We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Let me start by saying we were fortunate enough to see elephants, buffalo, bison, deer, wild boar, wild dogs, monkeys and some beautiful birds so this may affect our review.

Unfortunately even if you are staying at one of the 3 hotels within the national park you still have to pay the 300 rupee per person entrance charge, something we think should have been waivered for hotel guests as these are government owned hotels.

You have to wait for a boat to be transfered to the hotel which was something of a drawn out process but was worth it when you arrive. We wee greeted with refreshing fruit juices. Bear in mind the grounds are very small and there are only 6 guests rooms for the entire hotel. We were told to stay within the dug out trench as this was there to keep out snakes and other bad animals, something which amused us as at the back of the property there was a walk way over said trench.

We paid a premium for the only room out of the 6 which had a lake view which cost more money. We would definitely say do not bother paying the extra for this room as we spent the whole afternoon and early evening with the other hotel guests sitting along our wall and on the grass in front of our room therefore had no privacy. As soon as the sun sets around 7pm it is total pitch black and you cannot see anything, if you own night vision, take it!

The price can only be justified by the beautiful location of this hotel. My wifes initial words were something to the effect of "did a king really live here" so do not expect palace 5 star living like she did. It is 3 star at best but saying that the view really is superb. Waking up to the stillness and peacefulness early in the morning really is next to none.

The hotel staff were all very tentative constantly offering drinks and trying to prepare any food to suit your wishes. They really did make you feel that they would try their best for you and were always smiley.

The boats going backward and forward through the park all day long really do render the chances of you ever seeing a tiger nigh impossible. That said the hotel manager did inform us that once the elephants did come right up to the hotel and he offered to show photos and videos. Unfortunately we forgot to ask to see them before we left.

This hotel really is probably the most peaceful relaxing naturally outstanding place you could stay in india. Just dont expect a palace living or amenities. Haven for relaxation of this worlds natural beauty, 100%.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    47
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
124
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calicut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This property has changed my conception of normal government property. Excellent service and well located in the heart of the jungle. Which impressed me was an all inclusive package which covers all the meals and a morning trekking. Great views of elephant and deer in the morning and those chanting music of birds this is a must one time visit property. Though it had got no five star facility, which one expect for the rate charged, you will have to look only at the location and service rendered.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and well placed. But make sure you reach before 5:00pm since you have to travel b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winccj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stein am Rhein, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We are a small group from Switzerland, spent two days in this very special Hotel ( March 2013). Lake Palace was one of the highlights in our two week trip in Kerala and Madurai. I would like to specially mention the locality and service. Once again thanks a ton, Johnson sir, Mr.Saji and all other staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabjo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

When I was paying a high price for a state run resort, I felt like overpriced. But, now after having a blissful stay in KTDC Lake Palace, I wish to stay more for a day or two. I have been to various state run hotels around the country and always found the hotels are spacious with poor maintanance and service. My stay in KTDC Lake Palace changed the perception now, I must appriciate Kerala tourism for maintaining such a high standard. Coming to Lake Palace, if anyone wants enjoy nature at it's pristine, this is the place. It is located inside the wildlife sanctuary, after reporting at the transit lounge, a 10 min boat ride will take to the Lake Palace. The stuff were very much polite and helpful. The best part of Lake Palace is it's location, from the palace which is seating a on higher ground than the lake, one can have a good view of the lake and the forest. They also have benches to view the lake from where Wild boars, buffalos can be seen. Food is also quite delicious, and can be ordered anytime. Overall we are really impressed by the hospitality of the stuff.
I am definitely going to come back to have another stay of longer duration.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hriday J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife, I and four friends had the pleasure of staying at this erstwhile maharaja's hunting lodge. The setting in Lake Periyar is brilliant allowing views of wildlife including elephant, gaur, Nilgiri langurs and various deer. To wake up to the enigmatic sounds of the jungle was truly magical. All of this was capped by excellent service from the manager and all the staff at the hotel. The food was excellent and plentiful, the rooms very comfortable and the gardens a delight. In short, a really wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wessex80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

This place is a real gem. Accessible only by boat through the Tiger Reserve, it is a perfect spot for seeing buffalo, deer, wild boar and others. We even heard a tiger roar from across the water as we sat out on the lovey lawn, which slopped down to the shore. Our room was beautiful in its elegant simplicity, and we were treated like visitors of the royalty that used to live there. The food was excellent, as was the hospitality of Mr. Saji Mathew and his staff. We wished we could have a third night and fully taken advantage of the restful tranquility of this lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Once been never forget , the place is never forgetting in your memories .Today again remembering this place and writing a Review . It's a real amazing place for holiday relaxing , nothing much there to tell but everything is there if you are on holiday relaxing . Nature ....Nature .....nature !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravronit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.9 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Property: KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
Address: Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Lake Palace Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Lake Palace
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing