We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our honeymoon and an experience we will treasure forever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Paradisa Plantation Retreat offers a truly unique and magical experience which will be the highlight of any holiday. To start with the location is simply breathtaking. You really do feel like you are staying in the middle of the jungle which makes for an incredibly peaceful and tranquil experience.

This is a hotel which has been built with love, care and a respect for the surroundings. There is an authentic and historic feel to the buildings and it is clear that a huge amount of time and effort has gone into the design and restoration of the rooms.

The staff are simply fantastic. Welcoming, friendly and informative this is the best hospitality we have ever experienced. During our stay they organised activities including walks, a massage and a visit to a tea factory which all added to the experience. The owner Simon is incredibly friendly and informative and by the end of our stay we felt privileged to have met him and his wonderful staff.

The food was absolutely delicious and overall the best we ate in India.

Overall this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

We are overwhelmed by your generous praise, and are happy to have contributed in a positive way to this special time of your life. We will continue to strive every day to earn the kind words in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Paradisa Plantation Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a truly unique and memorable place to stay. Simon, the owner and his small team treat guests like friends - going out of their way to inform and delight. The location is magical and we were treated to wonderful tours of the plantation & a cooking demonstration- from enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff. The rooms, whilst simple, give you complete privacy and views to take your breath away. Leaving here brought a tear to my eye. it is very, very special place. Made with love

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. It is extremely gratifying to note that you felt the emotion which is so easily missed while taking in the beauty of the location. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Paradisa offers a very different type of luxury to your usual 5 star hotels. The cottages, perched on the hillside, are in the traditional Kerala style. There is a refreshing simplicity about the accommodation, no air-conditioning, no glass in the windows just solid shutters and heavy wooden doors. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and every evening the staff fogged the rooms to ensure no insects. Simon the owner was an extra-ordinary host, he and his staff were attentive and caring. He loaned us his driver on one day to take us to the Periyar Tiger Reserve and showed us round a tea factory the next day. One evening we were also treated to a dance by a Kerala state champion.

The plantation is isolated and unless you were very organised or had your own driver it is necessary to eat at the hotel. But that's not a bad thing, the food was delicious and reasonably priced (unlike some of the other 5 star locations we've stayed at).

Since we've come home our stay at the Paradisa has been one of our most talked about parts of our holiday. If you can afford to stay here I'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cardamom cottage, a gorgeous Kerala style house overlooking the valley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WappingYummyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Your words of appreciation and encouragement mean everything to us and we are happy to have been able to contribute to the pleasant memories that you took home with you. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

W went for vocation to south India tour & we reach Kerala & stayed at paradise plantation retreat it was the wonderful moment experience with me.Our travel agent , Antilog Vacations , really did plan the whole 7 day trip well & their choice of hotels & services explained why they are #1 agents for kerala . And paradise was a paradise in itself

Greenery, birds and beauty of nature with unique style of building, good ambience, comfortable accommodation, efficient hospitality. Delicious and traditional food, gorgeous tea plantation around the area all these show its beauty….

We played charades, read books, ate, drank, and slept. The rhythms of nature and the sun rising and setting become your own here, and we spent four nights to really settle in.

Dinner served to us with great hospitality was awesome .To start a vegetable cutlet with mashed vegetables shaped into a patty, delicately spiced and fried. Next was a peppery pumpkin soup with added zing from flecks of ginger and garlic. Then our plates were heaped with a pungent fish curry made from meaty, firm seer fish alongside aromatic and moist okra and a dish called thoren which was made from snake gourd mixed with coconut with the lightest most ethereal paratha bread and sweet chutney. Dessert was also nicely served & it was delicious grilled pineapple dusted with palm sugar and cinnamon.

Prices are lil high yet worth it as it has such a value & quality of life. Beautiful exotic scene of mountains across the wooden valley, beautiful swimming pool, Hindu temple nearby was so beautiful that in early morning prayers sounds were soothing to both mind and body.
We did lot of tracking on Rolling hills & valleys which was great adventure and fun. Paradisa plantation was the wonderful hotel to enjoy & relax in the beauty of nature so we decided to come back here soon with our family to enjoy and relax in the beauty of nature.

Thanks paradisa for their lovely arrangements & tour operator fot their awesome services

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We arrived on New Years Eve after a long but very interesting drive from Cochin to be met by Simon, the owner, and his friendly staff. The weather was perfect, after the humidity of Fort Cochin it was wonderful to have the hot sun and clear air. The villas are all facing the valley with the most fantastic views. We were told the food was the best and it didn't didn't let us down. We went on to have a fantastic New Years Eve and met some loverly people. We even kept Simon up till the small hours of the morning....We were there for three days which wasn't long enough.A week would be perfect. We will be going back again.

Room Tip: All good...they all look over the valley. The size of the villa depends on the size of the party.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and bringing in the New Year with you. Thank you for reviewing your stay. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve our services. We are honoured that you chose Paradisa to bring in 2013 and look forward to having you back again.
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Our travel company booked us into this wonderful retreat - which is in a magical place in the hills to the east of Cochin. The setting is sublime and the accommodation and food were wonderful. The owner was a fantastic host - who provided first rate suggestions of what to see and do, and was, in himself, a highly intelligent and articulate resource of knowledge about the country, its culture and history.

I would highly recommend a visit by anyone who wants a contrast to the busy, dusty settings of the cities and towns of Kerala, and, together with a trip on a rice boat on Christmas day, this was the highlight of our holiday.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Halleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you sharing your thoughts and comments on your stay with us. We are happy to have been able to contribute towards making your holiday memorable, and look forward to welcoming you again at Paradisa.
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Paradisa Plantation Retreat was the first destination on our Kerala trip in August 2012. This is a resort which is nicely hidden away on an off beat track on route to Thekkady / Periyar. So much so that we missed it the first time around and had to call the resort to get directions. Once you reach the resort, you are treated to vast span of idyllic and untouched greenery and nature all around you. There is a reason why Simon, the owner, does not encourage walk-ins and is fine with limited awareness about this property and one appreciates it more and more during the stay at the property. This place is serene and allows you to be with yourself lie none other.

August being an off season, for the first two days, we were the only guest, apart from Simon himself. We stayed at the Cardamom Cottage, tucked in one of the corners of the plantation and offering complete privacy. The cottage was done really tastefully in the traditional Kerala style, giving you an old world feel. The two pieces of furniture that took me down the memory lane were the round mosquito net on the bed and the long-arm relaxing chair outside in the verandah; you don't see these anywhere nowadays. The bathroom were open-air, something that was unique and interesting for us, coming from Mumbai. In the morning, as you step out in the verandah area for tea, the nature literally comes to you - uninterrupted view of mountain range in front of you and trees and plantation running down the slope right in front of the cottage and all of this wrapped nicely in a layer of mist. Divine!!!

Simon played a great host, along with Roy (chef) and rest of the staff. We spent the first evening, having a drink with Simon and talking about how he had developed Paradisa. The next day he took us for a visit to a nearby tea estate, tea factory and finally, to an ayurvedic massage center, after which he had to leave for some work. Thereafter, Roy took over, taking us on a short trek to Panchalimedu (awesome view!). There was no phone in the room (in fact no TV or similar distractions) and each time we needed something, we would call Roy on his cell number. But the room service was far more efficient and prompt than what one finds in most other places. The staff was ever-smiling and always willing to help us.

The food was different but good. We are vegetarian and my wife doesn't like coconut oil. We mentioned this to Roy on the day we arrived and he ensured that in spite of these limitations, we still get to enjoy some authentic Kerala cuisine. My wife picked up a few recipes from him during the stay.

This was a truly memorable experience for us. It made us change our hectic schedule of sight-seeing and just relax and unwind in the property. Paradisa Plantation Retreat is a hidden treasure in Kerala and if not for the rave reviews it gets on Tripadvisor, we won't have discovered it. Thanks to Simon and the team for all their hospitality!!! We would be coming again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikrant_Rohatgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

The time and effort that you have put into writing your review means a lot to us and we thank you for this. It is especially encouraging that you immediately understood the concept of what we have tried to do in this remote location, and that you observed and enjoyed each aspect of the property. It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
13.0 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
12.9 mi away
Kofiland
Kofiland
#18 of 43 in Thekkady
93 reviews
14.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
14.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
17.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisa Plantation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisa Plantation Retreat

Address: Murinjapuzha P.O. | Idukki District, Thekkady 685532, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £111 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradisa Plantation Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisa Plantation Retreat is set on an organic coffee and spice plantation in the hills of Kerala. The Retreat comprises traditional wooden cottages, embellished with invaluable antiques. The activities available are yoga, cooking lessons, visit to the tea factory(12 kms), visit or massage at the Ayurveda centre(8 kms), and Periyar Tiger Reserve (40 kms). There are many spectacular walking routes. One leaves the Retreat invigorated by the fresh air, pampered by the caring staff and visually delighted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Paradisa Plantation Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Hotel Thekkady
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Idukki
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing