We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Eva Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Eva Luna
Ranked #1 of 96 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Great place, great owners, Very beautiful and quite location. Very supportive and helpful owners.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buslova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
141
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

We booked a room online via Kerala Konnections website. Katrina met us at Varkala station, which was great and saved us a lot of hassle with the rickshaw drivers. Our first impression of the house was fantastic and then when we saw our room we were even more impressed. We stayed in the Bubble room on the ground floor, it was full of colour and spotlessly clean. Katrina did all our check in and gave us full information on things to do and see in and around Varkala, as well as provinding us with a full 25 page information booklet which we found very useful during our stay.

We loved waking up to the sound of the birds singing and the smell of excellent freshly brewed coffee which is Casa Eva Luna's own blend. We had breakfast and dinner every day, as after having travelled India for the last few months we just wanted some home comforts and Esthers cooking certainly is. We also took a Tibetan cooking class with Tashi and learned how to make Tibetan momos and Tibetan bread, it was a great experience.

We really enjoyed the ayurveda rejuvination massage and during our stay had a few different massages. We loved Casa Eva Luna and would recommend it to anyone who prefers to be away from the thick of things and surrounded by nature and local residents. It's the nicest place we have stayed during our India trip, a real gem of place, specially after having travelled India for a few months it was a real bonus to end our trip here.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paddyman298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

We booked into Casa Eva Luna for a 14 day ayurveda panchakarma treatment. We had already been sent all the information by mail, with a full programme and ayurveda diet sheet. When we arrived Kat & Esther gave us a briefing of what the next 14 days would consist of and we then met the medical team and therapists. During our entire stay we were pampered non stop, both by Kat & Esther (I can still taste Esther’s delicious cooking!!) and by the doctors. They were constantly making sure we wanted for nothing and made us feel totally at home, especially as we spent the first 8 days resting as directed by the doctors as a necessary part of the treatment. After 14 days treatment we felt absolutely fantastic, our skin had never looked so good and we felt totally energised both physically and mentally. We would definitely like to return next year and do more ayurvedic treatments. We would definitely recommend Casa Eva Luna as an ideal place to unwind and experience ayurveda in a very clean and well maintained environment.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcroft25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

this is really a hidden gem. warm, welcoming, clean, delicious snacks...just the perfect retreat to give your mind and soul a break from the bustling indian impressions. thanks a lot for having us and make it an easier start to our indian adventure!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank simtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

one of the best guest houses we visited in india. a great opportunity to feel at home in varkala. enough separated from the cliff to be calm but near enough as to go walking. we were suposed to stay there for 3 nights and we stayed 5. kat and esther are great, very helpful and seem to be an excellent connection between indians and occidental turists. having breakfast or dinner at their garden in the middle of coconut trees and kerala's sky, is great. don't lave without tasting their food! its amazing!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fercho_arias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2008

a little off the beaten path in varkala, this nice hotel, which was more like a homestay, is very worthwhile. besides being clean, charmingly and intelligently decorated the personnel is great. it is run by a spanish english woman and a spanish chef. they both are very considerate and professional, katrina has apparently worked in tourism for many years before opening this place for guests.
the surroundings make up a bit of everyday indian life in this southern keralan village, with hindu families of different casts as well as muslims.

  • Liked — that it was outside the most touristy area, yet within walking distance to beach area
  • Disliked — that it didn't have internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keralafanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We had a wonderful stay here. Kat was a superb host (and -note to european travellers - is perfectly bilingual in english and spanish).

The rooms were spacious and very very clean. Kat has also decorated the place beautifully and colourfully. We'd been travelling a month, so it was a delight to be abe to cook a meal for ourselves, which we did for 2 nights.

The house is a short 10 minute walk from the beach (helipad end).

  • Liked — Colourful clean rooms - like walking into a branch of Fabindia
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank merryxmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.4 mi away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.6 mi away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#12 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arabian Soul
Arabian Soul
#3 of 96 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Eva Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Eva Luna

Property: Casa Eva Luna
Address: Off Kurrakkani Road | Near Sanjeevani Ayurveda Hospital, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Eva Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Eva Luna is the name of Kerala Konnections homestay, located in Varkala, a short distance from the beach and cliff. The house has two floors and is located on a 3000 square metre plot. It has two double rooms on each floor, each decorated in a different style that reflects the nature of the surrounding area. All rooms have ceiling fans, marble floors, attached bathroom, tinted windows to keep the rooms cool, fitted shelves and draws and come with mosquito nets and towels. Our restaurant is set in a beautiful garden and serves up delicious evening meals and breakfasts. We also have an on site Ayurveda massage room, offer laundry service by machine wash, free book exchange, travel information and offer free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Eva Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Eva Luna Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing