We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural food for the palate”

Pathayam Naturopathic Food Restaurant
Cuisines: Healthy
Restaurant details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Natural food for the palate”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Try this out and you would keep coming here. This my favourite lunch spot when I am in the city.
Their lunch options of natural meals or fruit meals are excellent. Run by naturopath and so you can feel how good every meal is to your body.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jai2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kitchen is called Pharmacy - So you can guess”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We went there for an experience to see what you get here. As the name says it is naturopathy. Options are very limited. We took the special meals that started with a plate of cut fruits and salad as the first course, followed by four glasses of various colored liquids of which two were identifiable- payasam/kheer and buttermilk.

Next plate you get two/three curries and one chilli chutney. the latter is the only thing that has spice and enough salt. Rice is boiled with dal and vegetables and you get sambar to mix with it. It is perfect if you want to taste/live on a satwik meal, but for me slightly was an 'ok' experience.

Many are regulars I guess. there is very little buzz around. Lots of good advises on food and eating is stuck all over. There are options like fruit meal, normal meal (meal with out the plate of fruits), puttu/payaru..

Good part is that you tummy doesnot crib. I would have liked it if someone had explained what and why I am given what was there in the plate...

Having said all that - will I go here again.. May be I will to check the other meals :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank n_srividhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A natural Food Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The unique restaurant in trivandrum. The food offered in this restaurant is pure and natural, I truly loved the food and enjoyed having the same. You need to try 'Pathayam' atleast once, because if not, you are yet to experience what a 'good' meal is really all about.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LKENNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trivandrum
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great firewood cooked vegetarian food!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A really good place to eat filling, tasty, organic and nourishing food without making a hole in your pocket. I was a regular patron until they employed a differently abled man as a waiter - I felt bad watching him walk with difficulty taking orders and serving food at all the tables. I felt guilty at having to call him over for another helping. Why don't they give him a less strenuous job like at the bill counter where he doesn't have to move around so much? I don't know if he is doing the same thing as I stopped going there a year ago.

Helpful?
2 Thank Diggabigga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique attempt at offering health(y) food”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

If you are looking for a restaurant that is very different from run-of-the-mill kind of eateries, try Pathayam. The food offered (at very reasonable rates) is nutritious and healthy, and avoids all the acidity-causing ingredients. The simple 2 course meal consists of several servings of seasonal fruits (pineapple, water melon, papaya), and a glass of banana juice, followed by a plate of rice, a single roti and cooked vegetables. No water is served.Instead, at least five glasses of different fluids (rasam, buttermilk, payasam, vegetable soup, gooseberry soup). The ambience serves to educate you on several facts about the right methods of preparing and consuming foods that are contiguous with the constitution of the human body. The messages can seem rather overwhelming, but they seem to be based on science and logic. For a unique dining experience that will satisfy your palate and your tummy, and really provide you with plenty of food for thought, Pathayam is highly recommended. BTW, food is to be consumed leisurely. For an extra dose of Vitamin C, request the staff for this 'treat': a nice big gooseberry soaked in sugar syrup, when you pay the bill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adu-tvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pathayam Naturopathic Food Restaurant also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Pathayam Naturopathic Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing