We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place to stay in tekkady”
Review of Chrissie's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrissie's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

On our trip to our honeymoon after kulamava in idduki we reached tekaddy. We got the Chrissie’s hotel and cafédetails from the net. We had asked for the room which would give us more privacy. We were taken special care, got a warm welcome. We tried Italian food which was quite good. You will get all the help from booking your tickets to traveling in tekaddy. They will guide you through everything. It’s not any luxuries hotel but it’s neat and clean with all the minimum requirements. http://chrissies.in/ check in here for details. You will mainly find foreigners here. They were quite enquiring about our needs and comfort which was very nice and made us very comfortable there.
It’s near to the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and middle of the town, near to the bus stand. They are very helpful people. They arranged an auto for us to see the surrounding places. There are lots of things to do in tekkady. The elephant ride, the boating... booking is required for most of the things in the sanctuary which will be taken care by the hotel people but just plan earlier because booking can get difficult. Don’t forget to take your pair of trekking shoes , it will be of great help to do most of the things.

Room Tip: the top corner room is great, it has 2 views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bshweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here a while back with my wife. The hotel is nice enough, the gardens are amazing and Christie is lovely.

The only problem I had was with the price! For a fan room and old grubby bathroom I would normally pay about 400-600rs. At 1500rs I can get a flat screen telly, aircon and a way nicer room in most places!

Ultimately, at 600rs it would be a 5/5 rating. At 1500rs it's a 3/5. If you can get a better deal then it's worth staying but otherwise I'd say there are better options around.

NB

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

I think too much Yoga decrease the competence of judging.
Giving 4 or 5 stars for this accommodation doesn't represent the truth.
Old rooms, old furniture, old building. This house needs a badly needed renovation. On the stairway we had to step over the excrements of the monkeys.
No mosquito nets in the rooms.
The price of 2500 Rp extremely overpriced.
Nevertheless the owner is very kind.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank flyaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights this simple, Mediterranean style hotel.
Cafe with Mediterranean food but very slow service- food was good.
Bedroom very simple, no tv, A/c or fan; felt a little damp and a fan would have been welcome.
Wet room, hot water- (had to run water for a while)
Dirty glasses in my room.
The rooms are set back from the road so no traffic noise, call to prayer loud and the local dog was very vocal late at night.
Twin room, beds firm.
Room clean
WiFi in lobby
All staff very friendly.
Breakfast al a carte.
Good location easy walk into town.-turn left out of the entrance.
Although on the ground floor I had a balcony with a pleasant garden view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

What an excellent location! We were greeted warmly by staff and taken to our bright, clean room with balcony on the third floor (lots of steps!). We could see for miles and the views were fantastic. The staff were there to help wiith anything, from organising taxis to advising on location and what to do. The only gripe was the cafe wasn't up to much, overpriced and wasn't nice food. So i wouldnt recommend eating there, go into Thekaddy itself and eat at one of the cheaper places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had a great room right at the top with amazing views. The room was clean and even had an actual warm shower (the only one I had in India!) The staff were so friendly, everyone was always smiling and couldnt do enough to help.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor one for some great views of the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The rooms here are basic but have everything you need. The best highlight is the service. Chrissie's husband/partner (?), Adel, is on hand when most guests check in and his calm demeanor is a great welcome from the crazy roads. We got sick while in Thekkady and had to stay an extra night, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of, using their personal cell phones to call our travel agent when we had to rearrange plans, and providing solid recommendations on what to do and where to go. The price of the hotel is appropriate for the room quality, but the service is on par with a five-star hotel. And I don't say that lightly -- I've stayed in five star hotels. Wifi is a bit spotty at times, and usually weak. The restaurant serves good food but it's a bit limited. The hotel is clean and has lovely views, positioned in some nice gardens. Overall, very glad we stayed!

Room Tip: Top floor has occasional monkey problems and is a trek up the stairs, but has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooserino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#11 of 45 in Thekkady
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 45 in Thekkady
513 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrissie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrissie's Hotel

Address: By-Pass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £28 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrissies is the ideal place for nature, yoga and art lovers alike. It is set amidst Gardens of lush greenery, tropical flowers and natural teak forests in a quiet but central part of Thekkady, where a wide range of wild animals are frequent visitors. All the Rooms are simply furnished, yet hold elegance in their unique and individual style. Each being decorated by Artists from all over the world. In a relaxing ambiance our Cafe offers a varied menue of Italian and Middle eastern cuisine. We serve complimentary continental breakfast. The Rooftop Pool and Lounge area provides a peaceful atmosphere with stunning views of the Western Ghats. Our spacious Yoga studio is open for self practice, classes and long term retreats. Note, that we there are serveral stairs to take to reach the Hotel building and we do not have an elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chrissie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrissies Hotel Thekkady
Chrissie's Hotel Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing