We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault, however!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Bay Beach Resort
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stay here three nights at the end of our months trip in India. Location is like paradise real great beach and beautiful gardens. Staff very friendly. Atmosphere a little strange as we believe this is a top class resort for special treatments so most people are on special treatment programmes. Great place to unwind for short stay or long stay if your requiring the special treatments, think its one of the best in India. We saw no alcohol whilst we were there and we're never offered any so didn't like to ask.

We cannot fault anything, we have given this 5 stars. If your planning to go its not your normal tourist resort and is really geared up for the treatment programmess. Saying all this it isa must to visit for a short period. Also to be fair this was a quiet time of year and may well be different at another time.

Only real negative was the food and drinks were a lot more expensive than other places we stayed and some of these were five star nearly 40% more than some, don't get caught out on thinking its cheap on menu, the local tax is added after. Also the food was nice but not superb like we had in other areas of Indian.

Room Tip: If you go out of season the sea is very rough, therefore it can be very loud at night, sounds like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Cliveparkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

I had initially booked this resort for our stay at trivandrum. I was overwhelmingly disappointed after seeing this property. The rooms were stuffy, a really really small TV (from 80's I believe). The beach is in front is just too steep to walk into for non swimmers. It is 18 ms away from city with really really small inaccessible beach and small rooms with little TV's...no bath tub even at this price??. To be honest I think their rating is highly undeserved. We ended up staying at turtle on the beach, which was miles ahead on all aspects and at lower price. You can check my review there too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank harry_x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 June 2012

Dear Guest,

"We would like to thank you for your review about Coconut Bay Beach Resort in TripAdvisor. We value the feedback we receive from each and every guest during their stay with us.

However, it is observed that you had not stayed with us for enjoying our hospitality services and Ayurveda facilities.

We have been providing excellent services to ensure that our guests visit us again and again.

We assure you that, if you had stayed with us at least for a day, you would have got more time to know about our excellent quality, service and of course we truly believe that you would have had a satisfactory and pleasant stay with us.

Once again we thank you for your opinion regarding the rooms. We will ensure that in due course, the necessary up gradations will be done.

Hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the near future."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The journey from Thiruvnthapuram Airport to the resort via narrow lanes had left my family a bit exhausted. The entry to the resort was quite unassuming - and there was an element of doubt how things would be...

Well, everyone's jaws dropped as soon as we entered the property. Beautiful location. Clean and well maintained lawns, excellent arrangements and most importantly - secluded and silent. Just what we were looking for, to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Mumbai. If you, dear reader, are looking for a place to unwind - do not look further. Of course you may find better locations along the coastline and spend a fortune for a good view - Here, the ambience and service makes it worth every penny you spend.

This is actually an ayurvedic resort - frequented mostly by Germans and other foreigners, who prefer long stays and medicine. I had read some reviews that this is not the right place for a family. In my opinion, that depends on what you are looking for. If you are, looking for a constant party atmosphere, crowded pools and lots of activities for children - this may not be the right place. This is a place to relax, unwind and spend quality time with yourself and your family. They do provide a baby sitter at a nominally extra cost- if anyone needs the service and the staff seemed well-trained in their duties.

In the end they gave me a feedback form to fill - where they asked suggestions on what they need to improve. I was so impressed that I could not find anything worth mentioning. The service, ambience, location, cleanliness, food etc were more than worthy of the amount they charged. In fact, during late evening, we left the children in the hammock near the cottage and requested a waiter to keep an eye, while we had a short walk around. Returned after 30mins to find the waiter standing outside and actually looking at the children. Stayed there on the night of 7th May 2012. Will I visit again - definitely! In fact I may just make a trip to Trivandrum to stay at this place and not go anywhere else for 2-3 days.

Room Tip: Choose the AC cottages nearer to the water/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vanderlooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was our third visit and we were again impressed by the great location and the excellent food. Some of the bungalows start showing some traces of use but altogether we find it still very attractive. The personnel at the restaurant is very friendly and efficient, the same is true when we talk about the ayurveda center and the yoga teachers. This resort is really something special - no wonder we met many repeat visitors .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank renfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at Coconut from 28.01 to 04.02.2012. The food was very nice. Not having booked an ayurveda package we could eat everything from ayurveda Vata, Pita and kapha food to à la carte dishes. All fruit juices and water were included, so we can say it was almost an all inclusive (alcoholic drinks are not allowed but you can always find a bottle of beer to keep in the fridge).
We had some ayurvedic treatments which were wonderful: I enjoyed the syncronized massage and the foot massage very much.
All the waiters were very kind and helpful. The room service is very popular: so, when we wanted a cup of coffee or a fresh pineapple juice, we called and we could enjoy our drinks directly on our veranda.
If you want to eat lobster (not in the all inclusive as well as prawns), I recommend to have it served on your private veranda and have a nice private and romantic candle light dinner.

We booked a superior deluxe villa ... the most expensive accomodation, believing we had it all for ourselves. In fact, the villa is double, so next to us we had other people. No problem about that, after all, but it was a disappointment. And then, room 201 is situated just next to a brick wall. When we had a look, we found out that beyond the wall there is a poultry shelter. Luckily, no bad smell came up, but it attracted a lot of crows who flew down to share food with hens!

I just wonder why, villa n. 208 which costs the same price is a single villa!

Anyway our bedroom was very large, the king size bed perfect, very big, comfortable, clean and soft. Just perfect.
Some advice for the management: the bedroom is so large that a bit more furniture will be appreciated: a chest of drawers for example and some hook on the wall to hang bathrobes... and then a good floor painting will help too.

Another thing that it was a bit disappontoing, it was the rough sea (no mention of this anywhere). The weather was just fine but you can't swim in the sea: too dangerous. Very high waves and the sand seems to be swallowing you when you try to take a swim.
The beach is small but very clean as everything else in the resort. Nearby there is a another larger beach but it is very dirty (we even saw a dead rat!).

When we went to Kovalam beach for sightseeing and shopping we found out that the sea is not that rough there. Kovalam main beach is very very nice. Lots of nice and cheap sall shops, too.
Anyway we preferred the quietness of Coconut (despite the crows...).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LidiaRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have stayed last month Oct 2011, the resort is very good for stay and relaxation, also would be ideal for people like to have no disturbance.

Get ayurveda treatments, do yoga (morning) and meditation (evening). GUESTS: 80-90% of the people are German/Austrian mostly undergoing ayurveda treatments. QUALITY of the service is excellent: RECEPTION staff is kind, available and helpful.
The waves and riptides are very strong
LOCATION Very good, in front of the sea with a private beach. Very nice and bright, not dark as other resorts of the area

This resort is near to the Backwaters excursion starting place. (around 30-40 mins.)
WI-FI is avaliable (tough sometimes the connection is slow) in the area around the reception and there is an aircon internet room with 3 pc always available.

SECURITY The whole property is protected 24hrs by GUARDS, tough you'd never feel unsecure even without them.


Food is fine, Airtel N/W not so good may be bcoz so near to beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NRaviKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I would not recommend the Coconut Bay Beach Resort for a family vacation spot. It is an ayurvedic spa located far from any tourist sites (20-30+ minute taxi ride). The beach at the resort would be good for sunbathing at best, but the waves and riptides are much too strong for swimming; the pool was dirty as well. There are no other restaurants within a 20 minute car ride, and the food at the resort is average. However, if you are looking for an ayurvedic spa and days filled with reading books, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 December 2011

Dear Alison S,

"Thank you for taking the time to bring this problem to our attention. We are really sorry that our description regarding Zambi's Place has mislead you and on basis of your comment we have changed the room description about Zambi's Place in our website. We do hope that we will have the chance to serve you again."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
2.1 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#11 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
625 reviews
0 mi away
Vakkom Palazzo
Vakkom Palazzo
#37 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
18 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hotel Lake Palace
Hotel Lake Palace
#9 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
538 reviews
8.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#6 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
999 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#61 of 104 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort

Address: Mulloor PO | Vizhinjam, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: £2,212 - £6,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Atrapalo so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Beach Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Coconut Bay Beach Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing