We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day well spent in midst of nature!”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2006

Me and my family stayed at this hotel early 2006. This place is a little out of the way but well worth the drive. Living in this hotel is like living in a cardammon garden. The owner of this hotel happens to be a spice grower and has made this hotel in midst of all things green. The hotel has big grounds and lot of greenery around it. The rooms are a little deprived of any color with just plain white walls. The rooms could use some decoration. But if you are staying at this hotel I would suggest booking the Cave room or the tree house. That's the highlight of living at this hotel. You actually get to live in a cave or a tree house and can enjoy the hotel even more. If you are unlucky like us and these rooms are already booked do ask the people at the front desk to arrange for you to take a tour of the property and also show you a glimpse of these rooms. We did the tour and had this sweet guy with us to show us the whole property complete with all spice plaintations and various other trees like coffee etc.
Then we went for this super excitiing ride a little away from the property called Kailasa Lake. This lake also happens to be owned by the person who owns Carmilia Haven. So this ride is free for the guests of the hotel. This experience was exciting not only because the area was scenic and we could have done boating (if it was not that hot that day) in the lake, also because there is a jeep ride waiting for you. The driver takes you up this steep hill in an open jeep for a Safari. The jeep goes real fast and makes you feel as if you are in an amusement park. The whole excitement is in the fear when the jeep makes those sharp turns. This should not be missed at any cost. This whole experience makes Carmilia Haven a very different kind of hotel to stay in. I would have given it 5 on 5 had we probably got a better room....maybe a cave room or a tree house?? Nonetheless I LOVED it big time!!! ! The food is also pretty decent.
Don't miss it just because of the distance from city center

14  Thank Nee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Carmelia Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cousinfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank anjaliWbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wi-Fi pas pratique : sous pergola ouverte près du restaurant
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CARQUEIRANNE1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ludovico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
906 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
9.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: £36 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala, India
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing