We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat the location”
Review of Trivandrum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trivandrum Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Trivandrum hotel had been renovated to the present state with in a couple of years. They claim to be in business from as early as 1934. The hotel is in pretty good shape considering the lineage, the corridors are adorned with caricatures and portraits.

The location is next to the Secretariate. Separated by a single line one-way road.

Let me sort down the Pluses and Minuses

Pluses:
-------
1) Location , This place is centrally located.
2) The rooms are pretty big for the decent tariff.
3) The staff are very accommodative.
4) Free WIFI
5) Great Restaurant, they got a 24 Hour take out center and a Juice parlor as well.

Minuses:
-----------
1) The bath rooms are not that accommodating and I was able to find a couple of roaches to give me company. Not a big thing though.
2) Car parking ain't that spacious, but can be exempted considering the proximity to the road and location

Do I recommend it for a decent stay : YES.

Room Tip: Go for the AC rooms. If you want Early check-in or a late check-out do inform the staff well in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harikrishnan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in probably heart of city - off to MG Road. The staff is good and co-operative. Rooms are decent and organised.
Overall experience was pleasant and simple.
Someone may find hotel bit congested, but should definitely check & judge. Definitely good for a day's stay, at least.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank harit_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel would be perfectly ok as a business hotel for couple nights stay if it weren't for 2 problems. We were initially given a room that was badly water damaged and stank. We complained and were moved. This was an improvement but still had water stained walls and damp. Second problem was service at reception which was disinterested and unhelpful. Luckily only stayed here 1 night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mr_hudson101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were amazed by the value for money that this hotel provided. Free Wi-Fi, breakfast worth Rs 100 per person as part of the reservation cost and AC all for Rs 1900 was a blessing in disguise! The staff is awesome too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Sapna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ambience : Good if you would like to feel you are going to a classy place!

Staff : Ensure you have a lot of conversational topics in hand as they are slow in getting the food to you.

Food : Nothing much exciting to you average Malayali folks. If you would like to spend a 100 bucks on kanji and cherupayar, this is your place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChilledBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We travelled in Nov 2013. We stayed in this hotel for 2 days and had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff was courteous and helpful. The manager of the non veg restaurant helped us try keralite dishes which were a novelty for us. Mr. Vijay, from the management, was very kind and most co-operative. The only thing that was wanted in the room was a footstool in the bathroom and clothes hook to air the sweaty clothes. The AC was working but the coolness wudnt increase beyond what was already set. However our rooms lay in the shady corner of the hotel so it was cool and comfortable. Tho Hotel gives one a traditional feel and yet is upto date.The south indian thali served during lunch is worth a try. We booked online and got a discount from the hotel on the rates. We had a good stay and we recommend it to other too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashleshanayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

During our last trip to India, we stayed at this hotel. The staff are so very welcoming and our stay there was very enjoyable. Recommend this to anyone who goes to that part of India. Bon Voyage and Happy stay!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank peustace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#21 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
24 reviews
2 mi away
Treebo Adrak
Treebo Adrak
#14 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
110 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ginger Thiruvananthapuram
Ginger Thiruvananthapuram
#10 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keys Select Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
Keys Select Hotel Thiruvananthap...
#6 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samrat Hotel
Samrat Hotel
#80 of 99 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trivandrum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trivandrum Hotel

Address: Y M C A Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: £19 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trivandrum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trivandrum Hotel is located at the doorstep of Kerala’s power center, the Government Secretariat, is more than its enviable street address; it’s a leading pillar of civility that offers accommodation merged with world class restaurants serving the finest ethnic Travancore cuisine for its discerning clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trivandrum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trivandrum Hotel Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing