We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent & comfort stay”
Review of Highland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Hotel
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent & comfort stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

It is a nice hotel near to central rly stn, bus stand, ktdc office.room was spacious & clean. Bathroom was big & clean staff were also co operative.Padmnabham swamy temple is at walking distance of half km.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pranav_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    41
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
9
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

As this is India, i am quite happy with the room, and you should not compare with the hotel in other country. toilet st one ill ways to improve, anyhow if you are not too picky, this hotel should be ok for your short staying. one more thing most of the attraction is in walkable range close to train station as well. you dont need to take rickshaw or anything to get there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Hennessy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

After nearly 15 years, we happened to take lunch at this place. The food quality is the same and v. Good. One not to miss the "fish curry meals" where we can have the non-veg fish curry as well as the usual veg meals items with papad and 2 vegetarian side dish at one go. We always loved the brown rice meals. It is one restaurant that has tasty food at not-so-expensive price. The location is also central. The briyani too was good. One can try the food here even though they stay in nearby hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velvet444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We often visit the restaurant in Highland Hotel (never stayed in the hotel as I lived in Thiruvananthapuram). This is one of the best restaurant in the city. Good food as well worth the price. Its less expensive compared to other hotels of same standard. Food is very tasty especially the biriyanis and fish dishes.
Only thing I don't like is its very crowded. Its always crowded and if you arrive late, most fish dishes won't be available.
Location is in the heart of the city near the railway station and bus stand (and a movie theater). The area is very crowded and its very difficult to find a good restaurant or hotel especially in the hot weather. This is one restaurant we could always depend upon as other nearby restaurants are not good for family. I usually went with my freinds.
I have visited many times and had great experience. But two times the staff behaved arrogantly.
But considering the tasty food, I would always go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumyVinod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The plus points of this hotel are- a good central location & clean, spacious rooms. However I would NOT recommend staying here for 3 simple reasons- 1.) both the beds in my room had the thinnest mattresses I have ever had the misfortune to come across..this coupled with the loud bell service made sure that I couldn't sleep properly all night.. 2.) I used the telephone in my room to make one call to a toll free no and 4 calls to my folks in chandigarh..for this service they charged me 636 rupees which was absolutely unreasonable..even if you charge 3 rupees per minute, it could not have crossed 300 rupees..when I asked for a summary they gave me one which had no mention of the call durations or the charges applied per minute. 3.) the staff of this hotel is neither courteous nor polite and seem least interested in answering your queries..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prateek_mahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels

Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After a long gap visited this hotel once again and got the same warm and cordial reception by the staff. It is very close to Railway station. It is a good option for "on the run people". Honestly chair covers needs some change. Service was very prompt and advice on menu was also good. Travel desk was very helpful on service and charges. All types of cards are accepted by this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANJAYSATHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Highland Hotel was a clean and neat place to spent for a day. The staff is friendly and prompt. It is very close to main city, just across is the railway station, walkable distance to M.G Road. Pure vegetarian restaurant is also available in Highland Park, just opposite. On the whole, it is a good hotel to stay with family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roopaganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#54 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#30 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samrat Hotel
Samrat Hotel
#74 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Treebo Adrak
Treebo Adrak
#16 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaithram Hotel
Chaithram Hotel
#72 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Property: Highland Hotel
Address: Manjalikulam Road | Thampanoor, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing