We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Hotel within the Forest Buffer area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Hotel within the Forest Buffer area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

As I said, it's location is absolutely stunning being within the forest area (there are 2 others within the forest, both belong to KTDC - one a budget hotel & other a luxury in an island within Periyar Lake). 5 minutes walk down to Boat Station for the Periyar Safari. We stayed in Superior Rooms - Large, Clean with Sit Outs. Food could be rated as just above average - but one shouldn't expect the works within a forest.

Room Tip: Remember to keep the windows shut during the days or else you may loose your stuff to the monkeys! E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SivajiBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    168
    75
    34
    18
See reviews for
191
128
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This resort is in the sanctuary and is placed well. rooms are a bit small but clean and suits all the required things. Swimming pool is nice and clean. Food quality is also good and served hot. You cannot go out from the hotel after 6pm as the sanctuary is closed and it could be a bit boring in the evenings. Its quite and nice. If you want to enjoy the light and sound show outside the sanctuary then its no use staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alokshah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A very quite hotel ,there are only two hotels inside the reserve forest and this is one of them. The starting point of boat safaris is walk-able distance form the hotel. Also they will book the tickets for the boat safari which is a very useful. The rooms are some what disappointing as they were minimal to say the least ,may be because it is inside the forest reserve but I expected better rooms. One surprise was the food ,the dinner was absolutely amazing the lahasuniya dal was a treat. The walk outside the hotel during night time was very exciting, as there is no lights except for the hotel the jungle really looks scary and exciting. The view of the lake is also mesmerizing.

Room Tip: Jungle or lake facing room Do not keep windows open , it is a jungle book boat tickets in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atultuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the sister property Periyar House, but had a lunch at Aranya Niwas so the review is more about the restaurant rather than the hotel.

We had an afternoon boat ride so had time for the buffet lunch in the air conditioned restaurant overlooking old trees and the swimming pool. The food was exceptionally good, and so much better than that at Periyar House. The beer was chilled and perfect for a warm day. For anyone who has travelled in Kerala, the strange attitude of most restaurants towards beer can be very frustrating.

Service was professional and very friendly. We enjoyed so much that after our ride we came back for evening tea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claix, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it ; all the people who work there are friendly and helpful ; the food is good ; we spent a lot of time walking in the park, watching the animals and though we had to stay inside the park because the drivers and taxis were on strike, we never got bored.
Again, thank you to all the employees of the Aranya Nivas KTDC hotel ; we wish them all a successful 2014 year at work and in their private life.

H.Joire & M.Verollet

Room Tip: overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huguette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I had many expectations from this hotel but the reception staff ruined it all. They were very rude , while answering our queries and were not at all interested in helping us. All we wanted to know was what are the activities which we can enjoy there. Rooms smell a lot specially the bathroom, I could not even get hot water and they did not even send anybody to help us. Only reason you would want to live here is due to the guaranteed boat trip they offer to the residents.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SadanandU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Its in the Periyar reserves boundary walls, in middle of the jungle near to the lake, tracking & other such facilities, apart from it food is quite ok, can be improved. Nice swimming pool & a very peaceful nature loving place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAJagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#17 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.4 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Property: Aranya Nivas KTDC
Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing