We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious tryst with nature”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A luxurious tryst with nature”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The day we came, we were for a surprise... our room was upgraded...but to a honeymoon cottage. This was away from the main block of cottages and in isolation. the entry was into the first floor of duplex. Then through a spiral staircase, you are taken to the bedroom....No door on the ground floor!!! Wife felt claustrophobic and we requested the manager to set us mattress on the first floor...the living room. This is a brilliant setting for newlyweds but a strict no no for families with small kids. Anyways the morning view was amazing, the cottage being in the middle of tea plantation. The next afternoon we were shifted to a single floor cottage which was very well laid. The food was outstanding...i still cherish the Kadala masala...the reason being hand picked spices being used in every dish. The guest relation official, Mr Manoj was very cordial and helpful...and his fluent Hindi and English was a refreshing change in an otherwise challenging tryst with language in our Kerala trip. The only flipside is that it is approx 26 kms away from the Periyar Reserve, the main attraction in Thekkady but it more than makes up in terms of plantation and nature trail. Overall a very good experience!!!

Room Tip: For families...please ensure these are single floor cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    175
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
179
223
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Firstly, the overall ambiance and design of the resort is really good. The warm greeting and the expanse of the property really makes you feel proud of your selection!
Our stay was quite an adventure. The cottage allotted to us appeared practically outside the original layout of the resort. These were all very new rooms and still in the making. So much so that some of the windows of the duplex were yet to be fitted with glass and the false ceiling below the roof was half-done! The cottage was too far from the main area and hence we hardly felt like walking all the way down to the main camp-fire and other attractions of the resort. Food was excellent and worth a mention!
We would definitely want to stay once again here, but this time another room/cottage closer to the main area!

Room Tip: Ask for the layout of the resort, before you book the cottage/room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiragDedhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I, the wife and our infant son stayed at Carmelia Haven for a day in September 2011. We used the stay as a break journey from Munnar to Kumarakom. A friend of ours had recommended the property and that coupled with more positive reviews from acquaintances and on TA made me go ahead with the booking.

The resort is situated some distance away from the main Thekkady town (approx 12-15 kms). Its laid out amidst a 55 acre cardamom plantation. Its a place where you go to relax and not get caught away with the hustle bustle of shopping and sightseeing.

On arrival, the staff when requested upgraded us to a suite room which was a nice surprise. Since the resort is cut away from the jostle of the main towm, its very peaceful and serene . They also have a complimentary spice plantation tour which takes approx an hour and a half (and is a lot better than most spice plantation tours offered around Thekkady as attractions for a fee - here it was complimentary). As part of the 2 day package they also give you jeep rides to their own plantations and activity zones which are some distance away (but we were there only for a day)

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food in the in house restaurant is very good and freshly cooked. the staff are courteous and take care of any small requests you may have.

The resort itself, nestled in the middle of the plantation jungle and surrounded by greenery, enjoys an excellent climate. They also have Tree houses which are nestled in one part of the resort and is secluded - may suit some peoples tastes.

Overall, great location, superb facilities, courteous staff, good food. I gave it 4/5 since if u want to do the touristy things in thekkady - like shopping, elephant baths etc, wandering in the market at your leisure, the distance of half hour drive acts as a hindrant. This is for someone who wants to relax in the resort and enjoy nature

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmaulikshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights - one in the Tree House, and second was a honeymoon cottage. Both were at the far ends of the resort and gave the peaceful and quite setting we were looking for. Our son was super excited by the Tree House! It is at a far end of the resort amidst cardamom plantations and tall trees. The room we had was slighty small, later we came to know they also had another tree house which was more spacious, which I hope they could have give us given 3 folks. Well, the surroundings made up for it.Everyday evening they offer a walking tour/hike aground the resort through the plantation introducing different spices and more of a thrill hike. We didn't take any of the jeep safari stuff as we already had a visit to tea plantation and boat ride in Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary planned. Do NOT miss this amazing sanctuary on your visit! (jiya jale, dil se fame). They also have many other tours and hikes planned in the forest there. Check it out online before you go. We couldn't spot any elephant our tiger, but that's what you get for just 2 hour ride. Back at resort, the food was ok-ish one day and better the next. The staff is VERY courtious and friendly and make a point to collect feedback. The second night at the honeymoon cottage was also fine. Staying among the tea gardens was nice experince! Woke up both daus to beatiful birds sounds :) Overall, would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NipaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

On 16th Oct we were their in thekkady .. very bad experience as we did the check in the hotel and immediately went for boating. With in 30 minute from the hotel we met with terrible accident where my husband got injured very badly Car got damaged and even the driver was disappered.. As the language ws the problem.. and nothing knowing about the nearby hospital... I had managedanother vehicle and reached the hotel.. As I had reached the hotel ... the entire hotel staff has helped me a lot ... they immediately took us to the hospital and they made us available one vehical ... As the doctor has done the first aid ... and suggested the operation we had returned to the hotel for that night... Whole night the whole staff was with us as i was very scared because me and my husband was their in the differnet statge and he was injured very badly. Carmelila heaven staff was throught with us and gave me courage to fight sccenario they have helped dus to book the tickets immedialtey and cordinate with doctors. I am sincerly thankful throuht my life to unnikrishnan business manager , Anthony and other staff for their timely help. And I will suggest traveller to select this hotel because you may never know which situation you may face as our trip has spoiled but hats of to carmeilla heaven staff those wwho really helped us in our bad time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JYOTIDIGAMBER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Our family stayed here for about a week, and we were very comfortable here. We were in the tree house for all but the last night, and the tree house is really wonderful! The decor is pleasant, and the view is unbelievable. We are from the U.S., and we were amazed by the varieties of birds that we saw here.
The food was quite good, and the service was as well.
Our daughter had been injured on an earlier leg of our trip, and our family also became ill, and the doctor and massage woman here were so very helpful in getting us back to good health.
We took the plantation tour and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
We also enjoyed the nightly music and dance performances.
The gift shop was nice, and we were able to get some very fresh spices there.
As it was cold during our stay, we didn't use the pool, though it looked good.
We were happy to spend a decent amount of time here. It was so nice to have some peace and relative solitude on our busy trip; our closest neighbors were a pair of parrots in a nearby tree.

Room Tip: The tree house is really fantastic! Go for one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clovercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaikkom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

First of all i was not intrested in thekkady as normally it is heard that there is nothing to see in Thekkady, But my travel agent, india Mirror Holidays suggested me this property. I booked one cottage for one night there at the request of the agent. But i was amazed to see the buety of the property.The property is been spread in an area of 55 acres fully planted with Cardamon,Cocoa, Pepper , coffee and some rare specious of Trees which i have never seen in my life. The Staff were very proffesional Especially Mr Rajesh Unnikrishnan who personnaly took care of all the things. The food was excellent..............What else to say........we ended up with staying there for 2 nights....... Thanks Carmelia Heaven........ Thanks India Mirror Holidays........for making our kerala trip an experience that we can never forget......................

Room Tip: If you are going to Stay at Carmelia heaven then stay there for minimum two Nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaikkomAbhilash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,091 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
9.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing