We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was a pleasant one night stay in Thekkady. Room was nice, but wooden terrace was spectacular. Still, beware of monkeys who will do anything to still something from You. Food was OK, but I have to admit that Lalit, New Delhi, and Crown Plaza Cochin, have spoiled us. Swimming pool looked nice, but a bit cold. We had a chance to watch a show, which acctualy was a kind of introduction in Katakali, and it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mladen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr. Mladen_11,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you very much for you very positive comments from your recent stay with us which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the room and cultural programes, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    237
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
246
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avenel, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I were on a 5 day Kerela trip out of which we stayed one night at elephant court. We were impressed and awed by the warm welcome with garland of flowers, bells and sandal wood tika.

The check in was quick and the room was spacious along with a big balcony. Customer service was excellent and breakfast/dinner buffet had variety of food items.

Room Tip: Try the patio room in which you have your own indoor swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr.Peter906,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you very much for you very positive comments from your recent stay with us which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in this lovely place for one night. We were greeted at the entrance with beautiful smelling mogra garlands. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

The staff in the reception were kind and friendly too. Especially Mathew who served us with a smile every time.

The location of the rooms is fantastic, the rooms are surrounded by trees and gives it an excellent ambience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Mr/s Avanic,

Greetings from the The Elephant Court,Thekkady!!!

Thank you for your feedback. The feedback from guests like you that help us improve our service standards.

We do appreciate your generous comments about the rooms ,ambiance and level of service exhibited by our Great staffs. It is always most gratifying when our guests recognize the efforts that our staffs put into guest service and we will share your comments with all our staffs especially Mathew at Front Office!
We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours sincerely,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel in January 2014 and were impressed by the staff and restaurants. However when we went to our room at around 11pm, we found the bed sheets soiled from the previous change over. This was quickly attended to.

Our worst nightmare was answered when at around 2.15am, an awful stinking odour penetrated our bedroom from the bathroom. When we rang house keeping, they came to check it out and would not even go beyond the front door. They quickly moved us in our pyjamas to another room.The following morning we found out that due to their regular maintenance, they had opened their drains under our room.

The operations manager needs a kick up his back side as he has no skill to resolve such issues. They could not care less that visitors travel from far off places to enjoy the place and the area and pay a small fortune to stay at this place.

If you want a free whiff of the smell, save your money and book a $20 hotel why pay $250.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excelint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay at The Elephant Court, Thekkady.

However, we are sorry that you had to experience some issues and have personally discussed the issues with our Operation Manager. We always see if there are things we can do better and if there is a way to improve our services, so thank you for pointing out several areas of possible improvements.

I do hope that you will let us prove to you our redoubled efforts at The Elephant Court, Thekkady and thank you once again for being our guest.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After a wonderful journey from Madurai through stunning countryside we stayed here and had lovely characterful and enormous rooms. Everything was clean and the evening meal and breakfast were both good. The staff were helpful and I just wish we could have stayed a bit longer, maybe another time. An elephant even arrived just to complete the picture.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear jvm25,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you very much for you very positive comments from your recent stay with us which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The reception was very nice with flowers, a blessing and a drink. We were upgraded to a room with a swimming pool in it. The again it wasn't too clean and sounded like a cathedral inside. The food wasn't too good and unfortunately it made me sick that night. Checkout and bagage handling took ages.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasperwognum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Jasperwognum,

Greetings of the day !!!!!

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us at The Elephant Court, Thekkady.

Ensuring The comfort of our guests is our first priority, I am disappointed to note that we were not able to fully meet your expectation on this occasion. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. With all respect, we have given a free room up gradation for you in our higher category pool studio. If you were not comfortable with that, you could contact the reception for an assistance. After investigation, we could not find any other records of food complaints for the month of January. We will definitely review and necessary action will be taken if any additional requirement in baggage handling service is required. I want to assure you that the management have taken your comments very seriously as it is our goal to ensure that our guests feel comfortable and relaxed during their stay.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel during Diwali period and the place has excellent location
The breakfast and lunch is good. The family can spend time together
in peace and can have a quality time. It Has nice big rooms at a reasonable cost

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalchheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day !!!!

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us.

It is a pleasure to note that you liked the room allocated for you and found it to be spacious and well appointed. All your feedback, both positive and constructive is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing