We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Mundax is a beautiful homestay with lovely gardens and rooms. I loved the fantastic variety of vegetarian food - many thanks to Kunjma, I particularly enjoyed the yoga and meditation sessions with Mathew and now have a practice that I am continuing at home. Mathew has recommended books and web sites for my further interest. Biju drove me to and from the airport and on various trips. I highly recommend him because he is a very careful driver, good company with a sense of humour and always ready to impart his knowledge of the area. I visited a tea factory - it's fascinating to see the whole process of producing tea. My favourite visit was to the spice garden. The guide was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. He pointed out many plants and spices most of which I had only seen before in spice jars. Afterwards I had a very relaxing boat trip at Lake Periyar. Another highlight of my stay was a guided walk at Periyar where the local guide pointed out all kinds of plants, trees, birds and animals. I also went on a few walks which Mathew suggested close to Mundax. One day I walked to the Ayurvedic Hospital for a massage - I would recommend that too - then I returned in the little three-wheeled auto. Mathew and Agi are a very kind, caring couple who really look after you. All in all a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

It was by pure chance that we came to stay in MUNDAX Homestay. On our way to Thekkady we noticed an attractive house, traditionally styled, nestled in a beautiful garden setting. When our driver said that it is a Homestay, we decided to stay there for a night. To our luck, they had a room free.
The caretaker took our order for dinner and started preparing the meal. Two hours later, we were at the dining table. Tasteful decor, ultra clean kitchen, simple but fresh and very tasty food. Same quality with breakfast and lunch. Superb and courteous service. Comfortable bed. Well-fitted room. Healthy air. We ended up staying there for four days.
The 'hosts' went to the limits and beyond to make us feel at home: even taking us around in a Jeep, visiting tea estates, wild life sanctuary, lakes, hills, etc.
But for the damn airfare, my wife and I would be back here year after year, at least for a couple of weeks at a time, rejuvenating us for our hectic California life!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thayil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days with Mat and Agi at Mundax end September, early October and it was just wonderful! Mat and Agi are a very special couple, so caring, attentive, just so friendly, perfect hosts! We did our first yoga which we enjoyed, thank you Mat and Agi for being so patient with us. We went to see the tea plantation which was enjoyable. We just loved our massage at the hospital, wonderful experience! It is such a peaceful place, ideal just to relax in the grounds which are just lovely. We can truly recommend this joyous experience. Thank you Mat and Agi for everything. Christine and Michael N.Z.

Room Tip: Mat and Agi only have two rooms, one large double or 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I was at Mundax (my Heaven on earth), for the ??? time this year. The mere fact that I come back here for quietude and not attitude, words are perhaps unnecessary, for Mundax needs to be experienced by one. There now is an angel by Mat's side in the form of Agi. The cleanliness, the silence, surrounded by nature at her most charming, the two incredible, agile Yoga Masters ie. Mat and Agi, the delicious repasts, pure vegetarian at every meal, served FRESH. May Mundax give you what your heart and mind need, pure joy! Lorraine

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirdi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I visited Mundax with a couple of friends for business. The property is set in a valley right at Kuttikanam junction. Mathew who owns and run this place is a great person. Treats his guest as family and takes very good care of everyone. Perfect place for a holistic recharge.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niharmamtura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a great place, it's very clean and well looked after, as you will be because Mathew is an excellent host. I really enjoyed my stay there and found the yoga lessons superb. The place is incredibly quiet and is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Michaelpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have come searching for inner peace, and hoped for the healing power of the misty mountains and the quiet homestay far from the crowd. Mundax offered exactly that. I cannot say more than what has already been said about the great view, comfortable room, and warm hospitality. Mathew has been a wonderful teacher and compassionate human being, who quietly watched me through some transformations I'm going through. His very presence practiced what he's teaching, that the peace and joy come from within, from being here and now.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na_294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
12.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
12.1 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
870 reviews
13.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Monsoon Retreats Eco-Stay
Monsoon Retreats Eco-Stay
#4 of 128 in Thekkady
87 reviews
10.2 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
169 reviews
1.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

Address: Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Thekkady
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundax Homestay Yoga Meditation Retreat is the ideal place to relax, meditate, practice yoga, and listen to the stillness of your inner Self.We invite to combine your holiday with an opportunity to develop and deepen your yoga practice.We have on going Yoga Meditation Retreats. In order to give participants individual attention and provide guidelines according to their background and level, we take only a maximum of four students at a time. Join us for a 3, 5 or 10 days Yoga Meditation Retreat.Yoga can be a deeply transforming experience that helps you to discover your true self and what's important in your life. Yoga is a powerful spiritual practice; not merely an exercise routine.Our programme is specially designed to introduce newcomers to meditation, yoga, and spirituality. Those who already have started their journey with yoga and meditation will widen their experience.There is no age limit; young, middle age, elderly people - all are welcome to join our retreats.We welcome you to be a part of this life enhancing experience through meditation, yoga, spirituality, vegetarian meals, walks in the nature and charming views of the surrounding mountains.We encourage you to open your heart and connect to the very essence of our true nature as the truth, love and compassion. We invite you to reveal the inner stillness and peace that resides deep within your heart and soul.Our Yoga Meditation Retreat is in Kuttikkanam Village close to tea gardens, near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady, Kumily in the Western Ghats of Kerala, South India.Join us for a full week of yoga, meditation, spiritual dialogue, relaxation and soul renewal. Your Hosts and TeachersA Husband and wife team, open their house to offer Yoga and Meditation Retreats.Mathew and Agi – two souls in one spirit. They share a passion for teaching and practicing Yoga, Meditation and Spiritual life. They invite you to experience their hospitality and benefits of Yoga and Meditation in your daily life.The aim of their work is to empower the students to find their true Self; through awareness, yoga and meditation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing