We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfaction”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
ahmedabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unsatisfaction”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have booked three rooms this hotel through Akshar Travels Ahmedabad. Our Agent Akshar Travels has booked two Tree House rooms & one Jacazi room. We have specially changed our thekkady visit date because of want to live in Tree house room. but when we reached at hotel the hotel manager told us that Both Tree house & One jacazi room booking is cancelled & our hotel voucher of Akshar travels in cancelled. They have booked one delux room, one honeymoon room & one Cave house room. If our voucher is cancelled than how this another room booked that i dont have understood. Akshar travels has told us that even he was not informed in this matter. At that time we do not have other option so that we have accept those rooms. But in my opinion this hotel is not at all customer service oriented. Even they were commited to provide us one hotel golf car to visit there proerty after our next day check out & after our check out they had refuse to provide us car. we have two seniour citizen person so that we had requested them but they dont have provided & said us that hotel has no policy to provide golf car for showing full hotel property. Hotel has only showing amenities like having Tv in the room but no channels showing. only 2 to 3 local malayalam channels are showing. Trip advisor has wrongly awarded this hotel.

Regards,
Neel Mehta / Priyank Mehta
Email : neel77666@gmail.com / priyank954@gmail.com

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neel77666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    174
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
179
223
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Carmelia Haven is located one hour from Kumily/Thekkady in direction Munnar in the middle of a Kardamom plantation. We stayed 4 nights, our Deluxe Cottages were very nice and clean, recently renovated. Since the resort is spread out in the plantation you feel the nature close to you everywhere you go, it is a very pleasant an relaxing environment. Food is good and staaf is helpful.The Peryiar wildlife reserve in Kumily/Thekkaddy (one hour drive from the hotel) proved to be a crowded place where you need persistence and good luck to get a ticket to the boat ride. We can really recommend the Carmelia Haven, we would love to come back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharastra, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I went with my family on a winter package (3nights and 4 days)........... I slept like a baby.......ate like a hog......did not stress out (a little bit once :)) and had a great holiday.......
The place is very very well manicured and maintained......everything works fine considering the hardy location..... the people managing the place are very nice.... Vipin is a very helpful person with the front office.....they have a good masseur (Manoj)..... we had some initial glitches with the food but Johnson (restaurant in charge) more than made up for the shortcomings with overwhelming service and attention... he is indeed an asset...... look forward to staying with them once again soon...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atq66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 Nights and 3 days at the resort and the experience was very nice.

The resort is quite peaceful, the staff very courteous and helpful. A place find solace from mechanical life.

The food is good, they also offer a trip to the cardamom factory, a boat ride and a trip to the top of a mountain which was a adventurous experience.

I would definitely recommend this place for a good break.

Room Tip: Better to chose cottages, which really look good when compared to Standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot about this place and finally i booked my stay in Carmelia Haven....lets start with location : its very huge around 55 acres between the plantations and trees.....many rooms ... I suggest to stay only in deluxe cottages as rest of the cottages are too old and dirty....i gave 4* only for this reason.....rooms are not gr8 as seen on website....i can say decent rooms not gr8....food was amazing....kerala massage was good...kailasam is superb experience in a jeep ride....had a decent stay in Carmelia Haven !

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalsolanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in a jacuzzi villa. Rooms are really good & clean. Good privacy & wonderful climate. Good food & service. Staff are well mannered. The only problem we faced was there were no hot water in jacuzzi. Overall, a good place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night but 2 full days. It was like a blessing in disguise. We stayed here while our Kerela Trip and due to some strike on the day we were to checkin we checked in very early around 6 am. The property was really very good. Its a huge property with lush green landscaping. Rooms were of big size and a good bathroom. Has a very good spa. Its food was amazing and Chefs were very cooperative. it was a value for money. Being a off season he had a good stay here and a very good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashupoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
400 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
9.0 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing