We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a heaven”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“its a heaven”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The resort offers excellent facility for those who need a break from their work pressure.The Staff are very friendly and rooms a spacious enough with decent features.never miss the massage when you stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Periyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    175
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
179
223
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just visited 3 months back to the Vandanmedu and as recommended by orange tree travel stayed in Carmelia Haven and for that thanks to OTTS for arranging the things. Great rooms with attentive staff and beautiful views.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumit987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just visited this property 2 weeks back and am very happy with the experience. Right from the Welcome to Good Bye each and every moment was special. Best part is the Hospitality. Each and every member of the Staff is so nice and jolly that you feel like home.
Do try the Massage here. Its an Awsome Experience.
Food is also Great in the restaurant.
Have a Great Range of Rooms Tree House and Cave house are Stand out among the equals.
Beautiful Property with nice Recreation room.

In Short you don't feel like going out from there.

Must stay here if you are in Thekkady.

Room Tip: Do Try for Rooms with Zaccuzi inbuilt or a Tree House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desaihiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Carmelia Haven for 3 nights, it was a little out of the way for the main town of Thekkady but the resort was peaceful and lovely. Great rooms with attentive staff but the food lets you down. The first evening there was not a lot available on the menu and when I did get my chicken it wasn't cooked properly and then it took for ever to get it back. The following 2 evenings it was a buffet which was better but compared to the standard of food we had already sampled in Kerala this fell short of expectations. Two great people serving the restaurant helped the experience, very attentive and thoughtful.

Room Tip: Definitely try the treehouse, it looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We came across this place while searching for a tree house stay in Kerala.

Initially I was a bit tentative about the tree house plan as i was afraid of insects and all, but to our pleasant surprise it turned out to be one of our best stays.

The place has just 2 tree houses which were occupied by the 4 of us (2 couples). Its a vast property adn once you are at your tree house, it definitely feels like you have been cut off from the rest of the world.

The food is also decent. Although there is not much to do at the resor, but once can enjoy a calm and serene stay.

Just one suggestion, the water in bathroom isnt hot enough during cold mornings.

A must visit place for all travellers to Thekkady.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreyansv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!

Dear Guest,

It is with immense pleasure we read your Comments on your stay at the Carmelia Haven Resort.We are really glad that your stay with the tree house has given you remarkable experience.Living close to the nature is our concept with the Resort's Ambiance and the Tree house. This leads to feel anyone coming from a busy town that they are totally cut off.I am sure the peaceful and serene ambiance have made you Vibrant.Thank you for choosing Carmelia Haven Resort for your stay at Thekkady.We look forward to serve you again.

For the Carmelia Haven Family

Jiju James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our stay in the resort was a part of our honeymoon package. We were welcomed in a warm and professional way. Room was clean, spacious and very comfortable with pool view. You can find cardomam pantation in the whole resort. You can play caromboard, table tennis, chess, cricket and badminton. Food was very delicious and best that we had on our entire trip. They also have a traditional programme for the guest in the night. Staff was also good and was easy to communicate with them. We were very happy with the staff in resturant. They understood our needs and were very attentive. Though we stayed for very short time but the stay was very pleasent. Would definatly come back here but with more time to sepnd here. True value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harkamal1786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Greetings from Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!

Dear Guest,

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay at the Carmelia Haven Resort.We are glad that you have experienced the facilities of our resort with in the short span of your stay. Your comments on the Restaurant staffs is inspiring.We look forward to welcome you again at the Carmelia Haven Resort.Thanking you once again for writing your valuable feedback about us.


Warm Regards from the Carmelia Family

Jiju James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Not recommended for family visits at all. Few if the staff members are extremely rude and don't understand that hospitality business runs on customer satisfaction. Overall I feel that resort owner doesn't care about how customer feels and want to run the business this way only. You can see many posts in reviews about behavioural issues of staff and I concur with these honest feedback

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank rya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!

Dear Guest,

The Carmelia Haven Resort is committed in providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret if we fell short of our goal in this instance mentioned by your good self. All our staffs are trained and are bound to provide the utmost hospitality to any guests. We always closely monitor the attitude of the staffs; For your kind information every tourist destination is having a peak and a lean period. However your statement on the owner seems to be ending up in conclusion with the lack of awareness.Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you,

Your willingness to share your experience is genuinely appreciated. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs, as we would like the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect from Carmelia Haven Resort


Warm Regards from the Carmelia Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
411 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
8.8 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing