We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nesting Space”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Ooty, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nesting Space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

My husband and I, from Canada, and into our third week of travelling in India, loved this hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean and overlooked a quiet rooftop with monkeys. We enjoyed having fans instead of the energy-guzzling, horrible AC in our room and found the food very good and affordable served by lovely dining room staff - easy-going and attentive. My husband was a huge fan of the traditional dancing offered each night and we bought some ink etchings from the resident artist, who was not pushy but clearly passionate about his art - which we saw him work on.

The nicest thing was that the staff were the most relaxed and efficient of anywhere we have been so far in India - mainly because the service is not tip-driven but just plain excellent. You can leave a tip in the communal tiping box, and we left a generous tip because we appreciated not having to tip everyone at every turn - this made for a laid-back, relaxing stay.

The saree uniforms of the female staff are lovely, and all in all the staff were so very accommodating.

One piece of feedback - our driver has been with us since Day 1 and we appreciate it when he is looked after well by the places we stay in. He, as do many other drivers, sleeps in the car. He did not say anything, but we noticed he was not parking the car in the hotel parking space, which is admittedly small. When we asked him, he looked a little uncomfortable and not wantign to make a big deal of it, but we managed to get that he wasn't allowed to park inside the hotel grounds and sleep in the car. We think that would have been safer for him, and with 24-hour security, should not be an issue for the hotel. Just something to pay attention to, somehow.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannaCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    236
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
244
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at Elephant Court for 3 nights between 22 & 25th Dec. Overall it was a great experience. The staff were unfailing courteous and helpful, right from the airport pickup by their driver Gio to the reception/guest relations staff (Jilou) and their management (JP and Unni).

Due to the road conditions, its a long 5 hour drive from the airport to the hotel and we were all very tired by the time we reached but they made the checkin as painless as possible.

During the three days they helped plan a kid friendly sightseeing trip and helped patiently with numerious queries from us.

Overall we'd definitely recommend Elephant Court as the place to stay if in Thekkady.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank satbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Being an Indian and staying in the US for last 30 years my expectations were bit higher and different. In a nutshell this was an excellent place to stay. My wife, and I had a good time at this hotel. Staff was courteous, location was well maintained, rooms were clean and met my expectations. I would certainly recommend this location while you are in Thekkady.
By the way that safari boat tour may not be worth it unless you just like boat tours alone - there are no tigers or wild life readily seen.
Also thanks to Jolly for all her help - keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsupdeepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

lovely welcome, charming, reception staff showed us to our room, well appointed and nice views. Room 101. Decided to lunch, picked a table for two, overlooing the courtyard. Lunch great, the two staff who looked after us were very good. Returned for an evening meal, all tables had been moved to accomodate coach party from France and other parties, The only table left was the one we had at lunch, now isolated from everyone else, no choice we had to sit. Service and table laying took ages,we ordered a bottle of house wine (which was overpriced and not worth the 3000 rupees) Plates were not removed so they had to be pushed to one side and pilled up, that service was left for big parties who were having a great time with staff incluidng restaraunt manager fussing over them as if they were giving massive tips, we asked to sign, that again was hard work, I walked out and left it to my husband, the same applied for breaky, they assumed we wanted the table again, so we sat at another, The restaraunt staff let the other staff down..... p.s. poultry is kept in cages, nice touch but birds were not given water, so had to do that, shame the restaraunt staff could not have done so instead of suckering up to coach party. The masasge, however was amazing, and if we went back, we would just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaiDragun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
We regret this bad experience. However we would like to mention that our staff do not differentiate our guests based on nationalities and as you have mentioned that you were treated well during lunch, this is proof of our service. As you know we are the largest luxury resort in Thekkady, we have to serve not only our inhouse guests but the walk ins to our dining and hence there may have been instances of delay.
We apologise for this inconvenience and look forward to serving you again so that we could reverse your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trivandrum
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

elephant court is a good hotel,but needs a lot of professional managing. rooms are good but located on a hill slop and most of the rooms can be accessed by climbing several steps. if it is raining one must be very careful not to slip. restaurant is good, no bar but they serve beer and wine at exorbitant prices.
the restuarant is good . swimming pool ,kids pool etc are well maintained.
hotel will not help you to get tickets for boating in the periyar sanctuary. bettter to book it in advance through the ktdc.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourdesigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We have gone through your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

I am a person who love to travel and my trips are most frequent to Thekkady, One of the lovely destinations in Kerala. I was at Elephant court for one day and the hospitality and the facilities here are amazing. The staff here are always with a pleasent smile. The service and the food quality is uffff.... superb.The ayurvedic spa treatment is wonderful. I enjoyed stay here and would love to come here again. certainly i ll recomment this resort to all ma friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

The hotel a is very good place to stay in for leisure..rooms are equipped with quite comfortable furniture and is really awesome property with good facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeraj_198800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing