We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Jungle Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jungle Palace
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here on 2nd March for a day. I took 2nd floor forest facing room. Room was very spacious and clean. Room service was good. This place is very close to (100mts) from Tiger reserve forest. So we can walk to forest entrance to collect tickets.

Room Tip: 2nd+ floor forst facing rooms are very good. You can see nice forst view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hegdevasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Jungle Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

The location of this homestay sells it without anything else. We had room 6 on the top floor (room 5 is probably the better). The room is huge, spotlessly clean and well decorated. WiFi is difficult and the best signal is by the road door, none in the room. The view from the balcony is just amazing. We saw more animals here than a full day in the reserve. Restaurants are plentiful in the area and Rajesh is happy to book trips and shows. We will go back again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had taken a room on the second floor facing the jungle. The view was great and sitting on the swing and relaxing was even good. The room was quite big and even the private bathroom was quite spacious. You have full privacy to yourself. The owner, Rajesh is quite helpful. He helped us with booking a cab for our stay. We had booked his cousin Prakash's car. He was also a very nice person to be with on a tour to a new place. He knew all the places around and drove quite safely.

One suggestion to Rajesh - Please include a water bottle with glasses in the room.

It was a great experience overall. The market, restaurants, Kathakali show center, the Tiger Reserve are all nearby. Great location too!!

Room Tip: Second floor, room facing the jungle.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harpreet2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The hotel is located very close to the entrance to Periyar Tiger Reserve. The rooms are very big, with private bathrooms with hot water. There is a very nice terrace with beautiful view of the forest. It's quiet and cozy and the owners are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with jungle view if available.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We got this place at very cheap rates. So there was a little apprehension over the quality of things. But the house surpassed our expectations. Big, new, open to the jungle, airy, big and clean rooms and toilette, and the owner, Rajesh, at the beck and call of boarders at all hours. Rajesh was very helpful in suggesting our tour plans and helping us with shopping and everything. Location is another plus point, barely a hundred meters from the entrance of the park area.
I had suggested to Rajesh to get wi-fi internet installed, which should add a bit of value to this place.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the jungle. Best view. Easiest to enter and egress.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ppronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I along with my wife and kids stayed at the place for 4 nights from 07 Jan 13 to 11 Jan 13. Great location close to Periyar Tiger Reserve. Mr Rajesh is an excellent host who also organised tickets for local sightseeing at the most competetive price. He is also kind enough to allow the use of his kitchen whenever required. Ideal palce to be in Thekkady.

Room Tip: room no 1,3 and 5 all are jungle facing. Amazing view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prashantkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed at Jungle Palace, Thekkady for 1 night on 24th Dec 2012. My extended family consisting of 4 cousins and their families were accommodated in 5 rooms. The rooms are all spacious and neat. The King sized beds are made -up with decent sheets and blankets. Extra beds were provided at short notice... they were comfortable too!!.. The rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors are excellent... The rooms on the ground floor had a lingering foul odour - maybe of the overflowing drainage pipes of the adjacent property!!... The owner, Mr Rajesh is a very warm and genuine person who cares for the guest's well being... our stay was quite comfortable and we are happy to recommend this property to the "budget" traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asswen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#13 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Address: Puthuparambil House, Lake Road, Kumily Thekkady Road | Kumily, Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jungle Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing