We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wood Palace Resort(Kuttikkanam)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
68
16
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
16
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea factorypalm sugarmosquito netopen air bathroomhis teamsouth india tourover christmassmall poolauthentic keralawestern ghatstwo nightsthe cottagesthe periyar tiger reservehot watersimonplantationcardamom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Paradisa for a few days in Nov 2012 and I have to say that this is by far the best place I've stayed in India.

I don't even know where to begin as everything was simply marvellous. Simon, the owner, and his staff took great care of us and we really felt like home away from home.

The best bit about Paradisa is that it's tucked away from all the noise and pollution and allows you to simply enjoy peace and quiet in a mountainous setting.

And finally the food definitely deserves a mention as it's simply out of this world.

Thank you so much, Paradisa, we'll definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Madam,
Your kind words of appreciation encourage us to go forward, always striving to offer the best possible experience to our guests. We thank you for taking the time to share your views with other travelers through tripadvisor . We hope to better our services and thereby the quality of your holiday on your visit next year.
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a privilege to have been a guest in this magical place and to have had a taste of paradise earlier this year. Simons knowledge enriched the experience and Roy made use of the local organic ingredients to produce the most delicious meals. We were also honoured by a pre-dinner traditional dance performance. Traditional antique Kerala architecture set in a spectacular situation off the beaten track. Dont miss the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you for your words of appreciation and also for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor. You have been kind enough to mention each experience that you enjoyed. Your feedback encourages us to continue to strive towards the perfect satisfaction of our guests by relying on our strengths while working on areas that need improvement. Once again thank you, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Paradisa Resort is high up in the hills so very peaceful and quiet. Spectacular views, beautiful rooms, excellent food and very professional staff. Simon, the owner, was a charming host who took us out to visit a tea factory and Ayurvedic medicine factory on our first day. We were invited to watch our food being cooked and learn about Keralan cooking. Definitely the best food we ate in South India. As we were the only guests there, we felt thoroughly spoilt and didn't want to leave.
The only negative was that the tradionally designed room was a little cold and damp in the evenings due to the monsoon season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatashaandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Natasha and Susan
It was a pleasure having you stay with us so early in the season and it is gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Thank you also for your observation about the room. The unusual amount of rain we had during your stay was because of a late monsoon. However, as unpredictable weather patterns are to be expected, we shall certainly think about how to rectify this for the next monsoon season.
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March, we were the only guests and were treated like royalty! The Paradisa Plantation is off the beaten track high up in The Nilgiri Hills, the views are to die for. It is surrounded by forested mountains and jungle where a thousand elephants and thirty six tigers are reputed to live. The exotic birdsong and smells of sweet jasmine (actually exuding from the wet coffee plant flowers) greeted us in the morning. We felt we were in heaven. We stayed in Cardamon Cottage, an antique 150 year old Keralan house. We had comfortable twin beds in a huge room with beautiful furnishings and decor. The bathroom was outside in typical keralan style. There was a large private verandah with lots of seating. From here we just sat and breathed in the natural beauty of our surroundings, sipped tea, munched on Roy's special chocolate biscuits and indulged in pure relaxation. Lovely Roy, the manager, attended to our every need. He was a superb and knowledgeable guide (and chef!) and walked us up to Panchilmedu high up on the hill behind. Here there was a Hindu shrine, a legendary pilgrimage site of The Pandavas. On the way up he showed us exotic plants like the huge dangling Jackfruit (largest fruit in the world!), mangoes, peppers, cinnamon, tea, lemongrass etc. All truly fascinating! The food here was out of this world, sourced locally, healthy and delicious. Roy took great care in explaining what was on offer, usually fish or chicken accompanied by superb vegetable dishes and rice. Cool Simon, the owner, took time to chat with us and took us to a tea factory-very interesting and then on to an Ayurvedic hospital for a full body massage. We left The Paradisa Plantation feeling thoroughly cleansed and ready for our next stop, Munnar.

Room Tip: Cardamon Cottage to be thoroughly recommended
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SUSEYG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Madam
Thank you for your very kind words. We are happy that you had a good stay and are grateful for you time in sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Wow, what a stunning place. Towards the end of our drive there I was wondering where on earth we were going as we drove higher and higher off the beaten track and then, wow, we arrived and saw the place with its stunning views, peace and tranquility. We had the pleasure of staying in Cardamom Cottage which is just gorgeous. We enjoyed getting up really early each morning and spotting all the birds from our lawn followed by a dip in the pool before breakfast. This is a really quiet retreat in natural beauty. Heritage rooms and wonderful food. Roy's cooking was excellent and I loved the cookery lesson he gave us. Such a great guy. We were also lucky to meet the owner Simon who gave us some history on the place. Simon arranged a driver (Joy) to take us to Peryar for a 3 hour trek. Joy also dropped us at a restaurant and waited while I went shopping in Thekkady! A really wonderful stay. I would love to go back. A real re 'treat'.

Room Tip: Cardamom Cottage is the one!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews