We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Above Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Admittedly i had high expectations from my first time visit to this Taj property. The staff was pleasant. I had made a late check in and requested a later check out but this was not granted.

The room was spacious. The 2 nights i spent at the hotel, i did not find the bathroom to be cleaned satisfactorily. Location of the hotel was big plus point. Very close to the railway station and is located in the city center. Surprisingly no noise, my room was the city view. Lot of eateries nearby. I ordered room service once and noticed that the price was lesser than the Gateway hotel :)

The breakfast spread was varied every day and suitable for all tastes. The pool looked very inviting but unfortunately i did not use it.

Pros: Location and quality food
Cons: No free internet for the price one pays for the room!, cleanliness is not up to the mark

I stayed last year at a 3 star hotel in Trivandrum for half the price and felt like a queen. Since the reviews of that hotel has dropped in the trip advisor i did not book there. May be next time i will visit that hotel again instead of Taj.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagaboundgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    303
    84
    23
    13
See reviews for
222
123
54
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Convenient location and absolutely superb service are hallmarks of this property. We really enjoyed our short stay here. Enjoyed the swimming and the spa treatment by very pleasant staff and the 'Dum Biryani' was awesome. Rooms are neat, clean and well kept. Would love to go there again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here in August. Had a fabulous time..
Rooms were very nicely appointed and very clean.. The staff were just so obliging in every way.
Restaurants were excellent and pool area very very nice. Beach area walks are excellent also the restaurant in that area has a wonderful setting Nd great seafood.

Not sure about the jeweller in the main lobby area. I bought a stone from him but he told me he couldn't give me a certificate for same as he didn't have the paper work.!!
Would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirdiff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Excellent hotel for stay and comfort. Food is too good. Service is typical of Taj - absolutely superb and they make the stay enjoyable and comfortable. Worth staying and enjoying. The fish platter that is served by the cook - Mr. Debajit Das is too good.

Room Tip: Nothing specific
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is conveniently located.when one enters the doors of this illustrious hotel, one is transported to old world fixtures, a great mix of Indian and Western architecture, as well as friendly smiles
The rooms are well maintained, and spacious. The buffet breakfast has very good spread (Fresh breakfast fare with Asian and Western influences are abundant)
staff are friendly and helpful.
Simply amazed by service and quality :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atul_mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Expecting a lot about Taj vivanta brand , we were disappointed

The hotel shows sign of ageing though the staff were courteous and helpful ,the rooms were average

The breakfast had lot choices but the it tasted bad and quality of food from a vivanta property fell short.

Good for a short business visit , can look for other properties

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shivapaavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Your experience at the Vivanta Trivandrum seems to have been rather unpleasant going by the feedback given by you. May I request you to give us a little more information in terms of when during the month of September 2013 you had stayed and may be throw a little more light on what kind of food you had tasted, as your feedback was negative in that area as well. Going by the positive and encouraging words given by many other guests, I am extremely concerned that your stay turned out to be rather unexceptional. Like I had mentioned above, I would respectfully urge you to write to me in order to set right things if there were any. My mail id is murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com

I look forward to your visit once again and promise that you will have many good memories to share.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a night in Sep 2013. I should say it was wonderful stay and had a relaxing time. The restaurant was awesome with very decent spread food items. The pub too offered good drinks and cocktails. The room service too was very good. Special mention is about the housekeeping. I truly appreciate and thank Mukesh (as I remember) from housekeeping for the wonderful towel art to wish me for Onam. Truly a Taj expereince.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevSarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to note that your stay for a night in the month of September, 2013 was indeed wonderful. Your good words about the restaurant and our pub besides room service and housekeeping only strengthens our resolve to do better. Your special mention about Mukesh from Housekeeping for the towel art service that he presented you with, is appreciated and will also be recognised in an appropriate forum.

We look forward to your future visits to the Vivanta Trivandrum!

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.3 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Lake Palace
Hotel Lake Palace
#5 of 90 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Address: Vazhuthacaud Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most happening restaurants which open to the lobby to create an enticing food zone offering the best in world cuisine. Technology is woven through it all. Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, has all the entertainment and connectivity options today's traveller requires. Become a part of our world. Feel the pulse of an international business and conferencing destination. Experience the buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing