We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Signature Residence
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Rehovot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Spent 2 nights in an AC cottage.
Room was large, clean, and well equipped, but with quite a lot of ants in the room (the staff was very kind, cleaned and helped us to move to another room, but unfortunately it was also with ants).
Location was good, 150m from the beach though with no view (location is 8.738100N, 76.703256E).
Breakfast could be better with just a few toasts and some jam, so we recommend you skip it and head to one of the Cafes on the cliff.
Price was ok (2300 INR)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
28
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Great hotel. Friendly staff, and free Wifi connection. I really enjoyed this hotel. I'ts nice and quiet and 2 minutes walk from the cliff where all the restaurants are.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reizendeOomRoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas period, we got one of the cottages which was 3500rs a night, quite expensive for India, but the room was spotless with really quiet air con, large and very modern with a huge fridge which was great for making mineral water ice cubes. They didn't raise there prices for the Christmas week like pretty much everyone else does in Varkala.

I would recommend staying here, didn't have any bad experiences, it was a few mins from the main drag so away from the noise and people.

The only negative thing I could think of saying is that the layout of the restaurant isn't very appealing, they have plastic table covers and lots of concrete. There are plenty of restaurants with great views very close by, so I think they should do some work on the place to make it an attractive option to make more people eat there.

Apart from the that, the staff are great and the service was also brilliant, they even brought me free sliced lemons for my gin tonics!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyboyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

I stayed for three days at the Signature Residence on the North Cliff of Varkala Beach. My major complaint is that the room was not cleaned once during the entire three days, even though the notice on the inside door stated that the rooms are cleaned daily. I should have complained to the staff; but couldn't be bothered. I breakfast was OK; but nothing speacial. I recommend having breakfast at any of the restaurants on the North Clif. It wil only set you back RS100 and is much better than hotel fare. Whilst I liked the Signature Residence, I recommend that tourists spend a bit more and book a hotel right on the North Cliff as the Signature residence was set in the back from the beach through a maze of foot paths. That's fine in the day; but navigating unlit fot paths at night in India is scary, if not dangerous (rats, snakes, and surprsingly motor scooters!) Varakala Beach is by far the best both the best beach in Kerala and the best area to stay whilst in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We arrived after have received a confirmation on our booking online, however the staff couldt find our reservation when we arrived. Not the best start...

The room was very nice, large and comfy, and our initial impression was very good.

On the second day our doorknob broke, so the door couldn't be locked from the outside, and despite all the staff's promises to fix it, it was never fixed for the entire week of our stay. On the 5th day, the whole handle broke of, so that we had to barricade the door with the coffee table at night to shut the door.

Our room was not cleaned once for our entire stay, despite asking the staff to get it clean, and get us clean towells, this never happend, and our toilet started to smell of elephants in the end, because the toilet leaked to the bathroom floor.

The restaurant didn't have a menu, so when we had to order something, you just had order something and hope they had it. Despite ordering the same menu on several occasions, it was never quite the same, that was served to us, but otherwise, the restaurant staff was very helpfull.

When my husband fell ill, the staff was very helpfull, when we were forced to stay in our room all day, to take care of him. However in the end the bad communication with the staff and lack of cleaning drove me mad, and we moved 10 m down the street to another hotel, for the remainder of our holiday.

I would recommend this hotel, if you only have to stay for a night or two, despite all our difficulty the rooms were very nice upon arrival.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Signature is a very pleasent hotel. We enjoyed this new place - the quietness and the beauty, the very friendly staff and the five star restaurant with its good food and complete service. Lal is a brilliant cook and Sri the perfect waiter and guide. John is helpfull in the reception and all the other emplyes are so fine and kind!
The rooms are spacius and nice and the view and sorroundings are nice and lokal. Very short to all the crowd at the cliff - but nice quiet in behind!
Ole & Rie from Denmark

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RieDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

We stayed at Signature Residents for 11 nights in January 2009. This is a fantastic little hotel in Varkala, clean and safe with a lovely small friendly atmosphere. The location is great as it is only 3 - minute walk from restaurants, shops and about 5 - minute walk from the beach.
We stayed at non a/c cottage which was very well furnished and comfortable. Our cottage was cleaned to perfection every day. There were no problems with hot water at all.
The staff is very - very helpful and friendly. You will never experience such friendly service!!!
We would highly recommend the Signature Residents, it is very good value for money.
We look forward to one day going back to Varkala and going back to the Signature Residents. Thank you for making our stay so special!

Nanni very much once again!

Anneli & Raul

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneliEstonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.1 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.3 mi away
V Resorts - The Bohemian Masala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Black Beach Resort
Black Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Varkala
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Varkala
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Residence

Property: Signature Residence
Address: North Cliff, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Signature Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, quiet and peaceful place with comfortable, clean stylish rooms and independent cottages, nicely situated in a tropical garden to relax and enjoy - that is Signature Residence at North Cliff Varkala, Kerala. With a choice of three unique cottages or well appointed hotel rooms, Signature Residence aims to offer you luxurious comfort and security. Only 2 minutes walk from Varkala's stunning Papanasham Cliffs and beach to Signature Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Signature Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Signature Residence Varkala, Kerala
Signature Residence Hotel Varkala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing