We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place..excellent helpful owners”
Review of Chrissie's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrissie's Hotel
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, clean place..excellent helpful owners”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed in Chrissie's for 3D/2N in Dec'12. Neat & clean rooms, though basic and well maintained hotel, very green and well maintained surroundings. Do not expect TV, phone, room service etc as that is not the focus of the hotel - the effort of the owners has been to keep everything serene and quiet. Ask for the top floor rooms - great view from the wide balcony (every room has a big balcony which we found was well maintained) of the greenery around. No lifts and lots of steps to reach the rooms, so be careful if taking elderly people along. The restaurant food was good - though the choice was limited, and we found the price to be on the higher side. Very friendly owners and staff. Great place if you want to spend a nice relaxed couple of days !
Thanks Chrissie & Adel for a great stay !

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysinghF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    74
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
127
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

On our trip to our honeymoon after kulamava in idduki we reached tekaddy. We got the Chrissie’s hotel and cafédetails from the net. We had asked for the room which would give us more privacy. We were taken special care, got a warm welcome. We tried Italian food which was quite good. You will get all the help from booking your tickets to traveling in tekaddy. They will guide you through everything. It’s not any luxuries hotel but it’s neat and clean with all the minimum requirements. http://chrissies.in/ check in here for details. You will mainly find foreigners here. They were quite enquiring about our needs and comfort which was very nice and made us very comfortable there.
It’s near to the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and middle of the town, near to the bus stand. They are very helpful people. They arranged an auto for us to see the surrounding places. There are lots of things to do in tekkady. The elephant ride, the boating... booking is required for most of the things in the sanctuary which will be taken care by the hotel people but just plan earlier because booking can get difficult. Don’t forget to take your pair of trekking shoes , it will be of great help to do most of the things.

Room Tip: the top corner room is great, it has 2 views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bshweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here a while back with my wife. The hotel is nice enough, the gardens are amazing and Christie is lovely.

The only problem I had was with the price! For a fan room and old grubby bathroom I would normally pay about 400-600rs. At 1500rs I can get a flat screen telly, aircon and a way nicer room in most places!

Ultimately, at 600rs it would be a 5/5 rating. At 1500rs it's a 3/5. If you can get a better deal then it's worth staying but otherwise I'd say there are better options around.

NB

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

I think too much Yoga decrease the competence of judging.
Giving 4 or 5 stars for this accommodation doesn't represent the truth.
Old rooms, old furniture, old building. This house needs a badly needed renovation. On the stairway we had to step over the excrements of the monkeys.
No mosquito nets in the rooms.
The price of 2500 Rp extremely overpriced.
Nevertheless the owner is very kind.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank flyaquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed 2 nights this simple, Mediterranean style hotel.
Cafe with Mediterranean food but very slow service- food was good.
Bedroom very simple, no tv, A/c or fan; felt a little damp and a fan would have been welcome.
Wet room, hot water- (had to run water for a while)
Dirty glasses in my room.
The rooms are set back from the road so no traffic noise, call to prayer loud and the local dog was very vocal late at night.
Twin room, beds firm.
Room clean
WiFi in lobby
All staff very friendly.
Breakfast al a carte.
Good location easy walk into town.-turn left out of the entrance.
Although on the ground floor I had a balcony with a pleasant garden view.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

What an excellent location! We were greeted warmly by staff and taken to our bright, clean room with balcony on the third floor (lots of steps!). We could see for miles and the views were fantastic. The staff were there to help wiith anything, from organising taxis to advising on location and what to do. The only gripe was the cafe wasn't up to much, overpriced and wasn't nice food. So i wouldnt recommend eating there, go into Thekaddy itself and eat at one of the cheaper places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We had a great room right at the top with amazing views. The room was clean and even had an actual warm shower (the only one I had in India!) The staff were so friendly, everyone was always smiling and couldnt do enough to help.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor one for some great views of the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#21 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
4.4 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#30 of 43 in Thekkady
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrissie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrissie's Hotel

Property: Chrissie's Hotel
Address: By-Pass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrissie's is a small, friendly hotel set amidst gardens and natural teak forests in a quiet part of Thekkady village, Kerala, South India. Its well-appointed rooms, pretty garden and the relaxing ambiance of its rooftop vegetarian restaurant provide the perfect, peaceful location from which to explore the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The yoga studio with its wooden floor and reaching mountain and forest views, combined with moderate temperatures make Chrissie's a wonderful place for retreats and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chrissie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrissies Hotel Thekkady
Chrissie's Hotel Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing