We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing it's Age”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thrisangu Haven Resort
Ranked #36 of 137 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Ten years old and showing it, the staff thou very helpful were all useless.
40kms from Thekkady so in the middle of nowhere.
We stayed in one of the royal suites which was very shabby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peyroutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2010

I really was disgusted by the quality and standard of the hotel rooms and the service on offer. The room had not been cleaned evidenced by filthy bed sheets, bottles of empty vodka lying in our room's bin and dirty cotton wool in one of the drawers. One of the chair's seat pad (also in our room) was so filthy; this I found extremely disturbing.

In terms of the quality of staff, they were useless too, for example, we had to wait for our breakfast for over an hour. All our complaints fell on deaf ears and it was clear that the manager at reception had no desire to improve on any of the hotel's shortcomings. I feel the only feature that is nice/different about the hotel is the fact that it is located at a fairly high altitute which means that the surrounding views are stunning. In my view, however, this is still not enough to redeem the hotel's unlimited list of flaws.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delta123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

The hotel is located on top of a private hill and offers a breathtaking view. Especially don't miss the sunset, it really looks beautiful. I spent the 2009 new year eve at Thrisangu Haven Resort. I opted for the Royal Cottage which is quite spacious and has a refrigerator, TV. The rooms are not as plush as typical star hotels are. The restaurant is pretty expensive. Food is pretty average, but you don't have much option as the hotel is isolated and there are no other restaurants around. The staff were pretty friendly. Service was good.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amar_rdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Thrisangu Haven Hill Resort Kuttikkanam. I just want to say that "True to its name"
The Resort is set as altitude of 3850 feet with temperatures that rarely shoot beyond 20 degrees C to 10 degree C.
We were booked a Royal Cottage, an independent coattge with a bed room, living room and private sitout and enchanting view of the beautuful valley. and with all amenities and facilities for a comfortable stay like any good three star hotel. The Hotel peoples are very experianced and Proffessional. The quality of the food and the servce are excellent. We really enjoyed the whole stay with Thrisangu.Resort
wish all the best to them

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RajeshChouhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Silvia, A TripAdvisor Member, London UK.
We have just returned from a 2-week vacation at India. Stayed in this Resort for 3-days. The location of this Resort is magnificent and we have never experienced such an incredible scenery's before. The Cottages are beautifully laid in a good landscaped area, on the top of the mountain. Can see thousands of acre green mountains from this rooms.

The staff is excellent. Very sincere and polite. Food is good, and the Chef was always their to consider our choice.

My self, husband our two children enjoyed the stay.

Thekedy is only 45-minutes drive from this place. We also enjoyed the sightseeing, including the Mountain Safari in that old Mahindra Jeep. Also first time in our life, we visited the Ayurveda Medicine Factory. Truly learned a lot from them. Tea factory visit was also fabulous. The total stay was worth more than money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank silviasLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 week holiday in India. The only black spot of our trip was a one night stay at the Thrisangu Haven. We asked our travel agent to book us in/near the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary as we wanted to view the wildlife. Unfortunately the Thrisangu Haven was some 50kms away. An hour by car. The Thrisangu Haven is set back from the main road in a great location overlooking the tea plantations. Unfortunately the hotel is in need of complete refurbishment. Tired decor and very dark internally.
We were initially put in a twin room and asked to be moved to a room with a double bed. So we were upgraded to a "Luxury" room. The room was damp and needed a complete repaint. A strip light was the only light in the room; The sheets were stained and the curtains were a reject from the 1970s.

The restaurant was dark and depressing. Food unimaginative and tepid. Because of the licensing laws in Kerala you cannot drink beer in the hotel. But they will purchase it for you and you can drink it in your hotel room.

They advertise internet but the computer is very old (black and white screen), extremely slow and crashes when you try to surf the net.

That said, the Manager was very friendly and helpful. But this did not detract from the fact that we were miles from where we wanted to be.

There are an abundance of hotels and homestays a stone's throw from Peryiar lake and we were somewhat bewildered as to why we were an hour's drive form the wildlife sanctuary. We stayed one night at the Thrisangu Haven and checked into the beautiful Lake Palace Hotel in the centre of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary (Wonderful - we saw elephants swimming metres from the hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank linguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank j francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THRISANGUHAVEN, Manager at Thrisangu Haven Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
6.4 mi away
Treebo Adrak Summer Sand Hill Resort
9.2 mi away
Chillax Vagamon
Chillax Vagamon
#1 of 4 in Vagamon
77 reviews
13.2 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 45 in Thekkady
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wood Palace Resort
Wood Palace Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuttikkanam
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Misty Mountain Plantation Resort
10.7 mi away
Holiday Vagamon
Holiday Vagamon
#2 of 27 in Vagamon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thrisangu Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thrisangu Haven Resort

Address: Kuttikkanam | Kuttikkanam Post, Thekkady 685531, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: £35 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hill-station near to Thekkady. Situated beside the Kottayam-Kumaly National high-way. 3600 ft. above sea-level. Three star resort. Multi-cuisine restaurant. As situated the top of the mountain, can see a 90-digree panaromic view of the nature covers thousands of hectres green plantations. Moderate cool climate in all the seasons. Arranging sight seeing to Tea-factorys & plantations, Ayurveda medicine factory, trekking, Jeep safari to hill tops etc. Location is famous for the summer retret of "Maharahs" of kerala, can visit their old Castle. Thekkady is only 50-minutes journey from the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thrisangu Haven Hotel Thekkady
Thrisangu Haven Resort Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing