We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now an Ayuverdic Spa”

Wilson Tourist Home
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilson Tourist Home
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good boarding House in basic Indian style, but rooms have a large clean working fridge, fans and A/C (also working). The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size with comfortable beds.
The area inside the hotel is pleasant and the guests tend to be repeat visitors so there is a pleasant atmosphere. The furnishings do tend more to shabby chic than chic but the staff are good, the atmosphere pleasant and whilst it is about 50 metres from the beach it is quiet.
If you are used to India it is for you. If you want four or five star bite the bullet and go to the Taj.

Room Tip: Around the pool is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easyroller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed (2 couples) here for 2 nights.The two rooms we had were slightly grotty, tho had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area.- which was also very pleasant
Several things didn't work (eg aircon) so the staff moved us next door the next day into a very nice room - much more the standard we were expecting, so we were very happy and enjoyed our stay.There wasn't another room available so our friends stayed put - much to their disappointment. The staff were pleasant - meet us where the road ended and carried our bags to the hotel a few hundred metres away (and back when we left) . The hotel was located in a small alley just off the beach. Was quiet and very handy to the beach, good eateries (the upstairs cafe just prior to the alley way - Swiss Cafe was good - we had bacon, rosti, eggs - a great change from indian!!) and had a very enjoyable evening and good food (prawns and lobster) at "Fusion". We really enjoyed the beach which was a sheltered bay with lots of cafes, shops and restaurants along it. Good place for getting clothes made - I used the tailor in the alley going to Wilson Tourist House and another one at the other end of the beach and was very happy with the quality and pricing

Room Tip: Note - I have marked the room average - the first room was below average, and the one next door was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I'm a bit surprised about the previous reviews - we really enjoyed our stay at Wilson Tourist Home. We paid R1500 a night, stayed for 6 days and got a very large room which was nicely decorated in turquoise with dark wood furniture. Our bathroom was also large and clean with plenty of hot water. We had a balcony with 2 nice wooden chairs and a table as well as a hanging basket chair. Although the pool was quite small it was clean and we didn't even use it as we were so close t the beach. The owner was friendly (although we did get a bit sick of him asking us to go and have a massage in the hotel spa)
I do think we could probably have got it a bit cheaper - everything price can be haggled in India - but overal we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emskiebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Coming to Trivandrum by bus we were picked up by local rickshaw and recommended to stay in Wilson’s hotel – Kovalam beach, 15 km from the central bus station. Offered price was 1500 for AC room. No doubt – rickshaw driver is in the net ;) But Kovalam beach was on the trace so..

Hotel is if fact divided in 3 different standard facilities. Near the pool some low located rooms – the poorest part smelling wet; main building – take a room upstairs; finally, the best part – a room with view on the beach and Indian ocean. Anyway, you will spend no more than 1 minute to reach the beach from any part of the facilities.

Pool is rather small and contains not very transparent water but some people prefer it than the ocean (?).We do not. The ocean collects local cloak but still brings better impression than the pool. Internal yard with some flowers and trees looks good but sandy paths make your room sandy as well. Room facilities are poor, old and odd. We spend 1 night in lower class room and then moved to sea view room located in small house on main 'promenade', much better indeed. Hot water and fridge give a lot. Big balcony adds some charm.

Mr. Wilson’s deal was 2000 per night what is obviously overpriced but if you can afford it is not a bad deal – we think only about sea view room. Other rooms are worth not more than 500-1000 rupees. We spent there only 4 nights so not a problem.

Breakfast is served in very dirty place ( a patio) and it is probably weakest point of Mr. Wilson’s offer. Food is acceptable, cook tries his best but dirty cups, knifes and tables take away morning glory – what a story!

People are nice there and working with energy not usual in India – Mr. Wilson whipping whole time ;)

Summary - nice place, probably even beautiful if you do not care about hygienic level.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Affordable hotel in the beach location Kovalam. Payed Rs. 700 per night. The room is large, but not too well maintaned. Especially the bathroom, the fittings were rusty, and water supply was not consistent. The contact was friendly, but there was not a lot of staff around. Location is OK, the beach is very near, but there are no views. The pool was decent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AmanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sylviane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
7.5 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#29 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
27 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#6 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
999 reviews
7.3 mi away
Apollo Dimora Hotel
Apollo Dimora Hotel
#5 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
896 reviews
8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
753 reviews
8.1 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Tourist Home

Address: Lighthouse Beach | Backside Nelakanta Hotel, Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: £7 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Wilson Tourist Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing