We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the unexplored beauty of god's own land”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
vadodara
Level Contributor
265 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“the unexplored beauty of god's own land”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

a medley of nature at it's peak--the haven with it's own spice garden--bountiful trees of cardamom,pepper and other delectable spices all around the resort---- great atmsophere and a wonderful way to unwind-- there is food for all taste buds .
when in thekkady - a must visit place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhilVadodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    172
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
178
219
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

we went to carmelia last week and stayed for 2 nights at jacuzzi villa and tree house.Rooms are spacious and good but the service they provide is bad. jaccuzzi was not working properly and after complaining also, one person came to fix it which he couldn't do and said other one is coming to fix it....but nobody came.moreover,nobody from reception or otherwise asked whether it's been fixed or not. they have automatic locks for jaccuzzi villa and once our keys got locked inside .even after calling from other room,reception didn't send anyone and didn't even bother or asked for back up. Such a lousy service.Apart from service, the food was o.k...Now the positive side...two things we really enjoyed during our 2 night stay was....spice plantation tour with 'Bindu'. It was a nice 45 min. tour within the resort (mini adventure while going through all the cardamom plantation) and jeep safari at kailasam with 'Mahesh'.
Must say....if the management just improves the service and just service of this resort, it could become a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelover2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My experience at the property was a mixed bag. If I delete what I could call as a fiasco which was created by the staff at the time of my check in , the first two hours which is spent at the said property, I could term my experience as a nice and memorable one. However, the first two hours, in which the check in was done, were horrifying.

We stayed in this property for two nights in June 2013. we had reached the property by about 1.30 PM. the check in time was 1 PM. the rooms were however not ready even at the said time and were provided to us only at about 3 PM after a lot of confusion chaos and tension, which in view was caused due to two reasons, firstly due to the late check out of a group of about 20 persons, who did not seemed to be concerned by the fact that the rooms which were to be vacated by them, were to be provided to someone else who had booked them and secondly due to the lack of the ability of the staff to handle the situation in a proper manner and with maturity. we were infact sent to a room where about 10 people were sitting and drinking, by the staff stating that the room is ready. I cannot accept and believe that the staff was unaware that the room had not yet been vacated by the earlier occupant, leave aside being ready. This act of the staff had put us off. The situation thereafter was resolved only with the intervention of the owner of the property.

Moving on the rest of the stay:-
We had booked the sun and rain package at the said property in which we were supposed to get deluxe cottages. on reaching the property we learnt that there were two types of deluxe cottages in the property. One were the individual deluxe cottages and the other the duplex ones. due to unavailability of the individual cottages on the first night we stayed the first night in the duplex cottage and the second in the individual cottage. Both the cottages were nice, but i would strongly recommend the independent cottages to the duplex. One word of advice, if you are booking a cottage please specify that you want an independent cottage and not the duplex one, at the time of reservations it self. In the absence of a specific mention you may be given the duplex cottage.

The food at the property was nice. the pepper chicken which we ordered in snacks was specially very good.

The view and the location of the property is very good. the rooms are in the midst of tea, cardamom and other spice plantations. The property has a nice swimming pool and Ayurveda massage center as well, where you can relax. It is infact one such resort where you can easily laze around and relax for a couple of days without having any urge to connect to the outer world.

The property however needs a certain degree of maintenance or should i say better managerial supervision. We infact had noticed a cob web on the high ceiling of the room. On moving the curtains of the windows, dust particles on the window panels could be noticed. these things could easily be addressed by the staff if they are a little move vigilant.

Before i conclude i shall also like to mention that during our stay the management did try and make an effort to reach out to us, and try and make up for the mistake made by the front desk at the time of check in. The manager as well as the owner of the property did inquire from us whether every thing was alright and/or we needed any thing else, repeatedly during our stay. I just hope that the difficulties faced by us at the time of check in had not been faced by us. our stay would have been even more memorable then. I just hope that the staff if given the requisite training and they are in a better position to handle a situation in the future.

Overall I would recommend this property. It is a nice property.

Room Tip: Choose the independent Deluxe cottages. please specify this at the time of making a reservation it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We went to Carmelia Haven last week. I would like to mention the good things and the areas of improvement needed.

Things which we liked -
1) The individual deluxe cottages facing the swimming pool were too good. Very spacious room, Queen Size Bed, Spacious bathroom, Open bath facility, transparent bathroom made of glass.
2) Lot of space inside the campus to roam around.
3) Kailasam trip was excellent. Jeep Safari was thrilling. We also went to the cardamom curing center, did fishing, boating in the private lake. We were also given barbeque veg & nonveg on top of the terrace room next to the lake. Offering this as a part of the package was a good idea.
Special mention about the jeep safari, we enjoyed those few hours in kailasam

Areas of Improvements.
1) Communication at the front desk employees need to be improved. We werent given the right room as we booked.
2) Huge crowd at the ayurvedic center and there is no communication at the front desk to tell us to book for appointment before itself. Though they are inside the campus, the front desk and the ayurvedic team act as different groups.
3) Room Service is horrible. Anything you ask, we receive it after one hour. Poor Room Service
4) House Keeping - The bathroom were not cleaned properly.
5) The resort is very far from station and it takes 3 to 4 hours to reach the same.
6) There should be a guest room for people to stay after/before check out/check in. They ask us to vacate by 11 am and we need to hang around somewhere to catch the train in the night. This was really pathetic and we need to really see whether we need to comeback to carmelia especially for this point.
7) Food was OK. Can improve a lot to provide more varieties. Cant say it was excellent.

Overall it was good but not excellent. But if the above points are taken care, this resort could be much better place.

Room Tip: Individual Deluxe Cottages are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank its_jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Many horrible things to share:
1) We stayed in rooms called as "Suite". These rooms are horrible and pathetic. You get a feeling of a dorm. Even in dorm's, when you step out you dont enter into any shop. Here your room directly opens into this property's shopping area. Never go by "Suite" word and opt for these rooms.
2) In one of the room, there's was big bath tub. But water pressure was so low, that the bath tub never got filled anytime during my stay.
3) One of the room was not cleaned properly.
4) We'd asked for two extra beds in two rooms. They offered me only a mattress without cot. Reason was both cots were broken. When I was upset, I got a cot in one room.
5) I don't like staff. I was requesting one change, with ready to pay the price difference, but they didn't convey "No" in proper manner. I was suppose to get ride of their plantation. Unless I asked for it, they didn't offer it. I don't know if I missed something that was offered by them.

But, there're some positives too:
1) This property is situated inside a tea plantation, so altogether different experience! Plantation ride - which I got only after request - was very nice.
2) Food quality is great! All family members enjoyed something or other. Great preparation and great taste.

Room Tip: Don't opt for "Suites". Staff is ready to teach you rules and how things work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had booked the tree house, and requested for the larger tree house, but as it was unfortunately under maintenance, we were offered the smaller one. My family finally vitoed against the tree house. Management was kind enough to immediately accommodate us in Jacuzzi Villa (maybe due to off season), which was the best thing that happened to us. The jacuzzi and the swimming pool were not clean, and the food was just OK, but the overall experience was good! Co operation of the management is highly appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchdevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

It was a pleasant stay. we had a good trip & the location was so too good, The staff where excellent & So Co-operative. Food Was average, Room were clean & good, The rooms and cottages are surrounded by tea and cardamom plantation.Room service little bit to improve.The table tennis court was nice, and the pool was also nice!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahiyafalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 42 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 42 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#21 of 42 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
9.0 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing