We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, well layed out in need of some TLC”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Northumberland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location, well layed out in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Staff not very helpful, room not very clean still cigarette butts on the balcony from previous occupants, room not serviced while we were out all day.
Breakfast ok nothing special did not try the restaurant ate out both nights. Green Bamboo just across the road very good and cheap.
Would recommend if you do the River Boat trip to try and get the first slot or go on the all day safari. Elephant ride good and the martial arts perfect

They seem to get away with a lot because of their location.

Worst hotel we stayed in on our trip.

We had to leave early due to a strike by government workers,as we were due to due on a house boat cruise the hotel would not even give us a breakfast picnic, they just did not seem to care.

The morning we left there was a mass escudos of guests in taxies leaving we must have been about one in 200 hundred at 5 am in a convoy which all kept going until we were out of the strike area and then they stopped at tea shops, which some tourists had breakfast picnics from other hotels.

It can be noisy, all the drivers park in the complex and sleep in the cars our driver was parked right outside our room and at 3am on the morning of departure the noise level was quite high, which woke my husband up but thankfully I slept through.

No need for TV here plenty to keep you occupied maybe 3 nights here would be better to fit everything in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirk8Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Reply:-

Thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your review about our hotel. The factors causing the inconvenience have been taken note and we assure you that effective steps will be taken for rectifying the same immediately. We assure you that all efforts will be made to improve our services in future also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    104
    58
    26
    17
See reviews for
104
75
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I booked this hotel for parents via some online hotel booking website. My parents had horrible experience.
Couple of points they mentioned (They are the one who requested me to write review on tripadvisor after coming back)

- No welcome, no communication on arrival
- They didn't even gave towels and soaps in room
- My father requested atleast 4-5 times then only some person came up with 1 towel and 1 soap ??
- Room didn't get cleaned for all 3 days my parents stayed in. When they asked receptionist casually said due to privacy issues we don't clean rooms when guests are staying there ??
- When my dad inquired about room service and restaurant he got response that hotel and restaurant are operated by two different entities so they don't know anything about restaurant and food they can provide


I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.. Please avoid it. They are not professional and don't care about Guest or customers.

Room Tip: Don't choose any room at all, go for home stay or other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniketD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We thank you for writing few words with Ambadi at trip Advisor.
First of all we apologies the caused by you. We assure you that more steps wili be taken for avoiding such complaints from our esteemed guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We only spent a night here (but would gladly have stayed longer). Duplex rooms are nice, clean and quaint and share a balcony with the neighboring duplex room. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant deserves it's spot in the lonely planet guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for spending your valuable time to write about Ambadi
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We assure you that we will try and keep our standards high to ensure our guests a pleasant and happy time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The positives are it's an attractive hotel with large, wooden panelled rooms and pleasant balconies, decent bathrooms, very clean and ample hot water. However, this was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. We were there for two nights. At midnight on the first night we were woken by a large family party arriving. They all seemed to be shouting at each other as they tried to find their rooms and the children were screaming with excitement as they ran up and down the stairs. When they found their rooms they all seemed to pile into one, opened the balcony door and carried on making lots of noise as if it was the middle of the day. At 2.30 I pulled on some clothes and went to reception to complain. Unfortunately, reception is closed at night. I found a security guard hovering near the offending apartment and he asked me what the prolem was!! I pointed to the apartment and he said something like, "Ah yes, it's a problem". The second night was not quite as bad but we were still woken by other noiosy guests coning and going. We would agree with another reviewer that the reception staff are not very helpful. We were given our key when we arrived but no smile or word of welcome. When we asked where we would have breakfast he just pointed and said, "Round there". When we complained about the noise the following morning we got no joy, he just kept saying he was sorry we had been disturbed. He could not tell us what the hotel would do if it happened again.
Any hotel can have a problem with noisy guests. A decent hotel will have a policy to deal with it. This hotel just did not seem to care!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for utilizing your valuable time in writing your review about Ambadi in Trip Advisor and for choosing Ambadi for your stay.
First of all we apologies the inconvenience caused by you.
The factors causing the inconvenience have been taken note and we assure you that effective steps will be taken for rectifying the same immediately
The staff have been instructed to be more careful in future in order to avoid such inconvenience to the guests.
We once agian thankful for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I didn't like this place from the minute we got there,when we got to reception there was no welcome,no communication at all,they handed keys to a bell hop and told us to follow him.We were taken upstairs to what I can only describe as a hut with nothing in it but a bed.I don't even think their was any windows,just wooden patio doors leading out to a balcony.I asked bell boy where tv and fridge were and he said only on block across road.Told him to take bags back down and tell manager room was unsuitable,he took us to room across path which was slightly better and at least had a tv but no fridge.the worst thing about this room was the gap above window and in the bathroom I assume was for ventilation but let in loads of Mosquitos and geckos.We didn't mind the Geckos because they were eating Mosquitos.You have to carry a torch because the rooms have a terrible padlock on door which is impossible to see in the badly lit corridor.If you have an early trip forget a shower because hot water doesn't come on till after 7 and watch for surges which can scald you if you don't jump away quick enough.The restraunts around here don't sell alcohol and neither does this hotel,it also doesn't have wi fi.For the 2 nights we were here we didnt get our room cleaned and were left with half a roll of toilet paper.there are much better hotels around the corner and I would suggest spending a bit more to stay in one of them,I wish I had.

Room Tip: I think the best are in the block across from reception but traffic noise is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We thank you for spending your valuable time for writing your review about Ambadi.
First of all please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.
We assure you that the problems are being looked into and effective steps are being taken to avoid such complaints from our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was one of the best hotel i have stayed. The rooms were clean and tidy, the bathroom (equipped with bath tub) was also clean. The room doors, bed, racks, mirrors were all fitted with wood, giving you a feel of natural ambiance. The back door of the room opened in a balcony, with 2 chairs, where you can plan to have your evening tea/snacks. The hotel had a running restaurant, for lunch and dinner (till 10 PM). The food was also good and spicy (Kerala style) but it could be a problem because we saw a family who decided not to pay for a dish because it was very spicy (they could not even eat it). You can order only tea/coffee in your room, for other meals you have to go to the restaurant. Being at walk able distance to the 'Periyar tiger reserve', the place gives you an advantage over others to get to the reserve in no time and book your Jungle boat ride in advance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashutoshkushwaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
REPLY:-
We appreciate your kindness in taking time for writing your review about Ambadi in trip advisor.We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We assure you that all efforta will be made by us to ensure a pleasant stay for our valued guests.
We once again appreciate your lovely appraisal of Ambadi and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponda, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Cottages were Good, neat & clean . Excellant furniture , 24 hrs cold water . Good Restaurant & Good Service.
No TV , but in such places you may not need TV .
Overall good .
Have to keep room closed in evennings as few mosquitos were around.
Overall Good .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRAVEEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
REPLY:-
We appreciate your kindness in taking time for writing your review about Ambadi in trip advisor.We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We assure you that all efforta will be made by us to ensure a pleasant stay for our valued guests.
We once again appreciate your lovely appraisal of Ambadi and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Property: Hotel Ambadi
Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing