We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of relationship!”
Review of Orion Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orion Beach Resort
Khajuraho, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“A place of relationship!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is a hotel that you can't forget. I was there in 2007 with my wife in my honeymoon trip and visited again for some religious ritual. We have many option to stay, but we decided to stay in the same hotel because it has nice location, safe place, nice people with full of service ready to manage the things.
In the last trip, the tour was organized by a travel agency and in this time George was with us as driver, guide and as friend.
Hope for better luck for him and his mother.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuragShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    28
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Orion Beach Resort is a hotel as well as a home away from home. George and his mother Leela manage this combination so well, both very professional with a genuine care for their guest. We really appreciated the care and the service being it lovely breakfasts on our terrace or the attentiveness towards our children. We were several families enjoying the hospitality of the Orion Beach Resort, enjoying our first class view of the beach – watching fishermen in the morning pulling in their nets, then beach boys set the sun beds and the nicely coloured parasols and the different bathers, swimmers and surfers arriving the beach. By then, we were on the beach ourselves, enjoying the sea. The hotel is next door to all you need in Kovalam –beach, shops and restaurants. This beach town also have a surf club, Kovalam Surf Club, and our teenagers enjoyed their services as well.
The rooms and the place are nicely furnished and absolutely clean. Beds are with firm mattresses. If something was not working perfectly, sometimes the hot water, a call to the reception of the Orion generated an immediate response in which a young boy quickly ran up the stairs to fix it. Thus, you can fully relax, enjoying your holiday in Kovalam. The hotel owners answered all our questions about the area, helped us organising day trips, and provided us with good advices. The reception and the stairs in front was a hangout for our teenagers, and parents too, using the hotel wifi while chatting with George, neighbouring shop owners, and other guests. We simply loved staying at Kovalam beach and the Orion Beach Resort, and felt very much at home. Wish to be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisbet-Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed 3 weeks in martz 2013 and 2014 at Orion Beach Resort, Kovalam. The beautiful view of the beach that meet you when you open the door to the room is amazing. The hotel is placed directely to the sea which gives you a full beachview. Directly means only 10 meters to the beach. The rooms are nice, clean and have a good size. The staff is so helpfull and allways availabel. I as a female have travelled alone both times - at Orion Beach Resort I feel totally safe because the owner George and his staff take care of you. I can give the best recomendations to George and his hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place was friendly and in a great location. If you just need a plain room with a great balcony, it will be fine but to be honest, it was a little tired. The room was fairly clean but not serviced in my 3 night stay. The furniture was very well used and the synthetic towels seemed to repel water. On the plus side, there was a safe in the room and any review quest received immediate response.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I hope Jerry felt overpriced because he was using a deluxe room with Air-conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have had the most wonderful experience at Orion Beach Resort. The hotel is very nice, clean, well working and the site at the beach with a wonderful view is superior. Whenever I had small wishes they were fulfilled by caring personell. Arrangement of an excursion to the Backwaters with boat ride was arranged simple and satisfactory with the extra surprise that the manager drove me in his car. I have never met such a loving and caring persons as the ones managing this hotel, first and foremost the Manager Geroge and his closest man Renghit.
When I was living at the hotel I met several very nice people who are now my friends and who regularly come back to Orion Beach Resort.
Thank you for three fantastic weeks.
Mats Lindblad

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatsLindblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We choose this hotel after going through review on www.tripadvisor.in The prices offered are best as this is right on the beach having excellent views of sea from the rooms. Hotel has facility of providing breakfast and arranging food from nearby restaurant. Most restaurants and shops are near hotel. We never been to south India, bit worried of landing Thiruvananthpuram air port at 23-00hrs with eight family members, however Mr. George arranged pickup. My mother, my brothers family and my family still remember the days enjoyed there. I recommend this hotel for stay as this is offering best price, excellent location, safe for family and managed well by owner Mr. George. Thanks Mr. George for your hospitality & courtesy during our family stay from 22/12/2013 to 25/12/2013
Regards,
Ashish Srivastava & Manish Srivastava, Lucknow

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adityaarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

It was my second year that I stayed at Orion Beach Resort. It is a family hotel running by George and his mother Lillamma. I am very grateful for their warm hospitality and very friendly reception; they are always at your hand when you need help: call taxi, organize your sightseeing and whatever you have in mind. Orion Beach Resort is the right choice for you who want a hotel close to the beach with a wonderful view and moreover to reasonable price. In addition, the hotel is located very close to almost everything you need: shopping facilities, restaurants, yoga and Agastyaaa Heritage Ayurvedic center etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeorion, Owner at Orion Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thank you sir, we are happy to hear that we made your trip memorable in Kovalam with the accommodation. we expect to see you in the coming years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
7.8 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#26 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawah Beach Resort
Hawah Beach Resort
#27 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Flower Beach Resort
Sea Flower Beach Resort
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
36 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sun Tara Beach Resort
Sun Tara Beach Resort
#58 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Beach Resort

Property: Orion Beach Resort
Address: Lighthouse Beach, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 rooms with 6 additional suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Orion Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Beach Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing