We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place inside the jungle.”
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good place inside the jungle.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This property is one of the few which is located inside the forest, which makes easy access to jungle safari by boating. However, you would not be able to access the town and enjoy other activities, as the gate closes by 6 P.M. The resort, though located amidst the jungle, does not give you a particularly 'wild' feeling. Rooms are decent and bathrooms are just O.K. It is well maintained in comparison to typical Government hotels. We stayed on the Christmas Eve and got a good dinner ( charged extra for the special dinner), but the breakfast spread was miserable. The only huge plus point of this property is that it ensures your easily accessible boating , as the boating starts right from front of the hotel and they issue tickets to the Lake Palace and Aranya Nivas guests in preference , before issuing tickets to other hotel customers. This is a big benefit , specially during peak seasons, as was in our case. Otherwise, there is nothing much to recommend about this property - it depends on individual taste whether to avail this hotel or stay outside the jungle area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drkaushikmandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    179
    79
    36
    18
See reviews for
211
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
IPOH
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel which is in the Peryiar Tiger Reserve and very close to the lake boat jetty from which most Reserve activities start. Room was clean and staff was friendly. Do not open the room windows as the monkeys will come in out of nowhere [these mammals can be fierce too!]. Room price included breakfast which we ordered from the menu. If you have a rented car, no problem for lunch at the town, Kumily, just outside the Peryiar Tiger Reserve.

If you are a nature lover, would recommend TWO nights stay to take advantage of the activities of the Reserve like boating [go for the morning ride and the evening ride to experience the changing scenery and different types of animals], nature walk [accompanied by an experienced forest ranger], rafting, etc. Bookings for the boat ride are a must and can be done by Aranya Niwas if you are staying there. If your got some money to splurge, you can ask the hotel to book you for lunch at exclusive Lake Palace Hotel which on an island on the huge lake. Tickets for other activities, like nature walk, rafting , etc have to be purchased from the tourist office in the Kumily town outside the Peryiar Tiger Reverve. Wished the hotel in future make arrangements to purchase these tickets for its guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller007Ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Staying in Forest controlled areas have been one of the toughest choice any family with kids goes through. It needs a right balance of vacation and relaxation needs that hotel can provide and at the same time sacrifices are needed to adhere to forest guidelines of visiting hours and maintaining the ''part of nature'' hierarchy as we humans belong to.

The KTDC Aranya Niwas is inside the periyaar sanctuary at Thekkady , so the gates close at 6 pm and all the shopping areas are out side this gate, so one is better off with a car or a tieup with some local car / rikshaw for such requirements that take one out of this controlled area

Some tickets and entry passes are to be purchased outside of this gate , so plan accordingly.

We had good support right from reservations to our entire stay at hotel. The rooms were big and cozy , this being a vintage hotel constructed in 1951 or so , carries that old stone property looks and being inside the jungle has its own charm.

The breakfast and lunch- dinners were of good taste and ample variety so kids could not complain and we also got the packed breakfast for our early morning check out for Kochin flight.

The thekkday to Kochin can take as long as 5 hours due to long descend from mountain tops to sea level.

Activities we enjoyed were , jungle trek with forest guide - This being not for people who prefer standard tourist activities as it required serious walk for about 2+ hours , often brushing off leeches that crawl up on ur protective socks. For nature lovers , it is a big treat. This forest has 7 months of rains , so it is very different than forest reserves from north and MP or Maharashtra. Lots of wild life such as elephants and birds and flora - fauna is very diverse.

The other things one can do are , Boat ride , Bamboo rafting in periyar dam back water , bird watching and night jungle walks of various kinds.

So , nature lovers , go for it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Which isnt by itself a downside. But sometimes it is. The only time the location of this hotel was an advantage was when we took the boat ride in the morning. At ALL other times, it is a GREAT disadvantage. So if you are looking to get more into your stay than just being in a hotel room after 6 p.m., please do not stay here. The restaurant is very average, though I must say that the staff was helpful and flexible. The pool does not have a built in filter system and the water looked a bit murky, so I did not use it. We were really restricted by being inside the reserve. Most evening activites are out and you are stuck eating dinner at their restaurant!

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor rooms, there is too much going on at all times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreeChee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed at the KTDC Aranya Nivas for two nights - 16 & 17 Nov 2013. The resort is inside the Periyar wildlife reserve and located just besides the Periyar lake. The important point to remember is that the reserve gates close at 6 pm and one has to be inside the reserve by that time.
The check in process was smooth and efficient. The rooms are small, but serve the purpose well. All the basic facilities are in place and everything is well maintained. There are quite a number of adventurous monkeys around, so it is advisable to keep the windows shut at all time.
The room service is very prompt and good. When one of our companions suffered from an upset stomach, the restaurant staff quickly helped with some warm lemon water with honey in it, free of charge. The buffet dinner and breakfast had quite a good spread and is very tasty.
The various jungle treks, boat cruise etc can be organised at the front desk itself. The entire process is hassle free and was quite pleasing. The lake boating boarding point being a stone's throw away is an USP of this hotel. There were ayurvedic, pool as well as bar facilities which we did not use.
Finally, I would like to share an incident that really impressed me about the hotel service. There was an all Kerala hartal called by some political parties on the day of our check out. So, it was decided that we would check out at 3 am in the morning and reach the next destination before the hartal would start. Not only were there enough cheerful resort personnel helping us check out at 3 am in the morn, they even arranged a forest jeep escort for us and the other guests till the wildlife reserve gates. This was very impressive indeed.
Overall 5 stars for this wonderful property and excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adwait M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed in this resort in Feb 2012. This is the only property inside the forest rest all hotel in thekeddy are out side. It is beside the perier lake.Rooms and the hotel is well maintained except the swiming pool. In the evening this will give you a feel of the jungle.In other hotel you will not get the feel of the forest. I would recommend every one to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumannandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This place is operated by KTDC & is very well maintained. It is actually inside the reserve & very close to the lake. USP - Paid tickets for boating on KTDC boats are also guaranteed for in living guests so there is no need to wait in queue for the same. Rooms are clean and well appointed & food is excellent. The room service was excellent and the staff was courteous to a fault. The pool looked inviting and so did the beer bar. I chose the latter. It is a little on the expensive side but for all the things thrown in, well worth the price. They have no gym. There is adequate parking for vehicles but no facilities for the driver. The place is locked down from 1800h to 0600h next morning so you cannot go out to see the nightlife of Thekkady. KTDC also organises various wildlife treks if you are up to marches in the leech infested jungles in the dark..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
696 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Property: Aranya Nivas KTDC
Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing