We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good home stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jungle Palace
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good home stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stay here for two nights in (Dec.2013). The rooms are very spacious and good. The home stay is quite close to the Tiger Reserve (hardly 0.5Km). One good thing is that they allowed us to use their kitchen for "self cooking" as a few family member are not liking the outside food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharma_S_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    52
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
55
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had two rooms on the ground floor for two nights.

The owners were happy to help with anything. The rooms are very big and the view into the Tiger Reserve fantastic. It was clean and tidy and the breakfast was good value for money.

I would stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillibobOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanyakumari, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We took 3 room all rooms are very big and we got nice welcome from Mr. Rajesh super area, nice bathroom we enjoyed our trip. If I again come to Thekkady surly i will stay in jungle palace only. even rooms for drivers too

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 28Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friends for 2000 bucks at off season you can get at least 3 star hotel with very good faclities if you just spend a little while on the internet or chatting with frineds who have actually had good experience in Thekaddy. I am Keralite, but I feeld ashamed to say that I was totally let down by the kind of attitude the hotel owner had. 0% hospitality, the bed sheet on the bed seemed to be really old, one would not even use such a sheet at home when you guests come. They charge for 3 star, but the quality and constant nuisances from home make you feel like your vacation has crashlanded and you are back in chaotic world! My advise is, if you are ready to spend around 5-10k on travel and stay, better deal with reputed hotels/ travellers/restaurants. Otherwise, they charge you way more for a very low quality service, most of the homestays are sprung overnight and end up fooling people. They know that most visitors come only once, hence not worried about their reputation for service or quality. Folks you get a bunglow with kitchen where you could make tea/ quick snacks for rent of Rs 800 or less, this place is not what it claims. Where ever you stay in Thekaddy, there will be jundle all around. Here they dont even serve tea. A small hotel next to it, hire men to bring peole into their restautants, pls dont be fooled. We get better south indian breakfasts at much cheaper rates in Northern India!
JUNGLE PALACE..please its no where near a "palace". Better inprove you quality of room and service or pack up!!

Room Tip: Its a room worth 300 bucks a night only!! Nothing more to say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCRhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Out of all the places we have been , Jungle palace stay was worst experience! For 2000 rupees a day, this place has not even met basic expectations like clean bedsheet. I found the people were there only to spin money out of low quality service. There are much better off places to stay in Thekkaddy, at very cheaper rates. I saw a certificate from trip advisor, stating this as one of the best places to stay, please don't believe and don't get duped like us. The rooms are big no doubt, but for that price it is no justified to have a poor quality homestay. Not a recommended place for spending holiday!

Room Tip: Please stay away from this place!! And look around if you like quality and value for your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RC4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alleppey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Friendly welcome from the owner. Room clean and very spacious, however toilet was not connected properly and water from the tank went everywhere when you flushed, fixable though. Went through cleartrip deal and got the room for RS1900, but managed to find a better room with balcony at another place close by for RS1000



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Gihan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

After reading all the good reviews we booked the famous room no 5 in second floor. True to the reviews we were not disappointed. Rajesh was waiting for our arrival and we were shown to our very big and spacious, clean and brightly lit room.We had booked his cousin Prakesh's cab for our trip. The whole trip with Prakesh was very good with his helpful advise, warm and friendly nature. His tariff is reasonable.Would recommend his service to other fellow travellers (You can contact him on 09447594002) .The hanging jhula in the balcony is very relaxing and you can even spot a wild bore,sambha deer or the nilgiri langoor from there itself. Please don't go for the Junglee safari ride(quiet expensive) where you will just see few monkey or an elephant in a distance,not worth visiting when you will see more animals from the balcony itself :-) Rajesh has maintained this homestay well as he is the only one taking care of it. Lots of restaurants are nearby(both veg and non-veg). Would definitely recommend this homestay to other fellow travellers who are looking for spacious, clean and well maintained accommodation.

Room Tip: Room No5 in second has good view of the Periyar forest and from the balcony you can spot few animals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#29 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Property: Jungle Palace
Address: Puthuparambil House, Lake Road, Kumily Thekkady Road | Kumily, Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jungle Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing