We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT STAY”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PLEASANT STAY”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

THE AMBIENCE WAS GOOD. THE STAFFS ARE VERY COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL. THE FOOD HAS LOT OF VARIETY AND IS VERY TASTY. The resort is easily accessible, the climate is perfect. the visit to kailasam was adventurous. jeep safari to the top most point at kailasam was a unique experience but not suited for aged people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saro_narmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    175
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
179
223
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Carmelia was my first destination during my Kerala Trip. Trust me the Staff is very helpful and courteous. NO Rudeness during the stay. Take my words, that the Location of the Resort is truely the best of its kind. The nights are truly awesome. You can hear the insects and other Birds Chirping and there voices. The only and the major setback is the food and the restaurant.
The food is not at all to the mark and the restaurant is not having proper ambience in lieu with the exterior location. Team Carmelia the exterior of your resort is sooperb but need to work on redesigning of your restaurant, your menu and even your Chef and its team. Leaving apart the food & Restaurant i rate Carmelia as The Best resort in Thekkady.....

Room Tip: Dont go for Jacuzzi Villa. Rather i would suggest to take the Deluxe Cottage which are facing the Sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MymemoriesKerala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

we visited this thirdclass resort on jun 2013.the hospitality of the staff is bad.food was wrost.its really bad experience here.the staff was very rude n always stands on yr head and says dont do this.pls avoide this place.pls even dont think about this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Pros: Very silent place( almost spooky)
Lot of privacy, since units are really far apart

Cons: Average food(highly overpriced)
No eateries or anything nearby
VEry poor service(esp room service)
Really cold property. The blankets are never warm enough.
Unexpected bad experiences may randomly happen to you!

HEre is a detailed review: We booked this resort at Thekkady, seeing the jacuzzi part of the jacuzzi villa, and after reading a review saying the jacuzzi din have warm water, we made our agent enquire about this especially so we do not face a hassle. Thrice, we got a confirmation that the jacuzzi is in perfect condition. On reaching the place, the biggest disappointment, there was a huge delay in alloting the villa to us, as they made an excuse saying someone esle had occupied the place. they had some 4 or 5 villas and none of them were occupied. They started cleaning up only after we arrived. Even then, the jacuzzi had leaves and what not in it, and they expected us to use a jacuzzi without warm water in the chilling weather!!!

We finally shifted to a cottage. This was decent. But again the property is not well maintained. There are rotten leaves everywhere, probably due to the rain, but still a poor sight. The cottages are really cold since they are individual units spaced apart. some sort of room heating is really needed. The room service too, is slow becaause of this, and dont even imagine what awaits if you need some extra salt or ketchup or anything.

The buffet is highly overpriced for its quality. and since there are no eateries nearby, you are left with no choices. The staff makes blunders with every other thing, and behave like fools. only one lady staff was polite enought to apologise for all we had to got through.

Honeymoon couples, please stay away form this place!! And if you still want, only book the individual cottage. The honeymoon cottage is really congested(we had a look at all possible rooms)

Room Tip: ONLY go for the deluxe cottage. And preferably take the one nearest to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reshma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We visited property on 31st Dec 2012. This property is very far from the town. It was a wonderful experience as we got to enjoy local party arranged for resort management. Management and service is very good. Spa facility is affordable and must try. Botanic garden with tea plantation tour was remarkable.Food was not that good but overall stay is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supriya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

a medley of nature at it's peak--the haven with it's own spice garden--bountiful trees of cardamom,pepper and other delectable spices all around the resort---- great atmsophere and a wonderful way to unwind-- there is food for all taste buds . when in thekkady - a must visit place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitcparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed for days at carmelia, it was little away from thekkady, but the place is good with nice area to roam around, we stayed at the wood house which has nice big long windows opening to the pool area. The food was not that good and all but it's ok,the plantation visit and kalasam was really nice. The service is average and the pool was not maintained properly it was full of bugs and leaves. Anyways if u wanna stay near to the thekkady tourist spot don't pick this place....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hari786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,091 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
9.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing