We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms; restaurant a little odd”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautiful rooms: clean, large, comfy beds. The towel swans were a nice touch. Bathroom was gorgeous, with one wall of the indoor shower facing out into a private area with outdoor shower. Front desk were very helpful, and housekeeping turned our laundry around very quickly. Only comment was restaurant service was a bit odd. Music was inappropriate (too western and at times club music, when we asked them to change it we ended up with backstreet boys and titanic theme tune stuck on repeat), plus it was too loud. And food took ages to arrive for dinner; and breakfast wasn't ready at the stated time of 7:30. Otherwise though, the taste of the food was very good!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carmelia Haven Resort.We value our guest feedback immensely as it gives us an opportunity to tweak and improve our services as per our guest requests.
The areas highlighted by you have been worked upon and corrective steps have been taken so that you do not face these issues again.
I do hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again and look forward to seeing you at Carmelia !


Warm Regards for the Carmelia Family

Jiju James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful plantation experience...! Great ambiance...! Rooms were done up very well and designed well. Washrooms and Linen were spotless. Traveled with Kids and they enjoyed the property to the core, loads of activity. Kept them occupied and happy through out the stay. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The food was amazing...the traditional and continental breakfast spread was so large, it was difficult to get ones hands on everything....! A very personal approach with evening Coffee and wonderful cakes...! A pleasant experience if you like to be nested within nature...!

Room Tip: We were allocated Cottage 201...was great...! The rooms were quite and peaceful....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jp_mathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!


Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear from you on your stay at the Carmelia Haven Resort, and glad to know you and your family had a wonderful time at our resort.As you know it is a great feel for the kids to know a plantation and its Surroundings. I am sure they would have enjoyed to the fullest of it.
Our staffs put in a great effort in giving all our guest a personal approach .I am glad you experienced a wonderful hospitality from all of us. Thanking you once again for choosing Carmelia Haven Resort for your stay on your holiday.We look forward to serve with smile again on your next visit.

Warm Regards for the Carmelia Family.

Jiju James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Wonderfully managed property in a cardamon estate with beautiful tree houses,serene beauty,food ,services and stay.
The property provided more access to local places and thekkady.Even the journey to the property is magnanimous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank snshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!

Dear Guest,

It is with immense pleasure we read your feedback to the world through the TA.We are glad to know that you had a wonderful plantation experience.We look forward to serve you again with smile on your future visits to Carmelia.

Warm Regards For the Carmelia Family

Jiju James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Though this place is away from Thekkady,, It is equip with all the facilities to provide full on entertainment. Ayurvedic massage, jeep safari, fishing, boating, spice plantation, swimming pool, beautifully designed cottages and lovely food....what else you want while you are on holiday trip. If you love to spend time with nature then this is the place you should visit for sure. My advice is to take Carmelia Haven hotel package that include all these activities mentioned above and you will remember your holiday trip for very long time. Choose nice sunny weather too

Room Tip: I think deluxe Cottages or Room would be nice choice. Tree house and cave room are also there but at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Malay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read your review and hear that you were happy with your stay at the Carmelia Haven Resort. . I appreciate you taking the time to share some positive feedback.We are glad to know you have experienced all our facilities in full at the resort. It is our endeavor to ensure all our guest get a wonderful plantation experience, We look forward to see you again on your next visit.Thanking you once again for choosing Carmelia for your Holiday.

Warm Regards
For the Carmelia Family

Jiju James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Carmelia Haven is away from Thekkady, however its a beautiful spice plantation with vast grounds and aesthetically designed rooms. The food was good. Staff is also nice.
You can simply enjoy exploring the grounds on foot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RashmiGersappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!

Dear Guest,

It is indeed pleasure to have you stayed with the Carmelia Haven Resort and provided your honest feedback.We are glad to know that, you enjoyed the facilities offered by the resort, It is the positive support and appreciation of our guests that make us grow .We look forward to see you again on your next visit.Thanking you once again for choosing Carmelia Haven Resort as your holiday destination


Warm Regards for the Carmelia Family

Jiju James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Very good place to stay with family. Friendly staff good ambience loved the place a lot. If u r a nature lover u will definitely love it. It's value for money. I really loved the place. will definitely go there again. The food is extremely good. The climate is cool.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunilalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiju78, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Greetings From Carmelia Haven Resort!!!!!


Dear Guest,


It is great to have you stayed with the carmelia haven resort and to write your experience to the World.We take it as an honor of every words you mentioned on us.Do let us know if we can be any better on your next visit.We look forward to your visit again.Thanking you for choosing Carmelia Haven Resort as your Holiday Destination.


Warm Regards for the Carmelia Family

Jiju James
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

other than ambience nothing was pleasant during our stay in the said resort . Quality of food and service was very poor at the restaurant. The amenities provided in the room as well as in the bath room was not up to the mark even water tap of hot and cold water was not functioning well. It was not at all pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
4  Thank Dayanand G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
9.1 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
413 reviews
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
1,176 reviews
7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 45 in Thekkady
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
906 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
907 reviews
9.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: £69 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing