We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oasis”

Wilson Tourist Home
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilson Tourist Home
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“oasis”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Good fairly basic hotel right in the middle of tourist area 50 yards from the sea front .Rooms are spacious and have a nice balcony.Beds comfy air con. works, large clean fridge. Good value for money,

Room Tip: 1st floor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supermarion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
W Lancs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good boarding House in basic Indian style, but rooms have a large clean working fridge, fans and A/C (also working). The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size with comfortable beds.
The area inside the hotel is pleasant and the guests tend to be repeat visitors so there is a pleasant atmosphere. The furnishings do tend more to shabby chic than chic but the staff are good, the atmosphere pleasant and whilst it is about 50 metres from the beach it is quiet.
If you are used to India it is for you. If you want four or five star bite the bullet and go to the Taj.

Room Tip: Around the pool is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyroller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed (2 couples) here for 2 nights.The two rooms we had were slightly grotty, tho had a nice balcony overlooking the pool area.- which was also very pleasant
Several things didn't work (eg aircon) so the staff moved us next door the next day into a very nice room - much more the standard we were expecting, so we were very happy and enjoyed our stay.There wasn't another room available so our friends stayed put - much to their disappointment. The staff were pleasant - meet us where the road ended and carried our bags to the hotel a few hundred metres away (and back when we left) . The hotel was located in a small alley just off the beach. Was quiet and very handy to the beach, good eateries (the upstairs cafe just prior to the alley way - Swiss Cafe was good - we had bacon, rosti, eggs - a great change from indian!!) and had a very enjoyable evening and good food (prawns and lobster) at "Fusion". We really enjoyed the beach which was a sheltered bay with lots of cafes, shops and restaurants along it. Good place for getting clothes made - I used the tailor in the alley going to Wilson Tourist House and another one at the other end of the beach and was very happy with the quality and pricing

Room Tip: Note - I have marked the room average - the first room was below average, and the one next door was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I'm a bit surprised about the previous reviews - we really enjoyed our stay at Wilson Tourist Home. We paid R1500 a night, stayed for 6 days and got a very large room which was nicely decorated in turquoise with dark wood furniture. Our bathroom was also large and clean with plenty of hot water. We had a balcony with 2 nice wooden chairs and a table as well as a hanging basket chair. Although the pool was quite small it was clean and we didn't even use it as we were so close t the beach. The owner was friendly (although we did get a bit sick of him asking us to go and have a massage in the hotel spa)
I do think we could probably have got it a bit cheaper - everything price can be haggled in India - but overal we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emskiebeebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
227 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Coming to Trivandrum by bus we were picked up by local rickshaw and recommended to stay in Wilson’s hotel – Kovalam beach, 15 km from the central bus station. Offered price was 1500 for AC room. No doubt – rickshaw driver is in the net ;) But Kovalam beach was on the trace so..

Hotel is if fact divided in 3 different standard facilities. Near the pool some low located rooms – the poorest part smelling wet; main building – take a room upstairs; finally, the best part – a room with view on the beach and Indian ocean. Anyway, you will spend no more than 1 minute to reach the beach from any part of the facilities.

Pool is rather small and contains not very transparent water but some people prefer it than the ocean (?).We do not. The ocean collects local cloak but still brings better impression than the pool. Internal yard with some flowers and trees looks good but sandy paths make your room sandy as well. Room facilities are poor, old and odd. We spend 1 night in lower class room and then moved to sea view room located in small house on main 'promenade', much better indeed. Hot water and fridge give a lot. Big balcony adds some charm.

Mr. Wilson’s deal was 2000 per night what is obviously overpriced but if you can afford it is not a bad deal – we think only about sea view room. Other rooms are worth not more than 500-1000 rupees. We spent there only 4 nights so not a problem.

Breakfast is served in very dirty place ( a patio) and it is probably weakest point of Mr. Wilson’s offer. Food is acceptable, cook tries his best but dirty cups, knifes and tables take away morning glory – what a story!

People are nice there and working with energy not usual in India – Mr. Wilson whipping whole time ;)

Summary - nice place, probably even beautiful if you do not care about hygienic level.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Affordable hotel in the beach location Kovalam. Payed Rs. 700 per night. The room is large, but not too well maintaned. Especially the bathroom, the fittings were rusty, and water supply was not consistent. The contact was friendly, but there was not a lot of staff around. Location is OK, the beach is very near, but there are no views. The pool was decent.

  • Liked — Price, proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Maintainence
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AmanGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.5 mi away
Shirleys Beach
Shirleys Beach
#41 of 52 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilson Aruyvedic Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#18 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pappukutty Beach Resort
Pappukutty Beach Resort
#37 of 52 in Kovalam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Tourist Home

Property: Wilson Tourist Home
Address: Lighthouse Beach | Backside Nelakanta Hotel, Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Wilson Tourist Home Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing