to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Very good property. Value for money. Fresh new clean rooms.. Visited in the month of november. Excellent amenities. Staff is also good and polite. This hotel also provides complementary wifi service which is helpful as there are not many good service providers around..

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CM_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed there in October 2013 for one Night and the property had very limited guest on the night I stayed there. Hence the service was a little delayed and not up to the mark. Still the property is newly built and is nice to stay at. The AC in room 307 was not working properly and I could not connect to the WiFi of the hotel. Hotel is right on the main road and is facing heavy traffic and a busy road. Rest was really good. Do try the Kerla Fish Curry there @ the restaurant on the First Floor which was the only Superb thing about the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amu2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed in the hotel in Aug '13. Though its rated 5 star hotel, but could not find any such amenities to rate it a 5 star. I would mostly keep it in a 2 star hotel. The rooms were okay, breakfast okay, small dining area and no extra amenities.
They have a tie up with a SPA joint (in the hotel) were you can get free head massage.
The good point about the hotel is its location and you can get good eating joints close to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnubhavAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked two rooms as we were traveling with friends. When we arrived, there was no hot water and a maintenance person was sent to the rooms. Later when returning from dinner, there was still no hot water. We informed the front desk again and let them know we had an early morning departure and needed hot water for a shower. The staff assured us this would be taken care of. The morning came and there was still no hot water. The staff made many apologies and excuses, but in the end didn't deliver this basic service. There are many options nearby and no reason to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel in bang in the market area of Kumily, few Kms from Thekkady. Only if you take a stroll in the market, you'll realise this one is the best looking hotel in the vicinity - although its website misleads by claiming it a 5-star property.

If you're visiting kerala for 7 - 8 days, this is an ideal place for shopping and some local activities, spice market within walking distance and so is the Cultural Centre of Martial Arts and Kathakali. Also, we could do Ayurvedic Spa, as well as Elephant Ride and Bath, a Kerala Speciality here.

We didn't use our vehicle at all during the two-day stay here and doing all this activities - thats the biggest PLUS of this hotel...All are NEARBY

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShrenikAjmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.9 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
263 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#30 of 43 in Thekkady
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Vista

Property: Hotel Holiday Vista
Address: KK Road, Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#14 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Holiday Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holiday Vista Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing