We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of peace”
Review of Casa Eva Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Eva Luna
Ranked #1 of 97 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slice of peace”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Casa Eva Luna , was a really pleasant place to stay during the hustle and bustle of India . Katrina and Esther could not have been more accommodating. Superb food from Esther and Katrinas computer skills for booking and information made life a lot easier for us . Its away from the hustle and bustle , but really that is a bonus . We stayed for a week and could easily have stayed longer time permiting. we had already extended our stay from 5 days to 7 . Highly recommended . Thankyou both.

Room Tip: we had upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
144
68
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed st Casa Eva Luna for a week. It was just what we needed, and more, having travelled around India for 5wks. Our room was immaculate and spacious with a warm decor. The location is very calm and peaceful yet close enough to the main attractions of Varkala. The hosts are more than helpful. Any request is met. The food is delicious, fresh and generous. We would love to return!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AntonJames80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place is a glorious, welcoming homestay with just the right amount of TLC from Katrina and Esther. They are so helpful and our initial stages of our trip to India wouldn't have been possible without their help and advice. Their hospitality is excellent as well as the cooking...try anything on the menu, it'll be worth it. The setting is ideal to taste the life of the locals but is not too far away from the busier life of the north cliff's restaurants and shops. Nothing was too much trouble and it well deserves it's five stars. Thank you both!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzylynsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Casa Eva Luna was the best place we stayed in South India. It is perfectly located in the big green garden, sourrended by narrow moody streets, gardens, small nice houses. It is away from hustle and bustle of the crowded touristic Cliff, but it is very easy to get everywhere - getting to the Cliff took us about 10 minutes walk, to the temple about 15. The house is really very nice. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom as well. There is also a nice balcony in the front of the house to sit and relax. Breakfasts were delicious, especially homemade bread, revoltito and cheese omlette. They also offer great ayrvedic massages - I had three and I higly recommend them.
But the best are Katrina and Esther - charming owners of Casa Eva Luna. They are friendly, kind, smiling and very very helpfull - they had helped us already before we arrived to Varkala - thanks to them our trip to India was possible to organise.
We had fantastic holiday in Casa Eva Luna and we wish we could stay there again.
We highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: W pokojach na pietrze jest ładny widok na ogród i zieleń, na piętrze jest ogólnodostępny wygodny prz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was a lovely place to stay in Varkala, it really felt like home. We were made to feel so welcome and relaxed on our stay here, nothing was too much bother for these lovely hosts. Everything you could possibly want!!! Very good value for money and the guest house is situated in a peaceful local setting so you really feel like a part of the community.
The food is also great and the Spanish chef was only too happy to teach me some of her amazing family recipe's along with some great Indian recipe's also.
Thank you Casa eva luna!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkienooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This guesthouse is located off the cliff but that's where its beauty is. It is 10 minutes away from all the shops, restaurants and crowds. Very peaceful with no other hotel or guesthouse around. If that's what you're looking for in Varkala, you should stay there. Katrina and Esther are the best hosts you can imagine: all your questions and queries will be answered: taxi, massage, shopping, restaurants, activities, yoga and anything else you can need. They are very friendly and Esther cooks really good - you will not get the same food at the cliff. Varkala is a wonderful place to spend few days, few weeks or maybe more and Casa Eva Luna is the place there....

Room Tip: Sunny room is really sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Eva Luna a few weeks ago, for 3 nights. We loved it! Katrina and Esther were wonderful. We celebrated a birthday during our stay and they were thoughtful enough to make us a delicious birthday crepe, complete with candle! Katrina had wonderful restaurant suggestions and helped us arrange taxis to the airport etc.
The beach/cliff is an easy walk from the B&B. We loved Varkala, it is so laid back and friendly.
We were in the Teal room, it was large and clean, with shelves for storage and a desk. There is a ceiling fan, 2 windows, and a mosquito net. The bathroom is private, outside the door. The room is pretty hot and it was a bit tough to sleep but probably more so because we are Canadian and not really used to the heat and humidity. Overall, amazing and unique home, secure, safe, welcoming... it was a great place to come home to at the end of a big day at the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.5 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 52 in Varkala
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#7 of 52 in Varkala
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.5 mi away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#6 of 52 in Varkala
303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maadathil Cottages
Maadathil Cottages
#1 of 97 in Varkala
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Eva Luna

Property: Casa Eva Luna
Address: Off Kurrakkani Road | Near Sanjeevani Ayurveda Hospital, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Eva Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Eva Luna is the name of Kerala Konnections homestay, located in Varkala, a short distance from the beach and cliff. The house has two floors and is located on a 3000 square metre plot. It has two double rooms on each floor, each decorated in a different style that reflects the nature of the surrounding area. All rooms have ceiling fans, marble floors, attached bathroom, tinted windows to keep the rooms cool, fitted shelves and draws and come with mosquito nets and towels. Our restaurant is set in a beautiful garden and serves up delicious evening meals and breakfasts. We also have an on site Ayurveda massage room, offer laundry service by machine wash, free book exchange, travel information and offer free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Casa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Eva Luna Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing