We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor HomeStay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Garden Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Garden Cottage
Bangalore, India
1 review
“Poor HomeStay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The place was a total let down. I went by other travelers reviews but was extremely disappointed. I am wondering if the reviews here are for real. It is a poor home stay, Poor approach road, extremely difficult to find out the place; cottages shown in the pics are completely opposite as they appear in the pics. Very congested place this is the worst place I have ever stayed the hotel has no staff there is only one person managing it. We were not even provided soap and towel. The rooms are stinky and maintained horribly. No restaurant for provision of any food except for occasional tea absolutely not advisable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skr18, Director of Sales at Green Garden Cottage, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Pradeep,

I was heartbroken to hear that you were so disappointed with us on your stay; I apologize if there was anything we could have done to make your brief stay with us all you hoped for. We have a very unique style cottage which is absolutely ideal for many travelers who like this nature and style of cottage! But clearly it sounds like the cottage style was not a perfect match for you and I am sorry for that. We are recently joined on Tripadvisor and Most of our reviews come from those who are very happy with us and there weren't heard any complained as you were mentioned, we are providing only breakfast, tea and Coffee etc…(B&B) which we have mentioned on all travel web portal .But we agree with you that the approach road little bit difficult in monsoon season as those mentioned on other review and do not compare with other 3 star or four star hotel or resort. I am so sorry in your stay we were not able to show you the better side of what makes your experience special. I want to ensure to all of our future travelers that all of us are here to happy, even during bad circumstances. We value your feedback and thanks for writing the review here.

Kind Regards,
Santhosh KR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Tat was d 1st visit to thekaddy and was searching for the cottage.. I dono anything abt tis GREEN GARDEN COTTAGE.. I jst booked in online and went for d particular day.. And tat was d fantastic facility made by the advisor Mr.Easwaran.. And I should accept tis the cottage made me so happy to live their.. Becoz d infrastructure, rooms and the room service was awesome.. And also I should say every visitors can prefer for tis GREEN GARDEN COTTAGE and have peaceful stay in thekaddy..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum, India, Asia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

we stayed at hotel for 1 night.overall hotel is very good. Hotel is surrounded by good greenary.hotel location is very good almost central place in thekkady.staff was cooperative.its very close to Periyar tiger reserve entrance..

We will definitely comeback.....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nair_sv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night.great hotel with a rustic charm.we booked a cottage room.we got a large room very reasonably priced,Mr. Eswar arranged the day trip sight seeing it was nice,

It's very close to the periyar wild life sanctuary and is right in the middle of market area.
We definitely enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RNair2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were a group 40- 45 students from VIT University and we had an awesome stay at thekkady. The manager was very cooperative in terms of price, arranging bonfire for us extra time and we wish our stay had been longer. The rooms are extraordinarily good and we had a very pleasant stay. Thankyou sir

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was little far away from the city ,Room are clean and staffs are very helpful for all our needs.They also arranged local sightseeing is very nice.We are strongly recommened for this cottage for all.The manager (Eswaran) is very helpful for all our requests.thanks

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank N_bpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thekkady, India
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Mr Muteshwaran GM was very helpful, providing detail information for things to do around. Cleanliness and Hospitality was experienced. Location is just 10 mins walk from main center. Overall best experience to stay in a unique Tree house

Room Tip: Good wifi connectivity
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jithu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.3 mi away
Dean Dale Cottages
Dean Dale Cottages
#12 of 110 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Garden Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Garden Cottage

Property: Green Garden Cottage
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Garden Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a holiday that is different and special? Enjoy breathtaking views of sleepy hills and savor mouth watering curries. Green Garden Thekkady promises you some cherished memories and an experience of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Green Garden Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Cottage Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing