We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were 30 of us staying in the rooms. The rooms and the furniture is made of wood and had great carvings. The food was really great. Very hot food and served with great passion. The stewards also were very helpful. There were lots of varieties and we all enjoyed the stay and the food. Great Hotel

Room Tip: You should experience the stay and specially the hot food which keeps on coming as soon as you finis...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettymaid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for spending precious time to write a few lines on the facilities offered by us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We assure you that all efforts will be made to improve our services in future also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ambadi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I am glad i chose the right hotel, thanks clear trip, but it was a little highly priced. good ambiance, very close to the bus stand, also the auto stand.
near to the boat landing. when i needed hot water in the morning i could not find any one in the reception, which disappointed me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Praveen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We are really thankful to you for staying in our resort and we appreciate your kindness for writing your review about Ambadi in Trip Advisor.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at Ambadi
Hot water facility is provided from 5AM to 10AM in the morning and 5 PM to 10PM in the evening as it happens to be the main time when the facility is generally used. Strict instructions have been given to the staff to be available at the counter for readdressing the grievance of the guests on time and we assure you that such lapses will not occur in future.
We request you to visit Ambadi again and assure you the best services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

'Ambadi' in Malayalam means place where Lord Krishna was brought up. This is the first heritage hotel in the private sector in Kerala. The ambiance seems very traditional and ancient. We stayed in 'cottage' which had simple small clean wooden room and attached balcony. Service was prompt and depicted custom. Convenient location; near the market and fringing the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Well maintained greenery and basic amenities. We didn't opt to dine here as the restaurant had lots of mosquitoes in the evening. Good that the rest of the hotel premises especially our room was mosquito free. Only undesirable thing was a lizard in the room for few minutes.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay and definitely this hotel is value for money. Best to opt for in Thekkady.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaanManasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

We appreciate your kindness in taking time for writing your review about Ambadi in trip advisor.
During the rainy season chances of mosquitoes are high and we have instructed the staff to provide effective mosquito control repellants to the guest to avoid the problem. The factors causing the inconvenience have been taken note of and we assure you that effective steps will be taken for rectifying the same immediately. As regards the lizards it happens to one of the fauna in the Sanctaury area all efforts are being made to prevent them from entering the room
We once again appreciate your lovely appraisal of Ambadi and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

stayed on oct 29 ,nice hotel with god breakfast ,accessible to near by attarction ,courteous staff ,will recommand to the guests,.thanks to ambadi team ,The entire room is wooden.can be for nature stay ,

Room Tip: Please book in advance inorder to unavailability
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wecareholidayskerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We appreciate your kindness in writing your review about Ambadi in trip advisor.
We are grateful to you for choosing Ambadi for your stay and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food at our restaurant. It is our continuous endeavor to keep improving our services to our valuable guests.
We request you to visit Ambadi again and assure you the best service in future also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

the hotel is beautifully designed. all the room furniture are made of wood. rooms are big enough with attached balcony. 24 hour hot water supply available. hotels restaurant is also very good and lots of food options are there.

Room Tip: upper floor room is good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnava85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for utilizing your valuable time in writing your review about Ambadi in Trip Advisor
We Thank you for choosing Ambadi for your stay at Thekkady and for your wonderful assessment of Ambadi.Your valuable words encourages us to strive more to ensure a more comfortable stay for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I and my husband stayed here for 2 days. They upgraded our stay in a duplex which made us happy at the first instance itself.. The entire apartment is wooden.. from flooring to ceiling and all the major and minor artefacts and furnishings (including the doors latches). Ours was a duplex on the first floor, wherein we had the living room and a wooden staircase going up to the bedroom which looked very cozy. The bed linen was very very clean and everything looked very appealing though it gave a very rustic wooden look.
About the hotel staff, they were very courteous and helpful and walways just a call away. Since we were travelling from Munnar and wanted to get fresh, to our surprise there was no hot water in the shower. they have timings where hot water is avaliable only between 5 - 9 in the mornings and evenings. But the staff was very helpful and arranged hot water for us immediately.
Since this hotel is situated right in the market place at the Ambadi Junction you get many many options on restaurant and eateries within walkable distance. But do not miss on their own restaurant - ATHIDHI which offers amazing food too.
The best things about this hotel is it is conveniently located close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve (within 500 meters) as you can walk and reach its main gate where your driver would have been waiting in the queue with your car from 5 in the morning to take you inside the Tiger Reserve for your River Boating.
All in All... Great Hotel at a Great Location..

Room Tip: Go for a duplex.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Ambadi for your stay.
We take this opportunity to thank you for having taken your precious time to pen a few pleasant words regarding your stay at our Hotel. This encourages us as a team to offer our best services to ensure a more comfortable stay for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very well decorated hotel, location is good but very thrifty no toilet tissues, only one small
soap for two, small 12" TV.
Though on internet they offer combined set-prices for Breakfast,Lunch & Dinners but in actual
nothing like that, you have to buy each and every item seperately on la-carte basis!!
Even breakfast is also not included in price.
Because of this We have not availed any food in this hotel, but I feel food may be very expensive compare to outside hotels and prices may be varies from season to season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLN745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks you for spending your valuable time in writing your review in Trip advisor.
We have taken note of your comments regarding toilet tissues and soap and assure you that adequate steps have been taken for rectifying the position. As regards the net prices offered through internet we have to advise that various plans such as Continental Plan, Modified American Plan, American plan etc are being offered by the restaurant. Each plan has a set menu, in-case orders are for any item outside the plan extra charges will be levied for such items only. As regards the prices we assure you that our rates are competitively an inline with the charges of similarly placed restaurants in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#13 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range: £27 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing