We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
None
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a great place, it's very clean and well looked after, as you will be because Mathew is an excellent host. I really enjoyed my stay there and found the yoga lessons superb. The place is incredibly quiet and is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
66
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have come searching for inner peace, and hoped for the healing power of the misty mountains and the quiet homestay far from the crowd. Mundax offered exactly that. I cannot say more than what has already been said about the great view, comfortable room, and warm hospitality. Mathew has been a wonderful teacher and compassionate human being, who quietly watched me through some transformations I'm going through. His very presence practiced what he's teaching, that the peace and joy come from within, from being here and now.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Na_294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spent three nights at Mundax Homestay. Mathew is a welcoming host and is excellent company he is really helpful and was very informative. We enjoyed the yoga and also took a trip to the Periyar reserve. The food was excellent and there was a good variety of dishes. Matthew is a gentle yoga teacher - you can do as much or as little as you like. He also teaches meditation but there's no pressure to do anything you are not interested in. The rooms are large clean and have good bathrooms. The house is in a small village close to tea plantations and lovely scenery.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent 5 blissful days at Mathews Yoga Homestay - my first time for a homestay and my first time doing yoga twice a day. I enjoyed it all immensely- the pace, the beautiful setting amongst the tea plantations, the FOOD(!), and Mathew- a wonderful host. If you're looking for a place to catch your breath, enjoy twice daily yoga and meditation practice, and basically recharge your batteries (healthy interlude!) - this is it. I also benefitted from Mathews Kerala travel suggestions - always great to get ideas from someone who lives there. Absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMaljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Matthew has built a lovely home in small village off the tourist trail. The accommodation was great and matthew was the perfect host - we appreciated his meal time chats and yoga/mediation classes. The village is not much but there are scenic walks to do and tea plantations in the area that offer a low key non tourist alternative to Munnar, this an ideal place to stop for a few days and relax, re-energise for the bigger cities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maz_245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
182 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We spent 6 days/nights at Mundax with Matthew and Agi and found this time to be precisely the low pressure, relaxed yoga environment we were looking for. The daily order was flexible enough to accommodate our 1 year old's schedule but structured enough so we made sure to practice yoga twice every day and have plentiful time to enjoy the delicious food!

Matthew's house is lovely, clean, and located in a very pleasant little town in the mountains. Though we primarily came for the yoga and relaxation, we found it quite easy to take day trips to several locations in the area including the tea factory, spice farm, tiger nature reserve (sign up in advance for treks!), ayurverdic hospital, local village market etc. We particularly recommend Bijou as a driver as his English is excellent and he can provide interesting information about the surrounding area. We also very much enjoyed walking through the nearby mountain tea plantations.

The personalized type of yoga retreat that Matthew has created is a very supportive place to learn or improve your yoga without any type of pressure. We found it comfortable to progress at our own pace and highly recommend a visit to anyone looking to bring more awareness into his/her life!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank levtahor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Thank you, Mathew and Agi, for being wonderful people/souls. (ps - I first wrote 'wonderful hosts', but that did not do justice as you are much more than that). We loved every part of our 5 day stay at Mundax: your company, the yoga and meditation, the accommodation, the food, the homely and friendly atmosphere. Also want to mention Biju, the really knowledgeable taxi driver who kept us informed and entertained with his stories.

We would recommend your place to anyone who is looking for a peaceful retreat, the perfect anti-dote to the hustle and bustle of a busy city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
13.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
1,042 reviews
13.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
833 reviews
16.0 mi away
Carmelia Haven
Carmelia Haven
#5 of 87 in Thekkady
485 reviews
10.2 mi away
Holiday Vagamon
Holiday Vagamon
#3 of 18 in Vagamon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

Property: Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Address: Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundax Homestay Yoga Meditation Retreat is the ideal place to relax, meditate, practice yoga, and listen to the stillness of your inner Self.We invite to combine your holiday with an opportunity to develop and deepen your yoga practice.We have on going Yoga Meditation Retreats. In order to give participants individual attention and provide guidelines according to their background and level, we take only a maximum of four students at a time. Join us for a 3, 5 or 10 days Yoga Meditation Retreat.Yoga can be a deeply transforming experience that helps you to discover your true self and what's important in your life. Yoga is a powerful spiritual practice; not merely an exercise routine.Our programme is specially designed to introduce newcomers to meditation, yoga, and spirituality. Those who already have started their journey with yoga and meditation will widen their experience.There is no age limit; young, middle age, elderly people - all are welcome to join our retreats.We welcome you to be a part of this life enhancing experience through meditation, yoga, spirituality, vegetarian meals, walks in the nature and charming views of the surrounding mountains.We encourage you to open your heart and connect to the very essence of our true nature as the truth, love and compassion. We invite you to reveal the inner stillness and peace that resides deep within your heart and soul.Our Yoga Meditation Retreat is in Kuttikkanam Village close to tea gardens, near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady, Kumily in the Western Ghats of Kerala, South India.Join us for a full week of yoga, meditation, spiritual dialogue, relaxation and soul renewal. Your Hosts and TeachersA Husband and wife team, open their house to offer Yoga and Meditation Retreats.Mathew and Agi – two souls in one spirit. They share a passion for teaching and practicing Yoga, Meditation and Spiritual life. They invite you to experience their hospitality and benefits of Yoga and Meditation in your daily life.The aim of their work is to empower the students to find their true Self; through awareness, yoga and meditation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing