We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent property, priced a bit too high”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent property, priced a bit too high”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a short one night stay at Thekaddy in October and we chose the Elephant Court based on the TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel claims to be a 5 Star property, but I would rather rate it a decent 3.5-4 Star place. We were received with a very warm traditional welcome at the hotel and check-in was quite smooth and quick.
The lobby area and interiors had a tasteful traditional Kerala theme with ample seating area and the restaurant was adjacent to the lobby.
The rooms and bathrooms were quite spacious and well furnished. The balcony was cozy but the views were blocked by trees.

The pool area was a bit of a disappointment. The pool and surrounding area could've used some cleaning/better upkeep.

The hotel was scarcely occupied during our stay so there was no breakfast buffet but the service staff did a good and prompt job to get us whatever we ordered.

All in all, a decent place to stay for one night but a bit expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0hitKatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Mr. Rohith,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!!

Sorry for the late reply.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
We will brief the pool attendant to take extra care of the swimming pool deck area.

The team and I would like to thank you for choosing Elephant Court, Thekkady - we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    237
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
246
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel is one of the good property in Thekkady, Niceley designed Rooms are very nice,Its good to sit in balcony for couple of hours during early day time and in night . Food during morning breakfast was ok-ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umeshsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings of the day !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Elephant Court.

We are very pleased that you had a great experience during your recent stay at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again at the The Elephant Court and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

kind regards

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

It was a quite and scenic place...I loved the morning sun and it's shy sun rays making way though the banana leaves next to my room. Although service was not that warm but the beauty of this place mesmerized me and we enjoyed our stay...

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on first floor instead of ground ones especially towards the right side of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings of the day !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Elephant Court Resortl on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a great time at The Elephant Court. Your comment with regards to the room design and décor has been noted and passed on to the management team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Elephant Court Resort.

Kind Regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed in Elephant court on 27th Jan night and had pre booked 2 rooms though a travel agent. The rooms were clean and big, however they could do with better interior décor. They seemed fine as per 1995 standards (the TV was a CRT) but the times have moved on. Especially for a hotel that claim to be 5 star and charges as much that's a serious concern. Even the Bathroom fittings were discolored and seemed rusty.

The restaurant was great and we ordered chicken sandwiches for snacks, which were absolutely awesome. Though we would have loved it more if the pricing (tea and snacks for 3 cost INR1200) was a bit more reasonable. The buffet for dinner and breakfast (part of our package) was great as well.

Another average experience was the SPA. I booked the session for 7:00 PM on phone but when I got there my name was not on the list. In the end the guy on the desk decided to do the massage himself. It did not feel like the message had a procedure and only so much of warm oil rubbing one can like. Again the prices (INR 2000+taxes) were on the high side.

All in all a very average experience compared to the money paid, with a few good bits here and there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaushal21fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service at Elephant Court Resort is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Therefore I have noted your comments and passed on to the training department team to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that we exceed your expectation on your return. Thank you for bringing this incident to my attention.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor

Kind Regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was a pleasant one night stay in Thekkady. Room was nice, but wooden terrace was spectacular. Still, beware of monkeys who will do anything to still something from You. Food was OK, but I have to admit that Lalit, New Delhi, and Crown Plaza Cochin, have spoiled us. Swimming pool looked nice, but a bit cold. We had a chance to watch a show, which acctualy was a kind of introduction in Katakali, and it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mladen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr. Mladen_11,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you very much for you very positive comments from your recent stay with us which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially the room and cultural programes, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avenel, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I were on a 5 day Kerela trip out of which we stayed one night at elephant court. We were impressed and awed by the warm welcome with garland of flowers, bells and sandal wood tika.

The check in was quick and the room was spacious along with a big balcony. Customer service was excellent and breakfast/dinner buffet had variety of food items.

Room Tip: Try the patio room in which you have your own indoor swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prem1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Mr.Peter906,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you very much for you very positive comments from your recent stay with us which I have shared with the team. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in this lovely place for one night. We were greeted at the entrance with beautiful smelling mogra garlands. The people at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

The staff in the reception were kind and friendly too. Especially Mathew who served us with a smile every time.

The location of the rooms is fantastic, the rooms are surrounded by trees and gives it an excellent ambience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Mr/s Avanic,

Greetings from the The Elephant Court,Thekkady!!!

Thank you for your feedback. The feedback from guests like you that help us improve our service standards.

We do appreciate your generous comments about the rooms ,ambiance and level of service exhibited by our Great staffs. It is always most gratifying when our guests recognize the efforts that our staffs put into guest service and we will share your comments with all our staffs especially Mathew at Front Office!
We look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours sincerely,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing