We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Palace Homestay
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We took 3 room all rooms are very big and we got nice welcome from Mr. Rajesh super area, nice bathroom we enjoyed our trip. If I again come to Thekkady surly i will stay in jungle palace only. even rooms for drivers too

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 28Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friends for 2000 bucks at off season you can get at least 3 star hotel with very good faclities if you just spend a little while on the internet or chatting with frineds who have actually had good experience in Thekaddy. I am Keralite, but I feeld ashamed to say that I was totally let down by the kind of attitude the hotel owner had. 0% hospitality, the bed sheet on the bed seemed to be really old, one would not even use such a sheet at home when you guests come. They charge for 3 star, but the quality and constant nuisances from home make you feel like your vacation has crashlanded and you are back in chaotic world! My advise is, if you are ready to spend around 5-10k on travel and stay, better deal with reputed hotels/ travellers/restaurants. Otherwise, they charge you way more for a very low quality service, most of the homestays are sprung overnight and end up fooling people. They know that most visitors come only once, hence not worried about their reputation for service or quality. Folks you get a bunglow with kitchen where you could make tea/ quick snacks for rent of Rs 800 or less, this place is not what it claims. Where ever you stay in Thekaddy, there will be jundle all around. Here they dont even serve tea. A small hotel next to it, hire men to bring peole into their restautants, pls dont be fooled. We get better south indian breakfasts at much cheaper rates in Northern India!
JUNGLE PALACE..please its no where near a "palace". Better inprove you quality of room and service or pack up!!

Room Tip: Its a room worth 300 bucks a night only!! Nothing more to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Out of all the places we have been , Jungle palace stay was worst experience! For 2000 rupees a day, this place has not even met basic expectations like clean bedsheet. I found the people were there only to spin money out of low quality service. There are much better off places to stay in Thekkaddy, at very cheaper rates. I saw a certificate from trip advisor, stating this as one of the best places to stay, please don't believe and don't get duped like us. The rooms are big no doubt, but for that price it is no justified to have a poor quality homestay. Not a recommended place for spending holiday!

Room Tip: Please stay away from this place!! And look around if you like quality and value for your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RC4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Friendly welcome from the owner. Room clean and very spacious, however toilet was not connected properly and water from the tank went everywhere when you flushed, fixable though. Went through cleartrip deal and got the room for RS1900, but managed to find a better room with balcony at another place close by for RS1000



  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Gihan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading all the good reviews we booked the famous room no 5 in second floor. True to the reviews we were not disappointed. Rajesh was waiting for our arrival and we were shown to our very big and spacious, clean and brightly lit room.We had booked his cousin Prakesh's cab for our trip. The whole trip with Prakesh was very good with his helpful advise, warm and friendly nature. His tariff is reasonable.Would recommend his service to other fellow travellers (You can contact him on 09447594002) .The hanging jhula in the balcony is very relaxing and you can even spot a wild bore,sambha deer or the nilgiri langoor from there itself. Please don't go for the Junglee safari ride(quiet expensive) where you will just see few monkey or an elephant in a distance,not worth visiting when you will see more animals from the balcony itself :-) Rajesh has maintained this homestay well as he is the only one taking care of it. Lots of restaurants are nearby(both veg and non-veg). Would definitely recommend this homestay to other fellow travellers who are looking for spacious, clean and well maintained accommodation.

Room Tip: Room No5 in second has good view of the Periyar forest and from the balcony you can spot few animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The stay in Jungle palace Home stay is really very Good. We have booked room on 2nd floor. The view from the balcony is excellent. We saw a Sambar in the backyard of the house. Whole family taking care of the guests. Rajesh is taking care of the place and managing all. I saw father of Rajesh cleaning the veranda early in the morning loved the work ethics. The Room no 5 in second floor is veeeeery Big. You can play football in the room. There is running Hot water. The Foam type bed is not so good. But at the price the stay is excellent. My daughter enjoyed the balcony. The home stay is always to be recommended.

Room Tip: Book room no 5 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAYAK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Rajesh the owner was there to welcome us. However, the room was not quite ready for us, but that was fine we had just travelled down from Munnar and were thirsty and hungry. Lots of restaurants within 5 minute walk, plus shops to browse around.

Couldn't wait to get back to the property to see our room. We were on the top floor and the bedroom and bathroom were huge. The views from our balcony were stunning, seeing my first samba deer and boar from the balcony was great and to hear all the different birdsong and frogs.

We had quite a few power cuts while there, but Jungle Palace didn't seem affected so presume they have a generator unlike the hotels opposite. Only drawback is having to ask for hot water to be switched on, which is done immediately, but just didn't like having to disturb the family.

Rajesh was very kind and arranged for a tuk tuk to take us to the local elephant sanctuary where we rode and washed the elephant. It was great. The next day a jeep had been arranged to take us on safari. Rajesh's father or father-in-law was up at 5.15 am just to make sure we were all set for our trip.

Met his two children who were lovely - all in all a lovely family running a lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missbrowneyesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#14 of 45 in Thekkady
306 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
0 mi away
Tabernacle Resort
Tabernacle Resort
#30 of 45 in Thekkady
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 45 in Thekkady
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highrange Residency
Highrange Residency
#4 of 4 in Kumily
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace Homestay

Address: Lake Road Kumily Thekkady Road | Kumily, Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India (Formerly Jungle Palace)
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £16 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Palace Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Jungle Palace Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Homestay Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing