We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Comfortable pleasant stay. . They gave us a very warm welcome, good food, property tour was excellent.Their activities include cooking demo and cultural dance which was quite interesting. Also a nice evening dance show as well as a cooking session by the in house chef.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmevj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in Greenwoods for 2 nights in the month of Feb. They provide an excellent comfortable stay as we expected.
What to say, from the garden staff to top manager level, everyone was with a pleasant smile. We never felt that we are away from our home.
They gave us a very warm welcome, good food, property tour etc. Their activities include cooking demo and cultural dance which was quite interesting. Coffee at ambaraa is really amazing, the hanging bridge is little bit scary but we enjoyed. The pool was well maintained and the children had special section to swim. (You have to carry swim suite). Thanks to the entire team for giving us such a wonderful memorable experience...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drKiran468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I was suggested this property by ESTIRE Holiday travel company, I reached the hotel from mumbai around 2.5 hours drive ..
1) Welcome ; The welcome was warm with a traditional way. At reception formalities were done immediately and one person accompanied till the room.

2) Room & bathroom :: the one I took 1902 was good, premium room. Having bedroom on a floor above.. Connecting to ground floor. Room was big, neat. With all equipped wifi, fridge, toiletries required l. All first class quality. Bathroom is big and interiors was done pretty well.

3) Property & Inhouse activities : property is big, having garden area, tree coffee shop, rabbits , inhouse KErela Saree and dhoti teaching, karhakali dance show (30 mins) and cooking. However the garden must be made beautiful with more colourful flowers and play equipment kids friendly (plastic) etc.


4) Resturant / f&B : I must say the Resturant service and food taste is superb. My bipin is the man and his team is really good. They cooked delicious food every day from breakfast till dinner. Many varieties and menu is having huge list of items to taste.

5) Staff :I have never seen such a polite staff , smiling, cooperative , and carrying .. I seriously mean it.. Me and my family felt so pampered as they attended us nicely and listen to our demands properly. Hats off to the staff like mr bipin , the front desk, the ladies who handled my baby during my dinner lunch etc..


6) swimming pool : well cleaned, attendant also available.. Water is too good as they are cleaned every day every min during day time.

This is one property which has given 200% satisfaction to me during my stay.. Excellent, superb and marvellous..

Keep it up guys..! I recommend all to this property worth it.. JAIN food available..


Few suggestion : 1) make hot water more hotter .. 2) increase the last timing like breakfast 11 , lunch 3.30 , dinner : 10.30 since In holiday people tend to do things in peace of time..

Recommended for honey moon couples, group, family, senior citizen:

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Veer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Absolutely loved the place. Stayed there with my family, 5 adults and 2 kids last summer. Its a very nice cosy hotel with all the amenities that one would need. They have a gym, a nice pool, a foosball table and a treehouse coffee shop. Also a nice evening dance show as well as a cooking session by the in house chef.

Rooms are neat n clean & room service is prompt. Restaurant is also quite decent though a bit over priced. A simple meal can also set you back considerably if taken here. But overall, still i would rate it as an excellent value for money option other if meals are taken outside. overall loved my stay here and would definitely wont mind staying here if i happen to visit again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sogg_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Awesome resort.. Within the city we feel like we are in the heaven. Perfect location. Kids friendly resort.. We shade there with our 18months and 5yrs old kids. Staff is full of hospitality.. Full of manners and extremely helpful. We celebrate our daughter's 6th birthday here.. She got a wonde
rfull gift and lots of wishes from the staff too. Tree house coffee bar is a nice concept.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank SunaliModi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed for a night(with family) in Greenwoods and it was awesome in all aspects.
The best property around the town.
It has great green surroundings and very close to nature.
Staff is friendly and food is nice, breakfast provided is terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen_sisodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Went back to Green Woods in Feb 2013 after a very short but excellent stay in Feb 2011 & was greatly disappointed in the level of customer service. The Front Desk staff (except for the very tall night shift gentleman) were rude & uncooperative. The saving was the A/Vedic doctor who was sympathetic to our situation & tried his very best to help us. Thank goodness there are many other resorts in the area as I will never, never patronize this establishment again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 44 in Thekkady
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#19 of 44 in Thekkady
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 44 in Thekkady
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: £87 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing