We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous :)”
Review of Casa Eva Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Eva Luna
Ranked #1 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantabulous :)”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

First of all , immense thanks to all the reviewers of this home-stay as we chose it after reading the previous reviews.
This home stay, run by Katrina and Esther is actually a home away from home. We stayed there for 4 days and it was an unforgettable experience. Both the ladies are gems and are doing a wonderful job of running this place in INDIA.
Katrina came herself to receive us as we were unable to locate it. She did everything to make our vacation splendid.

Some key points:

1. This place is slightly off the main cliff and hence very peaceful. The walk to the cliff is hardly 10 mins and nice one. Woodpeckers , sparrows , parrots can be spotted sitting in balcony/veranda.

2. The place is superb. They have maintained the traditional Kerala style with bright color rooms, coconut trees in garden, bamboo chairs in patio. All the rooms are very very clean, comfortable and spacious bathrooms. They provide us with hot water whenever we asked for.
All the rooms are equipped with mosquito nets.

3. Katrina has amazing coordination and organisation skills. Right from the booking of rooms to taxi booking, in-house massage treatment, local sight seeing, information of the restaurants, train reservations ; she handles all by herself and without a glitch. Anything that we needed was arranged by her.

4. Esther - a great cook, lovely and is so full of energy. We tried her pastas, omelette , falafel , lemon rice and Indian cuisine too. Everything was prepared fresh and she made it so delicious that we could not resist but asking for more. Its incredible to see how she can prepare anything so authentically.

5. In house doctor consultation is available and the massages are very relaxing and refreshing.

Both ladies are great to have a conversation with. Our late evenings were spent chatting with Katrina and Esther. They have so much information and knowledge to share.
I just admire the endless energy they have ensuring a comfortable stay of their guests.

This is one of the best home-stay to stay and is very much recommended to spend the vacations staying here.
Thanks a ton Katrina and Esther !!

See you very soon :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
142
67
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I spent 3 nights at Casa Eva Luna in August. It is truly a gem. Here are some things that made my trip spectacular:

*Esther and Katrina are lovely hosts, who were so helpful and caring. They really made it feel as though I was at home.
*Esther's cooking was delicious.
*The homestay is away from the cliff, which is actually fantastic. You feel like you're a bit away from the tourist bustle.
*The rooms are very clean and spacious. The decor is bright and beautiful.
*It's a very relaxed, chilled out space. The garden is gorgeous and it was fantastic to sit on the balconies.

I highly recommend this guesthouse.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We traveled for 7 weeks in South India and Casa Eva Luna was our favourite place to stay. The owners are two Spanish ladies, Katrina and Ester. They were doing an incredible job to make us feel very welcome in their house. They treated us like familymembers and while Katrina helped us so much with booking trains, sending parcels and other travelchallenges in India, Ester is an excellent cook. She is doing great breakfast (try the spanish "egg revolta"), and on order she does dinner as well. One time she spent half a day doing a fantastic (and very authentic) Paella for us.
The rooms were spotless clean and equipped with mozzynets. We lived in the "sunroom", and it was lovely to wake up with the sound of goats and birds of rural India. From the little veranda you can spot tons of woodpeckers, parrots and if you are lucky, you can see the mungo strolling through the garden while sipping Esters delicious mangolassie...

We also tried two days of Ayurveda, which is done in the Villa. The massages are oily, but very relaxing. We had Shiodara (oil flowing on your forehead) for the first time, and loved it. Iris had stomach problems at the time, and the Ayurveda doctor gave her some natural medicine and the problems were gone.

The whole property is a bit hidden, but as we booked, Katrina offered to pick us up at Krishna supermarket, so it wasn't a problem. It is a 15 minute stroll to the cliff, which suited us perfectly, because you are a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the many hawkers there.

We ended up staying longer in Varkala and returned to Casa Eva Luna at the end of our trip to spend the remaining days before flying out of India. It was definetely the best accomodation we had on our India trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomIris159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Simply a lovely time from start to finish --- charming, clean, comfortable accommodations, AND tasty food -- the best lodgings I encountered my entire time in India. Hostesses Esther and Katrina made me feel right at home from day one. Both know the ins and outs of Varkala -- they even helped me find someone to fix my shoe when it broke!

The relaxing and low key location is such that I truly felt as if I'd gotten away from it all. A short walk took me to a beautiful beach where I could swim, and my boat ride to Golden Island was a real highlight. Plus BONUS: Casa Eva Luna offers Ayurvedic treatments which I thoroughly enjoyed (and desperately miss!) When (not if) I return to India, Casa Eva Luna is a must for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

was one of the best places we stayed while our trip through india.

two lovely spanish women run the guest house. It feels like home to stay on that place. they are really cool, it s like being on a friends place.

casa eva luna means:

very nice clean rooms ( maybe the cleanest in hole india), with a nice garden.

shanti relaxed atmosphere

very good, fresh and healthy food

honest, friendly, heartful people

you also can get a ayurvedic treatment in the guset house, there is a special room.
so you can lay straight into your bed after the massage (was the best i had in india- felt relaxed, five years younger and had an amazing sleep).


awsome place!!! five points!!!

make a reservation in advance, cause its often full booked!

enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthiask264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a midnight pick up from Trivandrum airport in an ambassador taxi organised by Casa Eva Luna, an hours ride thru the country side to the comfort of our guest house. Each morning we would awake to the rural sounds of birds, goats, cows and chooks and then excellent coffee and fruit salad on the balcony. I also recommend the huevos revueltos[Spanish eggs] with home cooked bread. Our room was comfortable with a great color scheme and mosquito net. Katrina and Esther were the best of hosts, offering lots of info on the area and transport, brollys when it rained and helped us to book our trains for further travel. Our guest house was in a quiet area with a pleasant walk to the Varkala cliffs beach/cafe tourist strip. It was a great 5 night stay. Thank you Katrina and Esther to a great start to our holiday and we hope to return again. I recommend Casa Eva Luna as a lovely place for a relaxing and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

One of the best places we stayed in India. The owners were very helpful and eager to show the nice places on the cliff. It was no problem for them lending us their parasol and towels for the beach, which made it feel very homely to stay in Casa Eva Luna. They also offer laundry service and have several contacts for tours and tips in other cities and towns.
The breakfast was really nice with fresh juices and fruit salads.
During our stay it was a bit more noisy (at night) than usually because of a festival but we slept just fine. Only downside could be a cold shower, but who needs that with the ocean just a 15min walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorenFrielink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Eva Luna

Property: Casa Eva Luna
Address: Off Kurrakkani Road | Near Sanjeevani Ayurveda Hospital, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Eva Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Eva Luna is the name of Kerala Konnections homestay, located in Varkala, a short distance from the beach and cliff. The house has two floors and is located on a 3000 square metre plot. It has two double rooms on each floor, each decorated in a different style that reflects the nature of the surrounding area. All rooms have ceiling fans, marble floors, attached bathroom, tinted windows to keep the rooms cool, fitted shelves and draws and come with mosquito nets and towels. Our restaurant is set in a beautiful garden and serves up delicious evening meals and breakfasts. We also have an on site Ayurveda massage room, offer laundry service by machine wash, free book exchange, travel information and offer free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Eva Luna Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing